We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful slow elevators.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #73 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“awful slow elevators.......”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here over NYE's with the Sugar Bowl teams in town, and shared the hotel with Michigan. Wouldn't do that again if I had any advance knowledge of both the team and band staying here. The lobby was frequently over-crowded with luggage stacked everywhere and people milling around waiting for the band to decide where the members should move, en masse. This caused an unbelievable wait for the elevators.....actually waited 4 minutes or more several times for the 'appointed elevator' to arrive.

Check out was almost as much of a nightmare.....luckily a senior customer service representative (in the red blazers) came and began to organize the mess in the lobby. She ended up just accepting the keys and I guess we are (by now) checked out.... a week later??

The property is fine with a great location. The biggest issue was probably the Michigan crowd more than 500 college students there for the game.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonestarGumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    1,374
    699
    227
    109
See reviews for
475
833
125
1,209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I had a very enjoyable, and comfortable stay in this hotel. It was very clean, and everything that I wanted or needed while there was available to me. It is in a perfect location, as Harrah's, Bourbon Street, The French Quarter and other attractions are in close walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in New Orleans.

Room Tip: You can request a River View room for an addition $20.00 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nupekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to everything. We walked to a Saints game- which was much easier than taking a cab. The rooms are a little small and outdated, but you don't spend much time in your room. We had a great view of the river. Make sure you ask for a room on a higher level and away from the elevators. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Marriott was a terrific location for New Year's Eve in New Orleans. The front desk was very helpful in filling our request for a room with a view of the fireworks on the river - we really enjoyed the show with fireworks exploding at eye level! It's also in the French Quarter, so it's just a short walk to restaurants and all the Bourbon Street craziness.

The rooms are a little dated, but clean and acceptable for the price. The only major drawback is the lack of an in-room safe. They do provide safety deposit boxes at the front desk, but in a hotel this large it's often difficult to get to the front desk and find an available person to help access the boxes - and you definitely don't want to be carrying valuables around the French Quarter on New Year's Eve. As previous reviewers said, the elevators are very unusual, but I grew to like them as they don't make it easy for others to determine your floor - seems like a good security feature. We were there for the Sugar Bowl as well as New Year's and the hotel did a great job of handling crowds at a very busy time.

We stayed at this Marriott many years ago and enjoyed it on this stay as much as we did then.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The New Orleans Marriott is one of many Marriott hotels in the area and was our top pick because of the location and value offered during the week between Christmas and New Year's. We are Platinum Elite with Marriott and had a room on the Concierge Level (floor 21) with a City View. The room was clean and typical, with a king bed, as found in most of their hotels.

Considering the Sugar Bowl was coming up and the Michigan team was also staying there, they service was still prompt and courteous even with the large volume of guests and pending festivities. The lobby bar area was converted into a sports lounge with a projection screen, Sugar Bowl merchandise and had special events going on all week. We aren't football fans, so we skipped it, but it was a nice bonus to all the fans who were there.

The only thing that was really disappointing was the Concierge Lounge, which was completely oversold. (You have to book a Concierge Room, or have Gold or Platinum status with Marriott to have access.) At this hotel the Concierge Lounge has a capacity for 49 people (one of the smallest we have seen in a Marriott) and when we went in, there were far more than that, no seating and a line out the door. The food was good but many of the other guests accessing it were rude and complete slobs. People were taking more than they could possibly eat, then wasting it, even though there were many people still waiting in line. This made the line even longer because they were running out of food too quickly. The staff were busily restocking and cleaning non-stop, but were fighting a losing battle. We didn't see anyone else leave tips at all. Just because you have access to this level, doesn't give people a free pass to be rude cheapskates.

As far as location, it's perfect. A few steps from Royal Street, a few blocks to Bourbon Street, a short walk to the Aquarium, Jackson Square, the Garden District and easy access to both the Canal Street and St. Charles streetcar lines. It may be a bit loud if you have lower room at night, but the upper levels are very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selinajoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton, ms
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife, child, and I stayed there in November. Everything was great-except for a problem that caused me to write a letter. The management not only responded with a wonderful letter, but a certificate for a complimentary night. The management is first-rate, and I'm sure that 99.9% of all people who stay here have absolutely no complaints. I'm looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Went to NOLA on a whim and did the Priceline 'Name your own price' deal. We ended up getting the room for $75. I'm going back again in a couple weeks and did the deal again and ended up getting the room for $70 per night!! You cannot beat that, especially for the quality of the hotel and the location. If you haven't done the name your own price feature before though, just know that you do not get to pick your hotel. I chose 4 star and French Quarter, and this is the hotel I got both times. Anyway, the location is awesome. Being so close to the FQ and on Canal St. is pretty prime, but if you're driving know that street parking is very hard to come by and parking at the hotel (valet only) is somewhere between $25-$30 per night. The hotel is huge and so is the lobby. The lobby was pretty nice and the service was pretty quick. Our hotel room was nice too. Small, but perfect for what we needed. Bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themegn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing