We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well beyond our espectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleside, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well beyond our espectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent our Anniversary weekend with our daughter at this hotel. A must say that the first thing that impressed me about our choiceto say here was the location of the hotel to everything to do in the city. It's about two blocks away from all the noise of the fun nights in the city...but on the other hand it's only a blocks away so when the night is done you can easily find your way back safely.
The lobby bar has plenty of seating so we were able to come back to the hotel if we chose to for some piece a quiet and a reasonably priced drink and snack.
Es I said we were celebrating our Anniversary on this visit so I e-mail ahead and let the hotel know this. Well we were treated to a beautiful corner room overlooking the river and a very special surprise waiting for us in the room. Thanks for that -it for that- It was a really nice treat for our stay!!!!
The room itself is very clean and beds super comfy!
We did get to go down to the pool the first day we were there and it was also in great shape. There are two pools side by side with plenty of seating and loads of towels. If you wanted to be near a feisty bunch they were there and if relaxation is what you were looking for that was easy to find there also.
Overall Marriott has out exceeded our expectations and we will certainly look to stay at another one next time we are looking for a place to stay.
One last point of many I though was wonderful about the hotel were the elevators. They have a fancy system that takes you directly to your floor and saves bunches of time...especially during the "rush" hour times. Great way to look out for the guests time :-)

Room Tip: Ask for River views - it's a special treat especially in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaandroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    1,306
    669
    214
    104
See reviews for
437
796
125
1,126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have come to expect more from Marriott hotels than this one offers. While the hotel is located at the edge of the French Quarter making it very convenient for all places of interest, it was an expensive room ($363.47 / night, including taxes) for which I would have expected more. The rooms have no fridge or safe (something which is standard in nearly every hotel of this standard), and the bathroom was rather small and functional. Breakfast was not included at that price nor was internet access which was charged at the exorbitant rate of $14.95 / day and turned out to be so slow at times as to be almost unusuable for rapid business communication. An item that I had shipped to the hotel was handed to the FedEx office to deal with and I was charged $25.00 to receive it and $25.00 when I wanted to leave it for collection by UPS. I would certainly look at other hotels in the area for better value and service.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in an 'outside' room either facing the river or the city. I ended up in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
326 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed in the New Orleans Marriott for a conference recently and it was a very standard big city Marriott. Check-in is very smooth even when the lines are busy – the staff is well trained and thorough. Gold status at Marriot hotels such as this one really helps with the WiFi and a casual breakfast as the WiFi (like at most hotels) is ridiculously priced at ~$15/day. The concierge lounge was adequate although incredibly busy. A nice flier was included in the check-in process that outlined the hours and the food/drink options that were available from the concierge lounge and a relatively early breakfast (6:30am) is always appreciated. The gym is well equipped and there is an outdoor pool which during early October seemed to be in the shade for nearly the entire day. The room was nice but not spectacular: good level of cleanliness, nice flat panel television, and an excellent bed. The hotel is located on the west side of the French Quarter and is only 2-3 blocks away from Bourbon Street so you can access many things simply by walking around. For the price (~$240/night), this hotel was perfectly average but is a solid choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently stayed here for a work conference and overall I was extremely disappointed. There were a few positives but definitely none of which could overcome the bad points.

PROS:
Amazing elevator system that was fast and efficient.
Friendly, helpful staff. Bell and concierge staff were both wonderful.
Great location close to everything.
Comfortable bed.

CONS:
Poor housekeeping.
Poor room design.
One restaurant.
Expensive WiFi.

The carpets were dirty and there was a broken fingernail under the desk for the entire week. There were two of us staying in the room and twice we had to call because they only left 2 towels.

There was limited storage in the room - one bureau with 3 small drawers and the closet. The mirror was on the back of one of the closet doors and you literally had to stand against the wall to use it. Rooms were on the small side and there was a gap under the door allowing me to hear everything in the hallway.

For such a large hotel I expected more than one choice for a restaurant but that was the one and only option. There are tons of restaurants close by but when it's late or you just want a quick bite to eat it was disappointing.

$15 a day for internet? A lot of other hotels offer it for free, especially for business travelers. It was available for free in the lobby but the lobby definitely wasn't conducive to answering work emails. It was always loud and busy.

Overall I felt at $200 a night this was a poor experience. I'm not picky but I at least expect a clean, quiet, comfortable room and I didn't get any of those. If I went back to New Orleans I would definitely find another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally8_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Marriott in New Orleans is right on the edge of the French Quarter and along the Canal Street streetcar, so the location is good. There are absolutely no extras thrown in - no free Wifi (except in the lobby), no breakfast included, no tea making facilities in the room, no free parking, etc.

The rooms are fine - nothing special (very 90s) but they were clean and comfortable.

We had exceptional staff interactions - everyone from the people at the front desk to the concierge and baggage handlers were incredibly competent and friendly.

Overall a good option but not the most interesting place to stay when there are more charming places with some local character elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the elevator, which is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

So cool to see that the pool has two motorized lifts for the handicapped to be able to enjoy the water. Sun doesn't start peeking around onto the chairs until about 11 or noon, so go ahead and sleep in. Comfy beds, snazzy decor. Canal st can get noisy. FedEx and Starbucks on level one. Great people watching there too. Busy busy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarafuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel room costs around 300 dollars. If you want to print a voucher for the airport shuttle you have to go to the fedex office in the hotel and pay for it . You can print a boarding card for your flight for free, but not if it's an alitalia - or other international airline flight: they only have selected airlines on the computers available in the lobby for online check in- if your airline is not one of them, you have to print it through the fedex office and pay for it.
If you ask the concierge where another fedex office is (to avoid paying the 10 dollars handling fee that they add for being in the hotel) they say they don't know and that you have to google it.
That said, the lobster dinner in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced (25 dollars, like the breakfast). The building needs renovation, very old- looking furniture and decor. No minibar in the rooms. The entrance looks like a backdoor. Never seen a Marriott this bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francescafuscolynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing