We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've stayed at this property a number of times. I travel to New Orleans about once a year on business, and this has become my property of choice. It is nicely located near several of the locations I typically need to stop, as well as near a variety of casual spots that I like to hit. The facilities are always clean and convenient. The service is top notch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,954 of 3,512 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

This hotel is located on Canal St. and right around the corner to the French Quarter. It is close to everything and has a Canal St. Streetcar stop right in front of the hotel. We had a nice check-in with recognition of our Marriott Elite status. The rooms are small and a bit tired, but clean. Upgrading will be needed soon. We had a small refrigerator, coffee pot and iron and ironing board. The toiletries were very good and replaced completely on a daily basis. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby ($14.95 a day if you want it in your room). They provide a fantastic home-made fruit water in the lobby. The only problem I had was the night before we were to check-out, I ask the Elite desk person for a later check-out. She gave me a one hour later check-out. The other couple we were with, who are not Elite members, went to the regular desk and ask for a late check-out and they were given a two hour late check-out. Needless to say, I then went to the regular desk and also got a two hour later check-out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The New Orleans Marriott is a great hotel. Wonderful room, excellent lobby bar, beautiful view from my hotel room window, courteous staff, super clean - everything is just awesome. If I have just one suggestion - it is if they could please furnish each room with TWO BARS OF SOAP in the bathroom ... instead of just one. I noticed this here and also at the San Jose Marriott - so all of the Marriotts must be doing this. One bar of soap for the tub/shower, and one for the bathroom sink - otherwise you have to move the bar of soap in between. Such a small thing, I know - but that sticks out as the only negative. I did ask for (and received) a second bar of soap here at the New Orleans Marriott :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregorySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, General Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear GregorySmith, thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here at the New Orleans Marriott. I speak for our entire team when I say that your feedback is greatly appreciated and we can't wait to host you again very soon.

We welcome any and all suggestions from our guests, as we are frequently reevaluating our processes in hopes of creating a more comfortable, efficient hotel experience. All Marriott Hotels & Resorts are currently changing to a new bath amenity soap package. This new packaging can be a little confusing, however I can assure you we have not reduced the amount of soap. The hand soap is now housed in a tower like box on the vanity and we changed our bath soap to a bottle of shower gel. However, based on your comments, we will look into the placement of these items so other guests are not confused as well. Your comfort is still the number-one priority to us, so if you ever need anything additional, a quick call to the front desk is all it takes.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Robert Bray
General Manager
New Orleans Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our first time at the Marriott in New Orleans. It sure was busy with just about every other person here wearing a "Ragin' Cajun" shirt. There was a big game in town. The hotel is nice, about 40 stories high not far from the French Quarter. The lobby has a bar area in the center, requiring you to walk around it to get to the registration area. We stayed in the River tower. There was a great view of the Mississippi River. Internet cost about $15 a day and it seems that most of the TV stations cost money too. Still, the room was nice with a comfortable mattress and covers. The desk in the room had a box containing coffee, tea and creamers and sweeteners...at no extra charge, and there's a refrigerator. The restaurants were a little pricey and room service was out of the question, though not too much for special occasions. Temperature controls worked well and the shower and shower curtain all worked satisfactorily. They use aromatherapy scented shampoo and conditioner as well as shower gel. I know you won't choose this hotel because of that but it is pretty neat. What wasn't neat is the roach my wife discovered crawling on the floor of the bathroom while she was in there. She killed it and I put it in the toilet. That was the only incident but I didn't report it because I forgot it. Looks as if they do receive a regular pest control service as it is. I'd stay here again. Had it been a bed bug, that would've been a different story. Parking is valet only at about $40.

Room Tip: If you want a river view, the higher, the better and the River Tower would be best. The other towers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel has a Starbucks which is probably the most positive thing about the hotel. Rooms are worn/smelly and could be pimped. Bar area downstairs s pleasant.
Biggest turn-off is the $15/day internet fee, which i had to purchase, cause I don't have an American Cell phone. Marriot, you should be ashamed of yourself. Will never go here again because of that. Go to the Riverfront Hilton. Better Hotel, similar prices, complementary wifi.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can, there's a lot of noise coming from Canal Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was in town in November for the HCIC Conference. The hotel had nice amenities such as the Starbucks in the lobby as well as restaurants and a bar. However, you could tell the hotel was old. The beds were relatively comfortable with a pillow top on the mattress. I tossed and turn a lot so I woke up hanging off the side of the bed. Anyway, the best part was the shower! Even a co-worker commented on how great the shower was. Besides the cleanliness and the bed I am really only concerned with the shower. After running on little sleep and not wanting to miss the night-life in New Orleans that shower was a life saver. So overall it was a good experience and I would consider staying there again. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A friend of mine forgot her trench coat in the room and it was returned to her. Kudos to them because some hotels conveniently cannot 'find' lost items.

Would not stay here for 'romance' or a couples retreat. I think its a good hotel for work trips or traveling with friends. Great location due to being in the French Quarter and so close to the St. Charles line as well as directly at the Canal street line.

Room Tip: I had a room in the south tower and it was very quiet. I was able to nap during the day and wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenGraham232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for a conference at this location and I was not impressed. The location was great but the hotel wasn't so great. The power sockets seemed to big as our plugs were slipping out, I had to prop my phone cord in a certain way for it to charge. I'm 5'11 and I had to bend down to look into the mirror and step outside of the bathroom if I needed to stretch. The tub was clogged, it took a couple of minutes for the water to drain...Yukk

The servers in the restaurant area totally ignored our party and didn't even ask us if we wanted water. The bell staff and front desk staff were pleasant to deal with. If I had to come back I will choose another location.

Room Tip: 28 floor looking a the river is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori J, Resident Manager at New Orleans Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear SHERESE C,

I'm troubled to hear about your experience during your recent stay. It is our priority to provide top-notch service and amenities, and it does not sound like your stay was up to that caliber. While it sounds like you were pleased with our great location and friendly staff, I apologize that there were other disappointments. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns and hopefully make the situation right, if there is a way for us to get in touch with you directly, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Kori Johnson

Resident Manager
New Orleans Marriott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#66 of 167 in New Orleans
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 167 in New Orleans
2,314 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $147 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing