We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Right!”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My best friend and I stayed at the New Orleans Marriot this weekend. It was great. The location is great you can get on all 3 trolleys within a block of the hotel. The french quarter is on one side of the hotel and Harrah's casino is a block down on the other side. We got our room for $89 through travelzoo though we enjoyed the room enough to pay full price. Though the special said King bed with no view we were given 2 queens with a view of Harrah's, the bridge and the Mississippi. Like other posters we agree the beds were AWESOME! The hotel has it's own parking garage so you just pull in and they park your car and unload your stuff, so easy. When we walked into the hotel two people were set up to direct you to check in. The lobby is very smart. The middle is a big lounge area with a bar at the end. People used that area for many things- some were working or using laptops, some were waiting or relaxing, some were snacking/drinking/talking. As far as our room size, I think the room size was average and the decor very tasteful. We ate the breakfast buffet in the hotel 5fifty5 restaurant. As lovers of breakfast we thougt it was very good but it would be pricey for a whole family. The concierge was nice and helpful and gave us dinner recommendations. We ate at Bourbon House which is just past Acme Oyster. She recommended Acme but the line was long so moved on and ate at Bourbon. The food was good and seafood especially the oysters tasted really fresh. You call the parking garage 5 minutes before you leave and they pull your car and have it waiting for you. And they put a ice cold bottle of water in the cup holder, nice touch. Oh, and the shampoo, etc was citrus and also a nice touch. I like to travel so when planning a getaway first I decide my budget and then the area I want to be in. Then look for hotels with comfy beds and great location. This hotel met all my travel criteria. For me this hotel's beds were equivalent to the Pan Pacific in SanFrancisco (and that says alot)! Happy Travels!!

  • Liked — location and beds
  • Disliked — not enough desserts/not right desserts on the room service menu
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaceloveweeniedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    1,385
    705
    227
    111
See reviews for
481
834
126
1,222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline CT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

I just returned from a convention in New Orleans, and stayed at the 555 Canal Street Marriott. The hotel feels fresh and new, great wall art, very hip and crisp feeling decor.
The rooms were a bit on the small side for Marriott, but I was lucky to be given a corner room, that seemed larger than the other rooms.
One day I was somehow skipped for housekeeping service, but other than that, no complaints. I would stay there again, it is a great location for walking the city and the french quarter (canal street seems to divide the two districts). The hotel food was very good, at a reasonable price. I advise paying a bit more for the concierge lounge access. Breakfast, evening snacks and desserts served until 10PM.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

After a night of partying or after a walking tour of the french quater, the bed in this place is FANTASTIC.

The rooms were small, but well worth it. The hotel is located within walking distance for everything. I recommend this hotel for long stays, short stays, over-night. We stayed in the river tower. We had a view of the mississippi river and Canal Street. Like I said the rooms are small, I wouldn't recomend more that two people to a room.

The lobby area was always lively, plus the drinks and the food in the lobby were tasty.

Although frowned upon by many reviewers and some people at the hotel, I love the elevaor and the concept that you get on the elevator that is not going to make frequent stops.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-n-Buppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This hotel has a great lobby. The service is prompt and friendly and the food as good as in any New Orleans restaurant and reasonally priced, too. The portions are big enough for two. The lobby is a busy place and its bustle adds to its character instead of detracting from it. The front desk service was excellent and the clerk quickly responded to our request to remove an in-room internet charge from our bill. Checkout was quick and efficient. The bell staff will store luggage after checkout if your plans require you to stay at an event after the noon checkout. The elevators were easy to get used to and were fairly quick to arrive after summoned. My only negative comments concern the convention facilities: they lacked close restroom facilities and the hotel dance floor was dirty and sticky in spots, which was unfortunate as we were at a dance event.

  • Liked — The lobby
  • Disliked — The room was small
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tabbycatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed for one night on July 18th and I hated to leave this hotel! We got a great rate through Priceline-although I wouldn't mind paying regular rate to stay here again. The staff was very attentive-walking up to the registration lines to help guests, offering directions and quickly responding to all requests. The beds were very comfortable! The breakfast buffet was also quite good with lots of items-including eggs benedict! We're looking forward to our next visit to this great hotel!

  • Liked — Amazing staff!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Area, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We are Silver Elite members with Marriott Rewards. We have stayed at Marriotts around the country, and this surpasses all other Marriotts so far.

The valets and bell staff treated us like family and addresses us by name. We were here on a vacation in NOLA, we payed $107 for a room that the Marriott website said would have "no view". Oh did we get a surprise! We were on the 18th floor in the River Tower. When there is 41 floors in this Tower, your not very high up compared to above you. Floor 18 is a Marriott Rewards Elite Only Level (you must have elite status to stay on this floor). I have posted some pictures of our views and our room on here to. We loved the Marriott Revive Bedding! It has pillowtop comforters and duvets which are all very soft and plush.

Overall, this has been the best of our Marriott experiences so far.

  • Liked — The room (Comfort, Views, etc.)
  • Disliked — Food is overpriced
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank airplane2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The NO Marriott is located on Canal Street, between Decater and Royal (or close to Royal anyhow). I had never been to New Orleans before, so I didn't realize what a great location that really was. I didn't actually pick it--I was placed there after winning a bid on Priceline. Canal, as it turns out, divides "Uptown" from the French Quarter. It was so convenient for me to just walk out the door and be able to walk down the street to the FQ (Bourbon Street, all the antique shops, great music, dance, restaurants) as well as to go across the street to catch the street car (which took me into the Garden District). Turning left out the door, I was quickly able to get to the end of Canal Street, where you can take a free ferry to Algiers. The hotel was very clean, nice lobby for people watching, and staff was friendly and helpful in terms of helping me ( I was vacationing solo, so they provided excellent travel tips). My room was on the small side, but it was cute, and had a king bed. It was billed as a 4 star, but I'd say it was more of a 3 star type accommodation. I did not eat at the restaurant because there were so many places that had been recommended in the FQ, but they did have one. I also did not use the bar area, but it had tons of seating, and many others were chatting there. While I was there, there was a convention for the National Association for the Deaf, so people were signing all over the place--it was a VERY quiet week. The pool was nice, and it felt good to cool off in the afternoon after sight seeing in 104 humid weather. Because the pool is outdoors, and it is between towers (which block the sun), you only get direct tanning rays for a few hours in the afternoon as far as I could tell, but it was enough to turn me golden brown over the course of my 4 day stay. I would be very disappointed if I returned to the city and Priceline placed me anywhere but there. I'll be keeping my fingers crossed while they do their search that the Marriott NO comes up when I return to NO in the future, which I certainly plan to!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness--classy appearance
  • Disliked — Because it was so large, it lacked the French Quarter "intimitate" appeal.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speechcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#63 of 164 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,250 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing