We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here on points -- booked ahead for JazzFest. I rarely rate hotels 5 points, but the people at this hotel drove the rating --uncommonly helpful and friendly. I was lucky enough to get a corner room on a high floor with a beautiful view of the Mississippi, which was a highlight of our fun mini-vacation.
Hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the French Market and an easy walk to the bars on Frenchman St. Lots of restaurants within a few blocks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notravelsurprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear notravelsurprises,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and the time that you took to share your New Orleans experience with us. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hosts, who really take "hosting brilliantly" to a whole new level, and we're very happy to hear that you received excellent service during your stay. It's also wonderful that you had a breathtaking view of the Mississippi. We would be delighted to host you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    1,330
    680
    215
    105
See reviews for
450
808
125
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This Marriott has a convenient location that is within easy walking distance to all the New Orleans sites. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and while they might need updating, they are in no way worn or shabby. Staff are responsive and friendly, elevators are fast and efficient, and amenities are what you'd expect of a large 4 star hotel - pool, gym, restaurant, coffee shop, lobby with bar, and a concierge lounge. I only used the lounge (in the Quarter Tower) for breakfast and they had a nice choice of both hot and continental breakfast items. The staff worked very hard to keep the food available. Views from the upper floors facing the Quarter or the River are pretty spectacular. The room sound proofing seemed pretty good, however I had neighbors who were screaming and laughing in the hall, slamming doors, yelling in their room and throwing themselves on the bed hard enough to shake the walls. New Orleans is party city so this wouldn't bother me for a short time, but when it continued for 30+ minutes I let the management know and they fixed it immediately and professionally. They also took great care of me when I had an injury and needed ice packs. My #1 choice in downtown New Orleans for comfort and value.

Room Tip: High floors with Quarter views in the Quarter Tower, or River views in the River Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear flyiad,

We're honored to be your number one choice in downtown New Orleans! Your stories about our staff's professionalism and attentiveness are great examples of brilliant hosting in action. We're so sorry you experienced some noise from other guests but we're delighted that our management fixed the situation immediately to your satisfaction. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your future visits to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here for the educational conference April 3-April 6th. It was a nice room (we stayed in a suite) and had a fabulous view of the river. Unfortunately although we had fabulous windows on our top floor room, there was no balcony. Workout facility was clean and adequate. Pool was pretty but too cold to use (time of year surely) and there was not a hot tub. I walked down the canal street to the Ritz Carlton and used their spa facilities for massage, scrub and pedicure. The Marriott properties (including the JW) do not have spas onsite and they contract with a company onsite for massages that had high prices and unusual hours.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room! We had a conference room suite (with meeting table for 12) which was unnecessa...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not see any extra effort to recycle water bottles in the lobby
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drugrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Drugrep,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with thoughtful feedback about your recent stay. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your suite and its breathtaking view of the Mississippi River. We're thrilled that you experienced our fitness facility, as we know how important it is to our guests to keep up their workout routines. We're sorry that the weather wasn't suitable for swimming during your early April stay. The weather really warms up during May and the pool is an amazing and well-utilized amenity for our guests during the summer months. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your spa treatment at the nearby Ritz Carlton. Additionally, we appreciate your concern about recycling. We do have recycling throughout the lobby for plastics (including water bottles), which are right next to the trashcans. Thank you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights recently for JazzFest 2014. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is within walking distance of everything you might need and anywhere you might want to go. When you walk in the lobby is welcoming and updated. The service was solid - from the time I checked in until we checked out, everyone was service minded. Areas of feedback - the rooms need a renovation. The rooms are small, dark, and felt/smelled moist. This is not low end hotel and I would expect a bit more for the price. A second piece of feedback is that as a platinum member, I would think the concierge's lounge would have been open over the weekend to accommodate an event as large as JazzFest. For almost $300 a night, I did not even have access to the lounge for drinks - i.e. water, coffee, etc. I will say that we were offered points in lieu of the lounge being open....but I, as well as the others in my party, would rather have the lounge.

Room Tip: I would try to get a high floor since there is a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Longmich,

Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay over Jazz Fest. We are delighted to hear that you found our location to be perfect, convenient to all Downtown Big Easy attractions. You mentioned that the room you received as well as the hours the concierge lounge was open was unsatisfactory. I apologize for these inconveniences you experienced. On a lighter note, we are beginning a complete room and concierge lounge renovation this summer. Both will encompass a brand new Marriott design and the new concierge lounge concept, the M Club, will be available for your enjoyment 24/7. We look forward to the opportunity to exceed your expectations when you visit our city for future a future Jazz Fest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed there after cruise right before new year, the location of the hotel was perfect, couple of blocks from french quarter, and river walk, close to restaurants, shopping. The room was of decent size, nicely appointed and furnished. We had a corner room with great view of the river and city, at night it was breath taking.
Reception, bell, concierge, and lounge receptionist were all very nice and friendly, the issue was that lounge was not prepared to handle the volume of people during breakfast, snack times, and ran out of foods, or choices every single time we were there during the 3 nights stay. Granted the number of people was high due to the college bowl game in town and new year, but shouldn't the hotel be fully prepared for such events?
Also the key card reader to the gym was not functioning, basically anyone can get through, not very secure.

Room Tip: high floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiStrike196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
3ecrm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, interactions with our staff, and of course the fantastic views from your corner room; they are some of my favorite views of the city. However, I would like to apologize that your experience in our concierge lounge was not exceptional as well. In just about two months from now we begin renovation of our brand new concierge lounge concept, The M Club, which takes the existing concierge lounge experience to the next level. It will be located just off the lobby, next to our restaurant, which will make the area more accessible. In addition to the location change, the M Club, will be open 24/7 and have access to full bar and buffet. We are eagerly awaiting your return for the next time your travels bring you to our city to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The New Orleans Marriott is located on Canal Street just steps from the French Quarter and Harrahs Casino. As a frequent guest at the hotel on business, I have never had a bad experience. Last week I spent four nights at the property and was pleased as usual. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. Housekeeping and cleanliness is outstanding. If you request your room to be cleaned at a designated time, management will call to be certain it was done at the time and to your satisfaction. The food service is wonderful with the best breakfast buffet with unlimited choices and an omelet station. Although a large hotel with a great deal of convention business the staff always takes time for you. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed with every amenity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Quarter Tower for a view of the French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Danny,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at New Orleans Marriott, as it helps us continue to perfect the art of hosting. Thank you also for your loyalty to our property. We're delighted to hear that we have made your business trips in New Orleans a pleasant experience and that consistently found our staff to be outstanding, friendly, and attentive. It's also great that you've discovered our spectacular breakfast omelets! We look forward to hosting you on your future trips trips to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked this hotel for a conference stay and was worried after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor but this hotel is great. Very comfortable beds, nice roof deck pool, pleasant lobby, fast elevators and great service from all hotel staff. If you need something, hotel staff bring it to you immediately. It's true that the hotel carpeting and furnishings are not the most modern and will be updated when the hotel is renovated soon but that wasn't a problem for us. The location is terrific - on the edge of the French Quarter and walking distance to all French Quarter attractions, St. Charles Streetcar and convention center. The free wireless in the room was greatly appreciated. This is a good place to stay with family (kids will like the pool) and for business.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper41706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Jasper41706,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the New Orleans Marriott. We're happy to hear that you found our hotel to be an outstanding place to spend your business trip. It's always fantastic to hear about the excellent, attentive service that our guests receive, as well as how much they enjoy our perfect location in New Orleans' famous French Quarter. We also 100% agree about our property being perfect for families, especially during the exciting summer months when there is so much to do in downtown New Orleans! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#58 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing