We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Place - Fantastic View”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although it might not seem the vibe with the old feel of New Orleans, but it is cool sheik. We enjoyed the view and the central location to everything we want to do! It was so centrally located that after a day of seeing all of the sites, it was perfect to slip into our luxurious room to freshen up or relax.

Room Tip: Book early - certain times of the year are hard to get. We tried to get a room in March and April...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_NewOrleans_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    1,374
    699
    227
    109
See reviews for
475
831
125
1,209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a long 4 day weekend and just about everything regarding this Marriott was great! As others have said, you are within walking distance to all of the touristy stuff as well as some very good restaurants. I also found the hotel gym to be very equipped and everything actually worked!

This is my 3rd stay here and the place seems to get better every time.

I recommend this hotel for business and personal/family stay in New Orleans,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if late night partyers bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend for a friend's wedding. The location of the hotel is great, right in the middle of FQ and convenient to Bourbon St, Preservation Hall, the aquarium, etc. There is a cable car stop/bus stop right in front of hotel too. Staff is friendly. Rooms aren't the biggest but it's doable. No coffee maker or fridge with my room. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenyi989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here because it was the venue for a conference I was attending. I don't really like big hotels but this proved to be a fantastic experience, I arrived early but they found me a room that was ready within minutes. What a relief after travelling for more than 24 hours! Beautiful room with a king-size bed and crisp white sheets. The location is wonderful, within a few metres of the French quarter and with dozens of restaurants within walking distance, including the Palace Cafe just a few yards away. There is a spacious and lively lobby with a restaurant, bar and free internet access. I really recommend this hotel especially for business visits - a bit big and impersonal for personal holiday visits - but so convenient and pleasant. No downside I can think of!

Room Tip: Probably better if not facing the main street. My room was very quiet apart from people coming back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in October. The hotel was incredibly nice and elegant. I'm platinum elite with Marriott, so had a few extra privileges, such as the concierge lounge, etc... The freebies in the concierge lounge were the best that I've seen at any of the hotels. Not much else to say, except that this is our new residence anytime we travel to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the larger tower, the views are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadave1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to many attractions. Lobby area is very comfortable and rooms are somewhat spacious. We never had an issue with street noise, but we were on a high floor. The elevators are faster since they have been redone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited New Orleans for a convention. The hotel was recommended by the organizers of the convention and I must say, they couldn't have picked a better spot for me to stay. The hotel is close to everything.
I was able to walk to the French Quarter and explore without worry. On one of the days there, I got up early and walked to Cafe DuMonde for cafe au lait and beignets- it was a beautiful walk, very quiet and peaceful.
There are tons of restaurants in the area- Paul Prudhomme's-KPaul, Emeril's, Muriel's--and House of Blues, Hard Rock if you want a chain restaurant.
I took a shuttle to the hotel, and never needed a vehicle while I was in the city- you can walk many places and there is easy transportation if you want to take a taxi.

Room Tip: As for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olywa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing