We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“July 4th weekend Essence festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“July 4th weekend Essence festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at this property. The front desk staff where very accommodating and friendly. Actually every staff member I can in contact with greeted me and were friendly. I stayed on the 39th floor and had a view of Canal St. The room was in good condition and it didn't feel damn and humid like the room I had the previous year. I would have given the property a 5/5, if not for the leftover almonds under the desk from the previous guests. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Janeen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during Essence 2014. We are delighted that you found our staff exceedingly helpful and friendly and that you loved your view from the 39th floor. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not flawless and we hope to make your stay a 5/5 during your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    1,199
    624
    194
    90
See reviews for
388
716
116
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

First of all, I would like to start out by stating the good about the hotel. The hotel is in a prime location in middle of everything, a block or two from bourbon street. It's surrounded by good shopping and great eating all in walking distance. The hotel itself was nice and clean. I was very skeptical about this hotel upon reading the reviews. The check in was good, the nice man upgraded our room upon arrival which was a plus.

Now the bad, the hotel parking is extremely too much. The elevator were very annoying, you had to wait almost 10 plus minutes to get on it, im guessing this was because the hotel was very busy this weekend due to the beyonce and Jay Z concert.

Overall I really liked the hotel and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Making sure you are aware of parking fee, its about $45 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear ANDEC,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you liked our great location in downtown New Orleans and the warm, thoughtful service that our hotel is known for. It's also great to know that you found your room nice and clean. We really appreciate your feedback about the busy weekend and we will use it to see where we can deliver an even better experience to our future guests. We eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Foune the hotel to be very clean, front desk efficient and friendly. Room was a respectable size, but no refrig available. We upgraded to a corner room @ a cost of $25/day extra. Hous keeping was late afternoon most days (7 day stay) had to asl for coffee and cups to be replenished at least twice. Elevators (7) were slow most of the time and interesting how the individual elevator was chosen. Hotel resturant food was good, service was slow. Starbucks off the lobby was ok. This hotel is located on the edge of the french quarter and ax 3 blocks from the start of bourbon street. A lot of stuff to see in this area including WW II memorial, very interesting and well done.

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide a good view. The east tower provides a view to the east including the Miss. ri...
See more room tips
Green Features: Staff that i interacted with were friendly. Maid service did not understand or speak much english
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012StepM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 2012StepM,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the New Orleans Marriott. We're pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location by New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street as well as the historic French Quarter and cultural destinations like the World War II Museum. We're also glad to hear that you had the pleasure of a corner room view. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, within walking distance of great restaurants, French Quarter sites and more. The lobby and conference rooms were comfortable and spacious, and the bar area very nice as well. We enjoyed delicious food at our conference prepared by the hotel. The only issue I had was with the small, dated looking room. We had a room with two double beds, and there was virtually no extra space. For the cost of the room, I had expected nicer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
fredbon,

Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our centralized location, our great room, and of course the food! However, I am sorry you did not find the same satisfaction in the room you received. In two months from now we begin a complete room renovation which consists of a brand new Marriott design. While the rooms will not be made larger, the design certainly provides a greater utilization of space. I hope we are able to regain your trust and exceed your expectations for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Overall hospitality was great. Location close to attractions. Rooms were simple, no free wifi; no fridge or microwave; shower had a water stain on the ceiling. May choose another hotel next trip there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4EverKasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 4EverKasted,

We deeply appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We're delighted that you received wonderful service, as we pride ourselves in our helpful, friendly hosts. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your room flawless. Should you return to New Orleans, we would very much like to make that up to you by hosting you after our room renovation later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a few days while touring America. On checking in we were greeted by Louis who was extremely helpful. He gave us a printout with all the places to go and see and to eat and drink it was a god send. The room ( number 740) was clean and bed comfy only thing was it was next to laundry room so quite noisy. You have to have valet parking at this hotel which is okay unless you forget something then a bit of a hassle. Location was brilliant you can walk to most things. If into music then Frenchman Street is a must it's about 20 min walk from hotel. We can't wait to go back again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Michaela,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled that you received stellar service from Luis and liked our convenient located at the footsteps in the French Quarter. We love it when our guests discover Frenchmen's vibrant live music scene and we're happy you enjoyed it! It would be out pleasure to host you again on your next visit to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
570 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a review of the conference center. Decent but old facilities. Limited vegetarian and vegan options though. Service was fine. The location is good, right in downtown. We did not stay here s cannot rate the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
MihirMeghani, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about the New Orleans Marriott. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location as we are accessible to all downtown New Orleans attractions. However, I apologize that our meeting space did not meet your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing