We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My husband and I went for a conference. The beds were amazing as were the staff and a short walk to most everything. Two other firends though paid for internet wervice and they never were able to connect them.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,481)
There are newer reviews for New Orleans Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,156 - 3,162 of 3,481 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2009

Hotel was nice but nothing special. We were on the 28th floor. The rooms were very clean but the bathroom was very small. There is no free wi-fi in the room but it is available in the hotel lobby with a limit of 4 hours/day. This hotel has a unique elevator system. You punch in your floor and it tells you which elevator to take. Seems to move a crowd fast, but sometimes overfills the elevator cars. The pool area is very nice. It's outdoors on the 5th floor. There are two pools, lots of seating, towels are readily available, and you can buy food. The hotel has restaurants but we didn't use as they were a little pricey. We asked for directions to restaurants off-site and were given directions, but they were very sketchy and we only found the places because we stumbled across them. I would say the people at the concierge desk didn't go out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is convenient to the French Quarter, the trolley line, and to Harrah's casino which is about three short blocks away. Overall, it was a good place to stay. Probably the most important aspect was that we felt safe staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettybook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

the whole staff was knowledgeable friendly accomadating
the location was incredible just a few blocks from the french quarter
restaurant was excellent ,the lounge was great
only thing is that starbucks closed early

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dona09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

For our first trip to New Orleans, we chose this hotel. It was extremely convenient to the casino and to the French Quarter. Opinion on check-in and check-out - Reception staff was not unfriendly, just not welcoming. Hubby described the hotel as functional, which in my opinion means “cold”. It was a good place to rest your head after a hard day of walking, gambling (speaking of gambling – hubby won and I lost), and drinking (try Big Easy Daiquiris for great drinks and tasty pizza). Despite popular belief, the “innovative” elevator seemed to work fine. We never had to wait at all. Oh by the way, we did use the pay for use Internet service in our room (it worked great), but I also saw several people using it for free in the bar/lobby. Hotel was close to several familiar fast food restaurants which I loved since because of allergies I can’t do all the fish and spice of some of the unique Orleans restaurants. Two things I didn’t like –again, the not unfriendly but unwelcoming staff and two: the drunk college students (young people) who hung outside the front entrance drinking and smoking. But for the same $75 deal on Priceline, I’d still come back because of the location and the deal. Next time, I might try the Doubletree though because it is right across the street from Harrah’s.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minervenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I were guests here for four nights during a recent business trip. Had a king bed room on a high floor. Room size was standard, if not a little on the smaller side.

The location at the edge of the French Quarter was great. A streetcar line runs in front of the hotel and the French Quarter/Bourbon Street, etc are just behind you.

The hotel is a huge convention hotel and you feel dwarfed when you enter the lobby. The staff were friendly and willing to help solve any problem.

One error we encountered was information on the non-existent business center which is now a FedEx Office in the lobby.

Conference food was tasty, especially breakfast.

We weren't there for the nightlife, but did enjoy walking around the area and seeing the historic sights (don't miss the two National Park Service sites nearby). If you want to avoid the revelers, go out early.

If travels take us back to New Orleans, we'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dangrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I would have rated this property a three after I found out about the hidden parking charge....($30.00 USD a night plus $7.30 USD Tax). I found that insane. I have stayed at many Marriott properties, I am a Marriott Rewards Member. I love the Marriott chain. Marriott fixed the problem, leaving me very satisfied.

I stayed 2 night at this property.

The hotel is beautiful.....and for the price I paid, you can not beat it. It is in a prime location to the French Quarter, it is a very beautiful stylish hotel. Beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms. We were assigned a corner room with a beautiful view on the 31st floor. We had double windows facing towards the river and the other one with a view of donwtown. The beds are always super comfy, the bathroom is a bit small, but that would be my only complaint. The outdoor pool is also awesome.

This hotel is super clean.....super clean. Thanks Marriott, you have made another say great.

If you are looking at this property for a prime location, this is the one. It is close to everything. You are steps away from the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino, and other great things to do in N.O.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarecrowdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We visited mid-May and booked a room through Marriott's website for $89 a night. For that price, I was very happy with the hotel. Check-in was quick and we found the staff to be very considerate and helpful. Our room was on the 35th floor and was comfortable and clean (except for window's exterior).

I was also very happy with the hotel location. It is a short walk to the attractions of the French Quarter, but you do not have to worry about being kept up at night with noise.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 165 in New Orleans
2,376 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,457 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $145 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing