We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Interesting" Mansion”
Review of Melrose Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Mansion
Ranked #16 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Interesting" Mansion”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very unique. They essentially took a huge old house, renovated it, and made it a hotel. It still has the squeaky floors and wooden walls.

We payed extra to requested a king, but we got a queen. Our room was next to the street and Tuesday morning we woke up early to the garbage truck just out our windows.

The location was great. Next to a lot of things. I would rather be on the other side of the French quarter so I was closer to the other side of town as well.

The shower we had in our room was one of those enclosed glass boxes. Looked amazing, but it leaked onto the floor because it wasn't properly built. It created a huge pool on the bathroom floor we were slipping around on.

Since the floors are wooden, they echo a lot. If you want some privacy, not the best place to watch TV late cause you may be afraid to wake the people up down the hall.

We didn't have soap or shampoo in our place and had to ask the front desk for it.

The bell hop was great help. Staff was very kind. They suggested a restaurant, but the truth is it was a nasty place. We appreciate their willingness to help though.

PARKING: we read that there was parking, so we arrived without a worry. however, there is a street that is designated as the hotel's parking. the trick is that since its a street the public/other tourists can park there too. There are only a few (maybe 5) spots and once they are gone, you need to find your own. It isn't the best part of town to leave your car out in, but nothing happened to our car that was full of everything we owned since we were moving across the country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMillerberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear AMillerberg,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Melrose Mansion. As stated online, we do have secure parking available on a first come first serve basis arranged at check in through our front desk. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    69
    16
    13
    6
See reviews for
33
180
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Melrose Mansion for his birthday weekend. The room was quiet, well appointed and absolutely lovely. The hotel has a 24 hour staff that is friendly, courteous and extremely helpful, whatever the request. The pool was such a welcome treat, and the location was perfect for evenings on Frenchmen street, biking in the Marginy, or an evening stroll into the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for the Napoleon Suite #5 - It's a quiet cottage like room in the back with a porch and plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Noelle R!
What a great way to spend your husband’s Birthday! It is our extreme pleasure to ensure all of our guests receive the utmost level of service. Our beautifully-restored Victorian Mansion is perfectly situated on the border between the busy French Quarter and laid back atmosphere of the Marigny. We look forward to your return during YOUR Birthday weekend!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The property was awesome. I loved the Victorian Style with the fresh modern decor.
The pool was intimate and the wine and cheese daily was icing on the cake-
I was a little bumed that I had to park my car on the street for the weekend but Melissa assisted me with finding a safe spot-
Melissa and Mr George provided great service to myself and my husband and we will be staying at the property again in the future. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillianknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Lillianknox!
Thank you for your review of our newly renovated Victorian Mansion. The extra touches like the night Manager Reception, and a nice dip in the crystal-blue pool are all experiences that our guests cannot get enough of. I am sorry that we were sold out of parking during your recent stay, but so thrilled that George and Melissa were able to find you the best spot available! We will see you soon.
Kenny Marrs – General Manger – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend at Melrose Mansion. We’ve stayed there several times before and like the location on Esplanade, close to Frenchman Street and across the street from Buffa’s….a locals dive bar and restaurant. The mansion has been tastefully redone in a spare, classic style – original dark wood floors, high ceilings and lots of natural light. In the summer, we especially love the large pool and patio. We arrived late Friday night and were quite surprised to find out we were the “guests of the day” and upgraded to executive suite 2A. The huge suite (the size of a nice apartment) is located in a separate building, but refurbished in the same style with a full kitchen, large den and dining room, comfortable bedroom and beautiful marble bath. There are four floor-to-ceiling windows facing Esplanade with plantation shutters. We could easily have stayed there for a week (especially since it had full size washer and dryer). The staff is always friendly and it’s a great location for exploring the Marigny & Quarter. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayouGirl008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
BayouGirl008!
We were so thrilled to have you as our “Guest of the Day”! What great comments over your stay in one of our Esplanade Executive Suites. The room you occupied, 2A, is a personal favorite. Nothing beats the balcony view and what about that modern chandelier? We look forward to your next visit, and who knows - - - there is always another chance for “Guest of the Day: Part 2”.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and hope to become a regular. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is warm and helpful and the location is great. Special thanks to Melissa for all her help. I originally checked in to 2A, which is breathtaking, but I am a very light sleeper. The bedroom faces the street, but even with the shades drawn the room is too light for me, and right over the street. Melissa moved me to another beautiful room and all was well. However, if you are a sound sleeper, 2A is enormous and absolutely stunning. You could throw a dinner party in that room. I would love to have an apartment that looked like that.

The pool is serene, surrounded by trees. In the afternoon you can have a glass of wine in the mansion, or take a dip in the pool. In the morning coffee is always ready in the breakfast room. Everyone makes you feel right at home. I want to go back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Candyck!
Thank you for your review of the Melrose Mansion. It was our sincere pleasure to be able to meet your individual needs over the stay. You are right about 2A! The modern light fixture over the dining table is my absolute favorite. I am sorry to hear that the light was an issue, but excited to know Melissa was able to meet your needs. She really is a great member of our Melrose Mansion Family. We look forward to your speedy return.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is all of the wonderful things about New Orleans wrapped in a beautiful package. We brought our bikes and rode in the Frenchmen St, French Quarter and the Warehouse District. Then we got a Monsoon cocktail across the street and laid at the amazing pool. Our room was 1A and it is where Kid Rock stays when he is in town. It's amazing.....!!

Room Tip: Choose Room 1A
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Getgogonr!
We are so glad to see you enjoyed your time in the Crescent City. You are too close to not make this a regular visit, and we look forward to your quick return. The Luxury Residential Suites at Melrose Mansion are quickly becoming a favorite among all of our valued guests. The Esplanade Executive you had the pleasure of staying in is my personal favorite. Over 1600 square feet of whatever you have in mind, a relaxing weekend or great party pad; it works for you either way. Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit, and hurry back!
Kenny Marrs – General Manger – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you like giant bathrooms, comfy beds, swimming at night, epic service and scrupulous attention to detail then you should stay with Brian, Michael and Melanie at the Mansion. The other staff were wonderful but we did not get introduced because they were all way too busy making our stay totally epic and cheerfully going about their work. Unlike many hotels, everyone, from the manager to the person cleaning your room is helpful, friendly and switched on. I really cannot rate this place enough. To put it in perspective, we stayed in New York at the Waldorf straight after and I would take Melrose over there any day.

The rooms were beautiful and immaculately kept with powerful air-con and a decent fridge. There is also a great gym and chilled out little rooftop-zen-yoga-staring-out-of-the-window-room. All well equipped with high quality stuff. Everything you need for a good workout. A great deal of our time (and the occasional workout) was spent in the giant shower which needs to be seen to be believed.

My darling girlfriend lost our new waterproof camera in a taxi and the hotel staff were relentless in calling around all of the New Orleans cab companies until they had identified the driver, got a message to her and had our camera returned to us. It's stuff like this that you just don't get from any hotels anymore - no matter how much you pay. We have since broken up as I consider losing cameras on holiday to be completely unacceptable behavior.

Altogether bloody brilliant. I would have paid $300 a night.

Be warned of Snoopy the Dog. A vicious predator that stalks the hotel in search of ham.

Room Tip: If you stay here you will get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardoVonBalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Melrose Mansion, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
EdwardoVonBalls!
What can we say that you haven’t already covered? A sincere thank you to you and your darling girlfriend. It was our great pleasure to serve you throughout your stay at the Melrose Mansion. The comparison to the Waldorf - - WOW! We are all truly humbled. We look forward to your return, and hopefully you would have forgiven your girlfriend by then. Snoopy says “Hi”.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,559 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,121 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,463 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Mansion

Property: Melrose Mansion
Address: 937 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melrose Mansion has completed 100% renovations of all suites as of September 2011. We are here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Melrose Mansion is a wonderful experience! The Melrose is an all-suite luxury, boutique courtyard mansion with large French windows, roomy balcony with finger lace ironwork and pillared verandas. A grand staircase takes guests to their rooms, each decorated with one-of-a-kind antique furnishings, artwork and fine architectural details. The popular Donecio Suite has been called "the most romantic bedroom in New Orleans" and is a favorite with honeymooners.Just steps away from Bourbon Street, the Melrose Mansion sits on the edge of the French Quarter on historic Esplanade Avenue and features the one of the largest swimming pools in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Melrose Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing