We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bustling Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott for 5 days for a conference in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. There were 2-3 conferences happening during this time, so the hotel lobby was always full of people, but never really crowded. The lobby offers an open lounge with TVs, and lots of seating so it is always easy to find someone, or just people-watch! The business center and Starbucks are also located just off the hotel lobby.

The hotel features two separate elevator banks, one of the River Tower (41 floors) and one for the Quarter Tower (maybe 13-15 floors?). Both elevator banks are connected to the ballroom and meeting spaces.

Since I arrived early in the morning, my King room was not yet ready. I was offered a room with 2 queens, or an alternate accessible King room which is what I accepted. The room was large and very clean. The maid service was very good. The only items lacking were a small refrigerator and an in-room safe which would have been nice, but not necessities.

I was able to walk to most places from the hotel - many great restaurants (Dickie Brennans is right around the corner and an excellent steak house!). The French Quarter is about a 15-minute walk down the street. There is a CVS drugstore about a block way which was convenient. Harrah's Casino is also about 1-2 blocks.

The hotel food was good, although most of the meals I had were served for the large conference I was with. I did order from the hotel lobby lounge one afternoon and it was probably the only real disappointment of the trip. I ordered a Rueben sandwich, and it was not very good, the corned beef was mostly all fat. But otherwise, the service during the meals was excellent.

The overall hotel staff seemed very accomodating and were helpful when needed. I would recommend this hotel for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2niagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear 2niagra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us! We're thrilled that you would recommend the New Orleans Marriott for future stays. Our hotel is home to many conferences, whose attendees love our ideal location and superb service. We hope you had the chance to get out and explore the French Quarter for a bit during your stay. Please accept our apologies about your sandwich- we would very much like to make this up to you should you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    1,330
    680
    215
    105
See reviews for
450
809
125
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Orange, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a great stay at the Marriott. Our room was located on the poolside although we did not use the pool. It was a small room yet comfortable room. The Marriott is in a great location for walking or riding the streetcars to the French Quarter, French Market, the Warehouse District, the World War II Museum and the mall. Check-in was a breeze and the staff were all friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Theresa,

We appreciate your feedback about your stay at New Orleans Marriott. It's fantastic that you had a great stay with us, with a comfortable room and an ideal location. We hope you had a chance to explore all of the neighborhoods you mentioned! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was there with my family from 16 of March,2014 for one week,my room was on the highest floor and we had the best view.the breakfast buffet was perfect and concierge lounge was good.the seafood was very good.the location was good ,there is a Jw marriott infront of marriott that Jw is not good and more expensive.there is a rose market as like as Ralph that you can go and buy everything from New Orleans with cheap price and it is walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: on the highest floor,corner,sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for sharing your experience at New Orleans Marriott! We're delighted that you truly enjoyed your visit from Los Angeles. It's wonderful that you experienced our spectacular views, expansive breakfast buffet, and excellent location. We're glad you mentioned the convenient Rouse's Market a few blocks away from the hotel as a viable grocery option for our long-term guests. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just spent a weekend trip with three other couples in New Orleans and stayed at the Marriott. We decided to book because we got a fairly good rate, and the locations is pretty solid only (within a 15 minute walk to almost anything in the French Quarter). In addition, its not a far walk from the Warehouse district either.

Check-in went really smoothly, but unfortunately, that is where any type of quality stopped. They were able to accommodate two rooms near one another, for which we were very appreciative, however, both rooms were is sad shape. Dark, dated, rooms with a distinct mildewy smell. There are no fans in the bathrooms and everything gets SOAKED every time anyone showers. Rooms were some of the worst at a Marriott property I have stayed at. Still, noting the great location and the price we payed, I would have been ok if the only thing wrong was the dated decor, and the rooms in need of a good scrub down.

Checking out on Sunday was a nightmare. I did NOT receive a bill under my door (which others in line also complained about) and had to go wait in line. It was a Sunday, after hosting a convention, and there was only TWO people handling the front desk. We waited in line for over 30 minutes to check out! The gentleman in front of us found additional charges on his bill, and after the manager spoke with him for close to 20 minutes, he stated. "you are right, you were overcharged."

The lengthy wait was unacceptable when they knew a large amount would be checking out. We will be taking out say elsewhere next time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_AGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Traveling_AGP, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our property. We are pleased to hear you found our location to be conveniently located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. We are excited to announce that this September we begin a complete renovation of our guest rooms that will consist of a brand new Marriott design that I am sure you will find to be most comfortable. The next time your travels bring you to our city, we would be delighted to host your stay and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
393 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was packed with an international convention group so getting an elevator was really challenging. Room was quite small and very outdated. The bathroom door was rotted and warped which is surprising to see at a Marriott. The rooms and the lobby are in need of updating and renovation. The pool area was nice with two lift chairs for people with disabilities. The hotel is within walking distance of lots of shopping and the French quarter and is right on the trolley car line.

Room Tip: high floor with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Likethewind27, Thank you for taking the time to post your review our property. We are pleased to hear you found our location to be conveniently located near the French Quarter of New Orleans. We certainly do apologize for any wait times that inconvenienced you throughout your stay. Also, we are excited to announce that this September we begin a complete renovation of our guest rooms that will consist of a brand new Marriott design that I am sure you will find to be most comfortable. The next time your travels bring you to our city, we would be delighted to host your stay and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are "elite" members at Marriott hotels, so because we have access to the consierge lounge, we usually stay At Marriott hotels. This hotel was ok. Very busy. It took about 40 minutes before our bags got to our room once we checked them at the valet, which also was very busy. In fact, When we came to retrieve our car, there was a line of about 45 people ahead of us and it took about 30 minutes to get our car. The room to me seemed small, especially the shower/toilet room, which was so small we had to open the door all the way to enter the room, then close the door in order to enter the shower. We also had a problem with our "next door neighbors" who banged on the shared door to tell us to be quiet,even though we were simply talking. The next morning, the maid knocked on the door and entered (!) our room around 8:30am to clean the room. Totally not cool. We were still in bed. I also didn't like that we had to go to another tower to get to the consierge lounge. The hotel is in a good location. However, I was not that impressed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthinBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear RuthinBham,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. I apologize for the delay in the delivery of your luggage upon your arrival and for the wait to retrieve your vehicle upon departure. This September we will be receiving a complete room renovation that will consist of a brand new Marriott design that will certainly address the concerns you experienced with your room you received. During our impending renovation we will be transitioning our concierge lounge to Marriott’s new concept, the M Club Lounge, to the 1st level of the hotel making it very accessible for all guests. I hope we get the opportunity to regain your trust and exceed your expectations the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Excellent hotel with a great location to the French Quarter and Riverwalk, Streetcars and ready i Taxi's at the front door. Friendly staff, easy check in a and nice lounge with quick service , and an excellent restaurant for breakfast and a Buffet, although I always ordered from the menu, especially for the Eggs Benedict. Good room with a view of the city, or river depending on the tower Will always stay here when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Bill,

We're happy to hear that you adored our convenient French Quarter location! We hope you had the chance to go on a streetcar ride and shop at the newly opened luxury outlets at Riverwalk. Additionally, it's great you discovered our restaurant, 5 Fifty 5, which not only has delicious breakfast options but also has won a number of New Orleans culinary awards, including Best Gumbo! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next New Orleans visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing