We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, great location and excellent service”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel off and of for business in New Orleans over the past 3 years and absolutely love it. Its located in The Quarter, so you can walk around with ease and safety, and it's one of the few places with a secure parking lot. I am always treated very well, and the hotel has excellent charm. There is a tremendous amount of history in this place, yet the rooms have been recently renovated to provide modern conveniences. I have never had any reason to consider another place while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stays over the last 3 years at the Lamothe House. We consider our repeat guests to be like family and love to see them return time and time again! We thank you again for your continual support of our hotel and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    293
    86
    32
    12
See reviews for
202
488
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved the hotel. The proximity to Frenchmen St. and the French Quarter can't be beat! The pool is beautiful and our room had a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. I deducted one star because the housekeeping was a little lax. We had one day where we were missed for service entirely and one where we got no washcloths or hand towels even though all of the old ones were removed. Overall though I was pleased will definitely return!

Room Tip: Note that there are stairs only so if you can't or don't want to carry luggage up steps requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear you not only appreciated our prime location, but also enjoyed your guestroom during your week-long stay at the Lamothe House! We are disappointed to hear that your stay-over service was overlooked by our housekeepers one day and are working with our housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't happen again for future guests! We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I chose this place because of the bedding option. I found it under New Orleans Guest Houses. We were taking two grandkids to New Orleans for one night. The girl and boy, 16 and 12, respectfully, each needed a bed. The carriage house room (216) at Lamothe House was perfect for our situation. It has two bedrooms, one bath and a living room. One bedroom is furnished with a king-size bed and the other has two queen beds. For more people, there is also a sofa bed. Each room has a flat-screen TV. The two queens bedroom had a door with a balcony overlooking Kerlerec Street. The main house is furnished with antiques including beautiful old mirrors in the foyer. The hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter and an easy walk to all of the fun. Because of our short stay, we didn't take advantage of the charming courtyard and pool area. It looked very clean and well-kept. We felt safe on the walk back to the hotel after 10 p.m. We were very comfortable here and will definitely consider it again for future trips. We always look for a place that has the New Orleans "feel" to it. This one fit the bill. We can stay in a Holiday Inn anywhere.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk up stairs to check in. There are different room options, we were in a two-bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luluphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Lamothe House for 3 days during our visit to New Orleans and were very happy with our choice. I loved the history and the Deep South feel. Our room was updated and modern and had all the comforts. The location was perfect in regards to being able to walk to the French Quarter and Jackson Square. There was a nice pool and the indoor courtyard was charming.

They don't make "Do not disturb" signs available, they just wake you up now. If you are not there, they just come in.

I do not like this.

I will stay again, but I will ask for a "Do not disturb" sign.

Lamothe is always quiet and peaceful,the location is only minutes to The French Quarter and seconds from Frenchman Street which sports an outstanding variety of music and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms across the street behind the main building are larger and quieter. They are closer to the priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Lamothe House and that your time in New Orleans was a "blast!" Thanks to your candid feedback, we have taken the opportunity to ensure all guestrooms have a DND sign available for use. We apologize for the inconvenience not having one at the time of your stay may have caused. We look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

These people charged over 1600 dollars to my credit card, even though I paid through Expedia 2 month ago. I called, they never call back and when I did get a hold of someone, they denied making charges. I had 5 ! charges for over 320 bucks! They didn't tell me that they charge for parking now, that charge just showed up on my card.
My credit company said they tried to make 4 much higher charges, which got denied.
I stayed at this place multiple times, but it ceased to be a good deal. They charge 20 dollars parking per night, used to be free. They have apples, oranges, coffee and teabags now, where they used to give you continental breakfast.
They don't make "Do not disturb" signs available, they just wake you up now. If you are not there, they just come in.
Beds are comfortable, but there are no microwaves or mini fridges in most of the rooms I stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justme36330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are extremely disappointed to hear of the complications with your credit card during your stay with us. While mistakes occasionally happen, we are evaluating and revising all of our internal systems for authorizing credit and debit cards to ensure that we eliminate this issue for future guests. Also, as you mentioned the cost of parking, our parking rate is competitive or below other French Quarter properties and we regret that because we charge for parking in our secured lot we have chanced losing the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. We truly value our repeat guests, especially those that have stayed with us prior to the complete renovation of the property as we know those guests will certainly appreciate the major improvements made to our product quality and amenities.

Again, we truly apologize for any inconvenience your experienced during your stay and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lamothe House for 3 days during our visit to New Orleans and were very happy with our choice. I loved the history and the Deep South feel. Our room was updated and modern and had all the comforts. The location was perfect in regards to being able to walk to the French Quarter and Jackson Square. There was a nice pool and the indoor courtyard was charming. The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating was because there was no elevator so your bags had to be carried upstairs. However, knowing this in advance, you could request a room on the first floor. I would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning to the Lamothe House upon your next visit to Nola! As we are a historic property, you are correct in noting that we do not have an elevator. However, our staff are more than happy to help with your bags should you require any assistance. We are sorry that wasn't offered to you at the time of your check-in. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne Al
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have been visiting New Orleans for over twenty years and at first stayed in a variety of hotels. Once I found Lamothe House, I have never stayed anywhere else. The elegant decor creates an ambience which is ideal for a a visit to The Big Easy. The magnificent hallway leads to a charming courtyard with an inviting pool especially when the day is hot.The entire building has recently been renovated with rooms now having wood floors, new beds, and linens which adds to the high quality of the premises.
Although Lamothe is always quiet and peaceful,the location is only minutes to The French Quarter and seconds from Frenchman Street which sports an outstanding variety of music and restaurants.
No hotel is complete without the staff and at Lamothe House each member there goes above and beyond the call of duty to ensure guests' needs are catered to from giving directions to suggestions on places to eat and visit.
All of this makes a return visit an easy decision. For me, it has been my home away from home for twenty years and will remain so for the future.

Room Tip: No room will disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at the Lamothe House with us and others on TripAdvisor! Your continued patronage of our property is the highest compliment! We aim to turn first time visitors into every time visitors both in our approach to service and the quality of our product. Thanks for being an advocate for our French Quarter Guest Houses brand! We look forward to continuing to meet and exceed your expectations in the future and can’t wait to have you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#40 of 165 in New Orleans
434 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 165 in New Orleans
939 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 165 in New Orleans
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 165 in New Orleans
2,592 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#39 of 165 in New Orleans
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Property: Lamothe House Hotel
Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing