We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
Ranked #21 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Good hotel, awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The property is pretty good, comfy bed, good price and excellent location. Quiet, yet very close to the action. What stood out though is that one of the staff (Renee) tracked down my wife's purse that she left on the taxi. Not only that, he did it on his day off. Thanks again Renee! The pool was a great place to hang out and we met many people there.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dnumerow!
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, at the Melrose Mansion. Our team takes great pride in going above and beyond for each of our valued guests, and this situation was no different. Even upon departure each visitor remains a part of our family, and we take care of our family! We look forward to welcoming you back for more pool-side socializing.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    60
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
156
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend before he deployed. This is where I fell in love. Beautiful rooms and house. The Staff was awesome.... especially Melissa :). They helped me devise a plan to surprise my bf and he loved it. We may make this a yearly trip. I never met a staff so dedicated and helpful. Best money spent. Yes its costly but you have to take advantage of what the mansion has to offer like the cheese and wine, location, breakfast, beer. Its well worth it. Very homey and quite. Southern love, better yet a romantic paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxchelsea_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Foxchelsea_22!
After reading your review, I have fallen in love with the Melrose Mansion all over again! It is always so exciting to watch what magical experience the Melrose unravels for each of our guests, and what a pleasure it is for our team to play a role in helping to create those memorable moments. Thank you for the kind review and each of us look forward to your return. Maybe next year we will be assisting your boyfriend with the surprise!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Needed to set up a family birthday weekend in NOLA. GM Kenny M set us up with two spectacular rooms for the four of us. Got in late from two separate flight arrivals but Brian at the front desk was great in getting us settled. Rooms are huge, flat screens all around, carrera marble throughout the bathrooms, great bedding and towels. Location was perfect for us since we wanted the French Quarter for the food and Frenchman's for the live music. Walked to everything. Breakfast was set up in a big room off the lobby with everything fresh and good coffee. We have found our new go to place for NOLA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Ravenmlm!
Thank you for the great review! The Esplanade Executive Suite and Grande Balcony Suite your party occupied are among my personal favorite. I look forward to welcoming you and yours on your return visit.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This property is split up into two buildings. The main mansion contains the lobby and several other suites while we stayed at the property down the street in rooms 1A and 2A. Although I was concerned about this upon checking in the staff assured me our group would be pleased with our rooms and they were absolutely right. The rooms are more like modern condos with brand new appliances, cabinets and countertops. The location is perfect if you want peace and quiet. Both the Quarter and Frenchmen street are within walking distance but far enough away to avoid the noise and riff raff. We could not have booked a nicer place in this city for the price.

Room Tip: 1A and 2A in the annex building were both recently renovated huge modern condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear RKchi,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us at the Melrose Mansion. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! The Esplande Executive Suites that you stayed in are a personal favorite and make for a truly memorable stay. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was love at first sight! Luckily it lived up to expectations not in just beauty but in comfort as well. We stayed here for our 3rd year wedding anniversary and our first trip to New Orleans and we would absolutely return. We stayed in the Denencio suite with a private balcony, well worth the money. The room was huge and well decorated, the huge bathtub was amazing, even though the jets didn't work we didn't mind. The balcony was great to relax and enjoy our morning coffee. The continental breakfast and wine and cheese reception were nice additions to this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. This hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the middle of the French quarter, which was fine for us since we ate so much delicious food in this city! The pool was lovely, although it was to cold during our stay to utilize.This hotel is older so the house does make some noise but everything was so charming and beautiful we didn't mind. Stay here, you wont be disappointed!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SeizeTheMoment365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear SeizeTheMoment365,
I am thrilled to see that you and your husband celebrated your 3rd anniversary with us at the Melrose Mansion! The Donecio Suite is one of my personal favorites, and is perfect for celebrating such occasions as an anniversary. I am so sorry that the jets were not working in your Jacuzzi tub, but am glad you still enjoyed the spacious oversized bathroom! Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps next time in the warmer months when you can enjoy our relaxing swimming pool!
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice and he loves it. I.....like it. These are the things you should know.
1. There are HUGE flat screen TVs everywhere.
2. The towels are very thick, high quality terrycloth. This is great unless you are a woman who wraps her head in a towel after a shower. They feel like a bowling ball.
3. The bed and linens are very comfy but the pillows are huge. Bring your own sleeping pillow if you do not want a crick in your neck.
4. The rooms are spacious, but there is often no place to sit with a cup of coffee or a book.
5. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
6. The shower/tub combo is HUGE. Be careful stepping out of if onto the beautiful marble floor or you will wipe out.
7. The visuals are nice and sleek. Lots of black and white. Contemporary. The large Esplanade Suite is a great place to entertain friends.
8. The closets are a bit small and awkward. In our room we had to place our shoes on top of the safe.
9. This hotel is well priced and very nice, but clearly it was designed by a straight man who watches a lot of TV and spends a lot of time in South Beach.

Having said all that, we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two sinks. Otherwise there is no place for a woman to set a makeup bag, brush...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgbanderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear dgbanderson1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us, at the Melrose Mansion! We are thrilled the you and your husband have become return guests to our property. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return. Again, thank you again for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to us soon!
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We checked out after the first night of a five night booking! Whist the location was excellent and the outside of the property very attractive, our USD 300 weekend rate was way overpriced for the quality of the room, which was at the back of the property, views of a wall outside the windows, a rear door opening to the dirty, unkept backyard, not comfortable, run down (as was most of the inside of the property) and unclean.

Overall the staff were polite, but not very friendly or welcoming. For a USD 300 rate I would have expected a welcome drink or some other nice gesture of hospitality. A small bottle of water was all that was provided.

The disappointment at the state of the room was made more acute by the toilet flush not working properly. As we checked in on Friday evening the hotel was not sure that the problem with the toilet could be fixed the next day...a weekend. The room was not very clean, dust and dirt around under bed, etc. What made us ask for a check out, was when I went to get ice, only to find food garbage and a USED CONDOM in the empty ice bucket!!! (I did take a photo, but I do not think it appropriate to share it!)

The breakfast (included in the rate) was a disgrace. Coffee and a few packs of cereal...that was it!

Unfortunately I cannot recommend this property to anyone. Pity as the old house is nice looking and the location is excellent. However, I think used condoms in the ice bucket are a showstopper here!

Room Tip: I don't wish to be unfair, and can really only comment on our room "Napoleon No. 2". M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Omar S,
I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your time with us that negatively impacted your experience. I would like to invite you to contact me using the below information to further discuss your stay.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Blatham@frenchquarterhg.com
(504) 944-2255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Property: Melrose Mansion
Address: 937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing