We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We decided to stay here after getting a good deal through Hotwire. We were heading out on a cruise on a Sunday and came to New Orleans a day early to meet our family to hang out for the evening. They only have valet parking which is quite expensive @ $38/night but seemed to be standard for the area. The bellhop took our bags to a holding area until we got checked in which didn't take too long considering there were a lot of people in the lobby when we arrive a little after 4pm. There was a choir convention going on that weekend. The elevators were a little different & tricky. You didn't just push your floor number, you had to enter the floor number and then look for which elevator it told you to go to. Once you got the hang of it, it was fine.
The rooms were nice, not very big but nice and comfy. Everything was clean, no issues with that. It was within walking distance to Bourbon Street which we liked. We would stay here for the right price/deal. Check out was easy and simple. Bellhop arrived within about 10 minutes of calling them which I was surprised considering it was close to checkout time. They had a car pulled around within about 10 minutes of getting out there as well. Overall, very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicmicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear nicmicj,

Thank you for kind words! We're delighted that your family enjoyed an excellent stay at New Orleans Marriott before you embarked on your cruise. We always recommend taking a night before or after a cruise to explore the Big Easy. We appreciate all of your feedback, such as your experience with our high efficiency elevator system. It would be our pleasure to host you on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,484)
There are newer reviews for New Orleans Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 3,484 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the 2014 Essence Music Festival. The hotel was prepared for the influx of Essence music festival visitors. They had welcome maps friendly smiles, specialty cocktails in the lounge area, dj playing some good music. Valet was very helpful with all of our luggage. The room was nice and comfortable with a view of the french quarters. We were also close to all of the attractions and close enough to walk to Bourbon street, the French Quarters and the Casino and mall. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiSkyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear MimiSkyy,

We're glad to hear that you found our hotel impeccably prepared for the busy Essence weekend. It's a great time to visit the city and especially New Orleans Marriott. We hope you tried Chef Rico's St. Louis style BBQ- it was delicious! We eagerly await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott on a recent visit to NOLA to visit with friends, good stay reasonable rate for the area. Check in was busy but soon after we were in line several orher clerks came and started helping out. Overall a good stay, clean room, comfortable beds. Minor complaint about parking, I know this is a large hotel and everyone was checking out, I am thankful my car came fairly quickly (within 10 min). Please plan ahead the guy sitting next to me said he had been waiting 20 minutes for his car.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Luling_Buzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Luling_Buzzard,

We deeply appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us! It's wonderful to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms. We're sorry to hear that your car was not brought out and we hope we can deliver a completely flawless, brilliant stay to you on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during a recent business trip. When you walk in there are several police officers in the lobby - hotel is in a very unsafe part of town so don't go out by yourself. My room smelled dank & moldy the whole time I was there, even with A/C on. The towel bar in the shower was falling off, & there was someone else's hairs stuck on the bathroom door which was weird & kind of gross (there was also hair in the shower), so makes me wonder a little about cleaning staff quality. Towels were scratchy & not soft at all. Several channels on the TV were fuzzy & unwatchable, bad cable connection? My door key cards hardly ever worked, had to have them re-set 3 times. Ate dinner on first night in bar/restaurant downstairs and the food was very poor quality, especially for the price. And on last night the ice machine down the hall started making a thunderous noise like a bulldozer & I had to call for someone to address it.

Positives: good water pressure, Starbucks on site, nice staff in the lobby.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank AntK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

AntK13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. It is great to hear about your pleasant interactions with our staff! Unfortunately, you did not experience the same satisfaction in our guest room. I certainly apologize for the inconvenience it brought you on your trip, and I have reached out to our housekeeping team to re-energize training in our guest rooms. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for any trouble we have caused you, and we hope that you will allow us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

From arrival to departure the stay was flawless and well exceeded the expectations of any discerning guest. From Anastasia and Jane at the front office, Isa in the lobby lounge, Letictia at 5 Fifty 5 (breakfast); (morning of 8/16/14), Doris at 5 Fifty 5 along with Tanner and Keith and houseman James and all the staff in At Your Service, to housekeeping staff this has been the best stay I have ever encountered personally and most importantly the best executed stay for my family. They have been blown away. Some examples of going above and beyond are that 5 Fifty 5, restaurant prepared a cake for the members in my party who's birthday we came to celebrate. Housekeeping servicing our room to perfection, everyone greeting and constantly checking on us and treating us with such a high level of VIP service. We received an upgraded room with a view of the Mississippi River on the 36th floor and a welcome amenity which made a great stay even better. Sometimes it's in the small touches and signs of genuine and warm gestures of hospitality that go such a long way. Food quality was impeccable, pool in the 5th floor on the roof was clean, very pleasant, and most importantly my family and I had a great time there. All staff were professional in all of the right areas. All staff on all levels from any point of view were in perfect uniform standards from Valet, to all Bell, Concierge,Restaurant, Housekeeping, Loss Prevention, Valet, etc. that plus their winning smiles will always be remembered and I now must make it my top hotel in New Orleans by far. During future stays my level of standards and expectations will have to match your amazing hotels performance in any city that I or we ever travel to.
From the bottom of my heart, thank you to an exceptional, BRILLIANTLY executed stay at New Orleans Marriott. And thank you to all those mentioned above and for those whom I may have left out by mistake. I promise I know who you are.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Go out and enjoy the city.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Carlos,

We couldn't be happier to hear that you experienced a flawless stay at New Orleans Marriott. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful hosts like Anastasia, Jane Leticia, Tanner, Keith, and James. We pride ourselves on hosting brilliantly and we certainly hope to have the chance to deliver another flawless stay to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was a great Marriott right outside the city, excellent rooms and amenities. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. The lounge was great as well as the bar. Service was excellent.

CON: The parking is tricky in the am and pm as you are coming and going as the workers who use the garage are doing the opposite and its a tight fit getting in and out.

Room Tip: The parking is tricky with the garage and the associated workers who use the garage, going out at 7...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brr4346AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Brr4346AD,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Marriott! We're delighted to hear that you found us an excellent property, located at the footsteps of the French Quarter and in the heart of downtown New Orleans. It's great that you adored our Greatroom atmosphere as well as the bar and superior service typical of our hotel. Please accept our apologies for any difficulties when parking and we will certainly look to see how we can improve that for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Bottom line. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. Don't know if our Platinum Elite status helped but the service in this hotel was outstanding. We were upgraded to the executive level and the room had a great view of the Mississippi. We stayed at the Pere Marquette the week before and while above average and outstanding service the New Orleans Marriott was a step above. I was a little afraid of the age of this place since I stayed here in the early 70's. It has been updated since and getting ready to be updated again. The food in the Executive Lounge was quite good. Another reason to stay loyal to one hotel chain. And Marriott seems to be one with outstanding benefits. Keep up the good work Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chefluee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear chefluee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We deeply appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and are so pleased to hear that you experienced outstanding service during your time with us. Our hosts go above and beyond for our guests and we pride ourselves in being brilliant hosts. We're delighted that you enjoyed your Mississippi River view, which is so beautiful any time of day but especially during sunrise and sunset. It would be our pleasure to host you anytime you visit New Orleans and we hope that you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
2,377 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,461 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 166 in New Orleans
2,287 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $147 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing