We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
Ranked #15 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here Sept 28-Oct 1 2013. Absolutely loved our stay. Located in the French Qtrs and walking distance to Bourbon St and the trolleys. Very quite neighborhood. Staff very welcoming and the room was nice. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Burgundy room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear sbtraveler2013,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at the Melrose Mansion! Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I love New Orleans and I was eager to share the city with my husband, so we decided to spend our first anniversary there. My only concern was the heat in NOLA in July, but otherwise I was certain we'd have a good time. We like travelling on a budget and will usually do vacation rentals via AIRBNB, but this time I wanted it to be a little more special with some level of service, without too much of a "hotel" experience. Thus we searched the bed and breakfasts, and believe me there were several great options. We we drawn to Melrose because although the home is historic, it has been renovated and updated with modern amenities. I love the feel of the French Quarter, so great for a stroll, and I was excited there was a pool available, esp in the summer heat. There was continental breakfast in the morning, enough to get us moving in the morning (no grand New Orleans/Southern breakfast). If we wanted something more filling/tasty we'd simply go to cafe, there are several options within walking distance.
We enjoyed happy hour wine, crackers and cheese - a good way to get ready for the evening's activities. We stayed in the cheapest option I believe, which was just perfect for us - queen bed, shower, small fridge, flatscreen, I-pod docking, large windows overlooking the street. It was fairly quiet and the bed was comfy. The concierges were very polite and pleasant, and even gave us restaurant suggestions. "Tales of the Cocktail" was happening that weekend so we had a really fun time. We checked out Sun morning and our flight wasn't till that afternoon, but they were willing to hold our bags for us as we enjoyed our last day in the city. Unfortunately it rained, so we ended up coming back and hanging out in the TV/breakfast lounge till our shuttle picked us up. Great stay, would likely return and encourage others to try it, though I also like trying different places as well.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are lovely. If you are staying longer you might want to get the kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hottlikefyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Hottlikefiya,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Melrose Mansion. We are thrilled you and your husband chose us to celebrate your special anniversary! The Mansion has a perfect mix of history and modern amenities. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for many more happy anniversaries!
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I loved this place I almost hate to share, not too many rooms to go around, but was a mix between a boutique hotel and a bed and breakfast. wasn't complete luxury but was very nicely detailed. Beds were comfortable styling was nice bathroom was fantastic. Great service things were being taken care of but they were in the background it was wonderful. location was great off the noisy path but within walking distance. If you go in the summer the pool is a pleasure after walking the quarter all day it is so refreshing to dip in the pool and cool off. I would definitely stay again. interior rooms are always preferable to cut back on noise. For the price this was a great find

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear crittergirl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, at Melrose Mansion. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location, far enough from the hustle of the city but close enough to access the best the city has to offer! Our luxurious and oversized pool is a guest favorite, especially during the summer months. We look forward to your return when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights 4th of July week. We have been to NOLA many times and the MM was a wonderful stay. No waiting, crowded lobbies, or room number 1000xxx. Everyone is family there. Good location, quiet, but close to the quarter and riverfront. The pool was a welcome refresher.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Be sure to spend some time with Melissa. A very knowledgeable, gracious, and "patient" lady. We will definitely return. Be sure to request the balcony "honeymoon suite" if it is available.
PS: the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon" suite has a large balcony, bathroom, and big windows. 2nd story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Larry A,
We are thrilled that you and your wife had such a pleasant stay with us at the Melrose Mansion! We pride ourselves on our commitment to service and ensuring each guest is wowed throughout their entire stay. The Donecio suite you stayed in is a personal favorite with a large private balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return!
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very unique. They essentially took a huge old house, renovated it, and made it a hotel. It still has the squeaky floors and wooden walls.

We payed extra to requested a king, but we got a queen. Our room was next to the street and Tuesday morning we woke up early to the garbage truck just out our windows.

The location was great. Next to a lot of things. I would rather be on the other side of the French quarter so I was closer to the other side of town as well.

The shower we had in our room was one of those enclosed glass boxes. Looked amazing, but it leaked onto the floor because it wasn't properly built. It created a huge pool on the bathroom floor we were slipping around on.

Since the floors are wooden, they echo a lot. If you want some privacy, not the best place to watch TV late cause you may be afraid to wake the people up down the hall.

We didn't have soap or shampoo in our place and had to ask the front desk for it.

The bell hop was great help. Staff was very kind. They suggested a restaurant, but the truth is it was a nasty place. We appreciate their willingness to help though.

PARKING: we read that there was parking, so we arrived without a worry. however, there is a street that is designated as the hotel's parking. the trick is that since its a street the public/other tourists can park there too. There are only a few (maybe 5) spots and once they are gone, you need to find your own. It isn't the best part of town to leave your car out in, but nothing happened to our car that was full of everything we owned since we were moving across the country.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMillerberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear AMillerberg,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Melrose Mansion. As stated online, we do have secure parking available on a first come first serve basis arranged at check in through our front desk. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melrose Mansion for his birthday weekend. The room was quiet, well appointed and absolutely lovely. The hotel has a 24 hour staff that is friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, whatever the request. The pool was such a welcome treat, and the location was perfect for evenings on Frenchmen street, biking in the Marginy, or an evening stroll into the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for the Napoleon Suite #5 - It's a quiet cottage like room in the back with a porch and plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Noelle R!
What a great way to spend your husband’s Birthday! It is our extreme pleasure to ensure all of our guests receive the utmost level of service. Our beautifully-restored Victorian Mansion is perfectly situated on the border between the busy French Quarter and laid back atmosphere of the Marigny. We look forward to your return during YOUR Birthday weekend!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The property was awesome. I loved the Victorian Style with the fresh modern decor.
The pool was intimate and the wine and cheese daily was icing on the cake-
I was a little bumed that I had to park my car on the street for the weekend but Melissa assisted me with finding a safe spot-
Melissa and Mr George provided great service to myself and my husband and we will be staying at the property again in the future. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillianknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Lillianknox!
Thank you for your review of our newly renovated Victorian Mansion. The extra touches like the night Manager Reception, and a nice dip in the crystal-blue pool are all experiences that our guests cannot get enough of. I am sorry that we were sold out of parking during your recent stay, but so thrilled that George and Melissa were able to find you the best spot available! We will see you soon.
Kenny Marrs – General Manger – French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,510 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Address: 937 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $148 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing