We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #74 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Had a great time. Staff was friendly, service was excellent, food in hotel was good. Got some great tips from the staff. Great location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,848 - 2,854 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the New Orleans Marriott from Wed 1/11/12 - Sunday 1/15/12. The staff was very warm and conscious of making sure we were having a good time. They thanked us for coming to New Orleans and hoped we would come back.

The hotel wasn't what I have experienced from most Marriott properties. When we arrived the room smelled old and musty and had no soap and towels. However, even though it was 12:00 am, the staff responded quickly bringing us what we requested. We found the lounge to have a great selection of wines, but each time we asked for a bottle, they were out. Why have a list if you don't have any of the selections? The waitress was very apologetic, and finally we settled on the house wine, and went for a few glasses. The happy hour was budget friendly, 5 dollar glasses of wine from 3-8 pm, plus a great selection of appetizers. The next day we attended lunch in the hotel restaurant as we were short on time. Even though our waitress was wonderful, the food selections were not that different from the lounge the night before. The food tasted sub-par, not common for the rest of New Orleans, but again, staff made it worth while. On another note, the property was clean, but had no spa, the gift shop was lame and small, and there was no indoor pool which is common at many Marriotts. The Starbucks was a nice amenity which we enjoyed more that once. Finally, internet was not free, 14.95 a day which we thought was steep considering we were at a conference and needed to use our technology. We would stay here again knowing the price is right, and again, the staff was amazing. We would know however what we needed to do to get over the small shortcomings.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilv2sng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great stay for New Years - hotel was very crowded for the BCS game but they handled it well/ Also helps when your traveling companion is platinum elite, we got to use the elite desk for check in and was on the 31st floor. At a few points there was a wait for the elevators, but that is to be expected with so many guests.

The room was big for Nola standards, but the bathroom was small. The beds were great and the room was spotless. That's rare in some of the FQ hotels. A/C worked well and the room was quiet and comfortable.

We tried the restaurant for breakfast. It was good with huge portions, but pricey. They had a buffet but I am not a fan of them.

Pros - location, cleanliness, beds, full-services of a chain hotel

Cons - crowds, slow elevators, bars service was slow at times and did not open until 11:30 on Monday

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruze-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This hotel is your typical 4 star in a great location in the French quarter.

The hotel is very large and has many rooms. The lobby is large and often bustling with people. Quick check in and up to the room. To take the elevator you type in your floor level and it tells you a specific elevator to take.

The rooms are clean and what you'd expect. No surprises, very comfortable. Desk, flat screen tv, nice bathrooms.

Views can be very nice depending on floor level and location. The hotel is located in a great area on canal street in the French quarter. Easy access to everything.

The only issue we had was on one night the parking situation was a disaster. They had run out of spots in there garage so we had to park farther away, in a public lot. I believe a big college game was going on that day at the superdome, which we did not know about in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great location right on canal st. Within walking distance of Harrahs Casino. Nice lobby bar and very cool elevators!!! You will see what I mean when you stay there. Starbucks in lobby was great addition. The rooms were small, bathrooms outdated and there was no safe in the room which was a pain. All in all good quality however probably wouldn't stay there again considering there are so many other options.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klg122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott on Canal after a rather terrifying stay at the Holiday Inn in the Quarter. This hotel is so much better - thank God. The facility is very nice - warm receptive lobby with a great staff on hard. Concierge level serves better food than some restaurants I have eated at in lesser locations! This is now "home base" in NOLA for me...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecseps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Nice hotel, nice rooms, great atmosphere in the lobby. We were staying at the < Marriott during the BCS Championship weekend. While the place was over-run all weekend long, everyone did a good job. Only complaint would be the air conditioning never got cold enough - not really dinging them for that since we didn't request maintenance.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 6th floor have a view of the pool area which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanningTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#69 of 166 in New Orleans
2,423 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,387 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,541 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $120 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing