We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 4 nights here. Very clean rooms, great location (just a short walk from Bourbon). Nice elevator system. Housekeeping was fantastic as well. We did stay up on the 34th floor, I think that did help keep some of the city noise at bay. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,593 - 2,599 of 3,609 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for work this week. Its in a good location. A short walk from Bourbon Street or the Casino. The rooms are pretty average to small. They have a great elevator system that every hotel should adopt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldclasstvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Its a large hotel and check-in took some time. That was the only downside we experienced. Otherwise the service was very good and the receptionist spent time working with us to select the best combination of rooms and work through the possible upgrade options.

We ended up in two rooms with connecting doors and two doubles in each. The beds were a little soft for me but I sleep on an extra firm at home. The rooms are comfortable but not overly spacious. However, air conditioning is great, TV is large and plenty of channels and the bathroom is what you would expect.

The internet was free in the lobby so we did all our work there and so did a lot of the other guests. The lobby is large and very well planned with sofas and tables and large screen TV showing the latest sports games. This made for a really nice community feel and we were so comfortable hanging out here. The waitresses here were extremely friendly and so comforting. They didn't mind in the least when you just sat and did your own thing. When we did order food and drinks, they were very well made and large food portions. I must say this was my best part of the hotel.

We didn't use the pool but saw it and it is well done and inviting.

Location was excellent. Just on the edge of the French Quarters but away enough from the noise and unsavory street walkers.The security and outside staff were very good and making their presence known and creating a friendly but safe welcome.

I recommend this very highly and will certainly make this my hotel of choice from here on (did I mention this was my third visit to NO)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhoom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights there on business. Very convenient to the French Quarter - the hotel is located right on the edge of the quarter so you can be on Bourbon Street, etc within minutes. I was upgraded to a corner room overlooking the river. I've stayed in hotels in the French Quarter before and they tend to be old and not so charming. This was at least fairly modern, although the room was small to the point it was difficult to get to the door as the chair & desk got in the way. The staff were very friendly and went out of the way to be accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of the river - stay away from the offer of a room with a murphy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jospos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a typical Marriott, decent room, comfortable bed, adequate TV and bathroom. There is valet parking for $35.00 for with no option to park yourself which is expected in this area. I have noticed several complaints about the valet service. I would recommend checking in before dropping your vehicle off with the valet. I would also suggest you request you vehicle far in advance to ensure you don't have to wait. I was surprised the service here from the valet to the front desk was not up to par of the typical Marriott. I would recommend staying elsewhere unless you get a great deal on the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First night on getting into bed found blood on the sheets. Room service were quick to reset the whole of the bed linen and was then offered $50 voucher in compensation. Having paid $450 for 3 nights we thought that was poor. More importantly how did it happen?
Last 24hrs no water available to wash with, clean teeth or shower due to probs with East side water supply. But staff were most reluctant to provide bottled water at reception, hiding supplies under counter so that guests were forced to ask staff for water rather than they be supplying it in abundance. On checking out no offer of compensation to any of the sweaty unwashed guests - poor service and PR. Reception staff always difficult to find - 4 desks rarely manned by two, more often by one receptionist. Restaurant meal good but very slow seemed understaffed.
Situated in great location. Elevator system the best we have yet encountered. No safe or fridge in room. Parking is too expensive. Overall 3 out of 10. Will try elsewhere when next in NO.

Room Tip: Do not be conned into paying $20 extra for a French Quarter view and upgrade room as we were offered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times and it is fine. I used to think it was pretty nice but now it is just above average. It is missing the little things that make a stay outstanding. The rooms are showing their age. My specific complaints are that for that price ($500 for 2 nights) there should be a safe in the room, and seriously, they need to use laundry softener. The towels were rough. Our TV had a problem so reception was lost every five minutes so I had to tighten the connection. Other than that, we love the location, the service is very accommodating, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russkwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
2,446 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#79 of 166 in New Orleans
2,425 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
5,873 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $185 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing