We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How the Mighty Have Fallen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“How the Mighty Have Fallen”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was a big fan of this property in the past and had actually planned meetings at this hotel. The only thing I can now say is they have a great location at the edge of the French Quarter and if you are not spending time in the room and the rate is good then stay here. BUT if you want to spend any time in the hotel or your room stay some where else. I hear that they will be renovating the property over the coming year and that may help the rooms (they are very small) but it will not help the attitude of the staff that knows they have a great location and do not have to anything to make guests feel welcome or wanted.

Room Tip: Try the river side but again if you are spending any amount of time in room stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agbcpa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
agbcpa01,

Thank you for your review and your continued business to our property. As you have heard, we are receiving a complete room renovation this fall that will consist of a brand new, "modern-chic", Marriott design that will certainly have a greater utilization of space in our guest rooms. I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience and it certainly provides a great training for our team as making our guest feel warm and welcome is a top priority of ours while hosting your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,374
    699
    227
    109
See reviews for
475
831
125
1,209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my friends to celebrate my upcoming wedding! I was the only one who had ever been to New Orleans, and they kept all of the details of the weekend a secret, so I had no idea what to expect when I landed. I travel frequently but it's been years since I stayed at a Marriott. I was completely impressed!! When you walk in you are greeted by an entire team of staff, able to assist with bags, taxis, and check in. We got there hours before check in and they were able to accommodate us by switching rooms. Having a group of girls required extra towels, blankets, etc and the housekeeping staff quickly brought them to us. An added perk was the hotel lobby which was great for getting a drink before we went out. The rooms were incredibly clean and the location was decent- we walked to Bourbon with no issues. Upon checkout the bellman was able to hold our bags so we could enjoy our last day, and called us cabs as we were heading to the airport. Overall, a great stay and I will probably give Marriott another chance next time I travel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Chrissie,

We're delighted that our service made such a great impression on you! We strive to deliver the very best in guest service every day and it sounds like this was certainly done during your bachelorette weekend. It was our pleasure to host you and your friends during such a memorable weekend in your life and we're glad to hear that you loved our Greatroom, room conditions and central location. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location is outstanding. 555 canal 3 blocks bourbon street 2 blocks to harrahs. Had a great room on 29th floor on corner overlooking Mississippi River and the city. Loved the view at night. The elevator system is the greatest. You have to stay there to see what I mean

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Txfilly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Txfilly53,

What beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing your view with us. We're glad to hear you loved our high efficiency elevator system as well as our convenient location in New Orleans' famous French Quarter, steps away from Harrah's Casino, Bourbon Street, and the Mississippi River. It would be our pleasure to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Got a great deal on Priceline for this French Quarter hotel. The location is great for New Orleans tourist activities. We found the staff to be very helpful. Check-in was great. The concierge set us up with reservations at Arnauds. They are well trained in customer service. The building however feels old and tired. The room we had was adequate, but lacked a closet or descent mirrors. But as were did not plan on spending much time in the room, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philomundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear philomundi,

Thanks for your feedback! We never get tired of hearing stories about our hosts- they truly care about our guests and do their very best to give our guests a wonderful New Orleans experience. We hope you enjoyed Arnaud's, which is a true New Orleans institution (not to mention delicious). Our hotel will undergo a rooms renovation later this year and the rooms will be completely updated to give our guests a fresh new experience. We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Justin was the person who checked us in and was very friendly and helpful. Our suite was great with a view to die for. The river and city love it. Room was clean and quite. Had breakfast the next morning Brenda was the lady that waited on us and she was so friendly and great person to talk to. The breakfast was really good. Over all we will be going back to this hotel everything could not of been better.

Room Tip: When you check in ask about the suite rooms. On the phone we were told sold out but it was different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna9179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Anna,

We deeply appreciate the time you took to tell us about your stay at the New Orleans Marriott. We're so pleased to hear that Justin and Brenda provided you with the friendly, professional service typical of our hotel. It's great that you enjoyed our amazing views. At 41 stories tall, our hotel offers incredible views of the entire city. It would be our pleasure to host you the next time you visit New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Typical Marriott cleanliness & great staff. Front desk great as was housekeeping. Ate off site ( its N Orleans!) Couple blocks to Bourbon Street which was perfect. $50 to park car whick is a little steep. It aint S Fran or NY.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoCanes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear bigralf1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the New Orleans Marriott. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's cleanliness and wonderful staff. Additionally, it's great you were able to explore the surrounding New Orleans dining destinations. Our valet rate is $42.56 per night, which is on par with our competitor hotels in this downtown area. We work hard to keep as affordable as possible. For our guests who may find this cost restrictive, there are several self-park options in the neighborhood that our front desk is happy to recommend. We hope to see you again the next time you stay in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just visited the New Orleans Marriott one day after staying at a Ritz Carlton. While it quite obvious a Ritz Carlton can spoil anyone, the Marriott didn't fall too far behind. Things started out a little shady, but the manager (Andrew) and the staff were very accommodating and did everything they could to make my stay rewarding. The rooms are very clean. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's environmentally-friendly practices are very good.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Gloria,

Thank for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that the excellent service from Andrew and our staff made your stay great and we're so happy to hear that you were satisfied with the condition of your room. We also thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott brand and for noticing our environmentally friendly practices- we take our corporate social responsibility very seriously and do our best to reduce our environmental footprint. It would be our pleasure to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing