We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamothe House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marigny Guest House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Frenchmen Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel de la Monnaie(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Royal(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Chateau Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveler rating
688
327
92
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
688
327
92
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman streetthe main housegreat locationfrench quarterseparate buildinggated parkingcarriage househardwood floorsno elevatorpool and hot tubking suitegreat musicmodern amenitiesnice poolwalking distancefront porchhigh ceilings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our King suite was in a separate building on a side street behind the main Lamothe House. Upon arrival, we were greeted by champagne, balloons and cupcakes, all of which had been thoughtfully arranged by the concierge DeAun to surprise my lover for his birthday. The front desk receptionist Rene was kind enough to lend us his personal knife and corkscrew so we could indulge in wine and cheese on our charming front porch. We spent three fantastic days exploring the Marigny, shopping and eating at some of the local's favorites, thanks to the suggestions of Jonathan at the front desk. Our nights were spent hopping from venue to venue on Frenchman Street, which was literally around the corner. We crawled home each night and fell into our giant bed, replete with soft sheets and pillows, and slept soundly in the dark silence of our room. Spent our mornings luxuriating in the pool and hot tub; the perfect antidote to a night out in NOLA. And our afternoons regrouping in the gorgeous front room, with it's high ceilings, charming fireplace and tasteful decor. The perfect combination of romance and rock and roll!

Room Tip: Ask for 408
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxury_vagabonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are so happy to read of how much you enjoyed your three nights stay at the Lamothe House in our Marigny Annex! It sounds like our close proximity to Frenchmen Street, relaxing pool and courtyard as well as the comfortable and quiet guest rooms were exactly what you were hoping for while staying in NOLA. We are pleased that Jonathan and Rene' were able to be so helpful during your stay and find that most of our guests enjoy their local suggestions and friendly vibe. Thank you for sharing your kind remarks with us and we hope to have you back again upon your return to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had booked a room at the Inn on Ursulines, but when we went there to check in, the front desk manager suggested that we switch to the Lamothe House, and said he could put us in a room right by the parking lot. After he showed us the steep staircase to get up to the room we were assigned at Ursulines, we took him up on his offer to move.

I do want to mention that a concierge from the Inn on Ursulines called us the day before we checked in, noting that we had kids listed on our reservation. She provided in the room a personalized letter from Santa Claus with a candy cane to each of our kids. Cute surprise! Not sure if they also do that at the Lamothe House.

We were in one of the rooms directly off the gated parking lot, not in the main building. Could hear jazz at night, which was really nice, but during the day, things were quiet as can be. The room was spacious, with lots of open floor space. The decor was more modern than what appears to be in the main hotel. We kind of wish there was a desk/table and a chair in the room (the beds are high, so it's tough to put on shoes before leaving), but there's honestly really not anywhere to put them. For a 100+ year old building, it's well-kept and in great condition. Loved the in-room Keurig and bottled water. The linens were on the softer side and there was great water pressure and temperature.

The parking lot is gated and accessed with a remote control. We were there during a slow period, so there were always plenty of parking spaces to choose from. Best of all, the parking was free. Pulling out of the lot, the hitch on the back of our van would scrape the ground, but there's not much that can be done about the roads in New Orleans, and that's not the hotel's fault. Just be aware, if you have anything on a hitch or a lower vehicle, that the back might hit the ground when pulling out of the lot.

The French Market is a few blocks away, and the French Quarter is as well. Truth be told, the Inn at Ursulines would have been more convenient, because we were walking with little kids, but the Lamothe House was only slightly further away from the places we visited in the Quarter and we got some extra exercise in.

Every staff member we encountered was cheerful and helpful.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtcourt257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in December at the Lamothe House. It sounds like our manager was able to place you at the Lamothe House, as opposed to the Inn on Ursulines where you originally booked, to provide you with a larger guestroom to accommodate you and your children as well as provide you with closer proximity to our parking lot. It also appears as though you were able to take advantage of our limited "Free Parking" special offer on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you not only found your time at the Lamothe House to be so great, but will be returning upon your next visit to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

First time to stay in marigny. Love the laid back atmosphere, very little traffic, convenient parking. Room was spacious and clean.

It's a short walk to the best local music on Frenchman Street and the French Quarter is right across the street.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for your kind feedback. It sounds like our close proximity to Frenchmen Street, clean and spacious guestroom and convenient parking lot were exactly what you were looking for. We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

caught a mouse in our room, no hot water 3 mornings, dirty bathroom, noisy garbage pick up at 5:30 am and 7:30 am, pool not cleaned for 3 days.
staff: jonathan at front desk was good, housekeepers were friendly.
location was good for french quarter and frenchmen street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvojvo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We are extremely disappointed to read of your experience at the Lamothe House recently. We have searched our front desk, housekeeping and maintenance records and were unable to find any complaints regarding hot water issues, a dirty bathroom or a mouse for any stays in November. We truly wish we would have been able to address these issues while you were staying with us so that we could have either relocated you to a different room or compensated you for your troubles. We would love to speak with you to further investigate the issues you encountered and would also love the opportunity to make it up to you with a future stay on us. Please reach out to us at your convenience. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 406 which is one of the outbuildings. The room is actually a suite with a separate area with its own TV and sofa with coffee machine. The bedroom also has TV and King bed. Good sized bathroom and powerful shower. Parking at $20 per day is next to the rooms and Frenchmens St is less than a minute away. An excellent choice if staying in NOLA

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you found your guestroom to be so comfortable as well as the hotel to be so conveniently located near Frenchmen Street. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews