We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad. Nothing special either...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad. Nothing special either...”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Room was a bit dated and staying there for Mardi Gras it was a bit of a zoo. Location was decent for access to Bourbon, Room service was decent, and they accommodated extra pillow requests with ease. Overall, not a bad option, I'd probably choose the JW for my next stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavabear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,374
    699
    227
    109
See reviews for
475
831
125
1,209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Then i come out of the hotel and there it is! A parade filled Canal Street, what a sound what a life, amazing service, clean but small room, amazing view of the French Quarter and Downtown. Serves it's purpose.

Room Tip: Slip a $20 at check in and you will get an amazing view of French Quarter and Downtown, cannot get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borowikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our third year to come to NOLA for Mardi Gras. The other two yrs were ok, but this hotel went above and beyond our expectations. We paid a little more, but it was WELL worth it!! Valet parking, tons of hotel security, 5 elevators, room service, Great, friendly, and helpful staff. We werent supposed to be able to check in until 3 pm, but we got there early morning to avoid the parades, ao we could get in ok, and they got us into our room promptly, by about 930 am. Great experience. Close to everything, just all around great time. We will DEF be staying there from now on during Mardi Gras!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Marriott New Orleans at least three other times and this was the first time that I was very disappointed and discouraged to return in the future. Don't get me wrong, the staff was very willing to help me with the lack of hot water in my room on the first night and even helped to move me to a new room at the end of the hall on the 15th floor at 4:30 am, but when I didn't have hot water in the new room the following day, I just about blew a gasket. I was offered 30,000 Marriott Reward points and my room was comped the first night and again, on the second night when the same problem had, once again, occurred. While the "free stay" and bonus points were most appreciated, (especially by my company who did not need to reimburse me for the stay), the irritation and aggravation of no hot water in a hotel the caliber of Marriott makes me wonder if the mechanicals in this hotel are past their prime. Or maybe it's just the 15th floor you will want to steer clear of. I did read a number of the reviews on Tripadvisor while experiencing my water issues and it appears that there are a number of reviewers that have had similar experiences with the water. Finally, the rooms are just average with extremely tiny bathrooms that make it difficult to use the toilet and close the door at the same time. Furniture is prime for an upgrade. Hopefully, a renovation is in the near future for this well-worn convention property in the heart of the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Based on my experience with the lack of hot water, I'd stay away from the 15th floor and especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location really is very good and the vestibule/reception area is huge, impressive and newly renovated. The room was a different story altogheter. The mattress was much too soft and felt damp and lumpy. The room also had a musty smell to it. It had clearly not been dusted for some time, as was evident from e.g. the lamp on the bedside table, which had a thick layer of dust. Considering the $ 219/night we paid, not including tax and parking, it is one of the poorest hotel experiences I've had. I can only think of one place in the US I have stayed at that was dirtier, but that was a $45 dollar motel in Florida which had free wi-fi in the rooms, something the Marriot charges you for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

As Marriott gold members, we respectfully asked for an upgrade. The upgrade turned out to be a nice view of the river but the room was pretty dated, tired and needs to be renovated. We called and asked if we could at least get a bedside chair or table (only the desk chair was in the room) told no can do. Asked for manager who offered a different corner room and we gladly accepted. It turned out to have an additional comfy chair and small table. He also sent a small dried fruit box and nice note to apologize. The thick down addition to the beds to attempt to make them comfortable were really awful, kept coming off the mattress and feathers were everywhere. They should be eliminated completely. The faucet in the tub/shower dripped/ran constantly and was noisy. You cannot beat the location but they need to renovate before we will stay here again, too many other choices are available.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here only one night between teh SuperBowl and Mardi Gras. Perfectly adequate if not particuarly inspiring.

It is clearly and older property, although very well maintained had probably the smallest bathroom I've ever had in the U.S.

Awkward entry from Canal St. too, with stairs and no ramp to roll your luggage. Not the end of the world, but odd.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing