We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Some people should just stay at national chains, but the rest of us should stay at Olivier House. I feel obligated to state that I'm not a risk-taker, and usually I prefer the beaten path. After reading the reviews here, I was afraid I'd be staying at some kind of third world youth hostel, and that's not the case at all.

This place is old skool, family run, and a blast. It's an old New Orleans mansion that feels right out of an Ann Rice novel with a glorious courtyard, a grand parlor and staircase, labyrinthine hallways, and a time warp of an elevator.

Our room was huge, more like a mini-suite, and $90/night, with coffee maker, microwave, fridge, powerful AC, flat-screen TV, and a whirlpool tub. Parking was $10/night. And unlike chains, we weren't nickeled-and-dimed throughout our stay. Although we were 1/2 block from Bourbon Street, we had no noise problems.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 646 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

My family and I stayed here and it was a great price for a fabulous "room" which was more of a suite. Huge beautiful garden tub, great balcony view and the staff was friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good things about them and our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Olivier House in New Orleans, despite the flood warnings (which never phase the native population there by the way) and were blown away by the true magic of the place...Hidden courtyards, antique furniture, lots of stories about the building itself, charming and very knowledgeable owners and staff at all times of the day and night, and our own private balcony to view the sights and sounds of this vibrant quarter. Each room has its own characteristics, and we were given a choice of room which was great. The ones at the back of the building are usually quieter, but it all depends on what you want from your stay. Olivier House retains all the Louisiana charm of old, they offer free coffee in the mornings, allowing you to nip out of the hotel and grab a hearty breakfast in a nearby cafe (we recommend Camellia Grill-about a 5min walk-great omelettes and pancakes!) We were only supposed to stay 3 nights, but ended up staying 4! Be careful, this place is addictive! Many thanks to Bobby Danner and staff for making our trip an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathrynwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

If you wanna park your car and enjoy EVERYTHING New Orleans has to offer with Bourbon St. less than a block away, Olivier House is a New Orleans gem! This was our 2nd stay at Olivier House and without a doubt we will do this again and again. Our first visit was for 4 nights in December 2010 and our most recent trip, May 2011, sadly, was only 1 night, but the staff of Olivier House made it feel like we were coming home to visit family again! Each room has its own personal charm. Yes, a bit dated, but its sooo New Orleans, and the history of the building ooozes from every nook & cranny! As stated above, if you want The Ritz, by all means, go...stay at The Ritz, but if you wanna have a good time, in a neat little place that is truly travelin' in NOLA style, you should check Olivier House out!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aligbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 7 days. We had originally booked room 212, and we did like it and was very private, but you had to go up and down stairs, like a maze, to get to it and we walked about four hours a day so we didn't really like that. We asked about the Creole Cottage and since it was empty we transfered there. It's a little more expensive but it's really cute and private, w/full kitchen. Staff was very friendly and accomidating. Just one thing to keep in mind is that this it's like renting a house in the quarter. You may not always get housekeeping, which was good for us because i would rather just ask for things as we need them. The place is very old, but if you like history that's part of the charm. As far as rats, mice and roaches, there is no way to get away from them anywhere in the quarter, so as far as reviews that have to do with that, this is all i have to say, if you are afraid to see one, the quarter is probably not for you. They have pest control, but critters will always find a way. Either way, this place was really cool for us and we will hopefully get to stay there again.

Room Tip: Creole Cottage for privacy and own courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hadenhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We have stayed at the Olivier three times when visiting New Orleans. The location is great, and even though Bourbon Street is a block away, the place is quiet. It is also pet friendly and very reasonable. The building was converted to a hotel about 40 years ago and it shows. The air conditioning goes on and off, the lamps are broken, the maid may or may not come, the electric outlets are chancy. For what you pay it is not bad, yet the facility is getting really run down and we will look for alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Arrived to find we were upgraded to a balcony room which was very eccentric and exactally what I wanted it to be in the heart of new Orleans. Room was clean, staff was nice and it is just a shirt walk to bourbon street. Courtyard were beautiful. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlit0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,692 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,359 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,922 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
2,726 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Address: 828 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $122 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing