We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location-great price”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect quiet location one minute walk to all the clubs on Frenchman St. Such a nice cozy historic place to stay with great prices compared to other comparable hotels. Newly renovated rooms are perfect for travelers who want solid accommodations but don't need a ton of fancy amenities like restaurant, bell hop, valet, etc. Rene is a true gentleman and made many excellent recommendations on entertainment and food - he made my stay very comfortable. Pool looked really inviting but forgot my bathing suit. Extremely quiet area on Esplanade which was like a little oasis in the craziness of New Orleans. Will definitely stay here when I return.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvsisor! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to the Lamothe House Hotel upon your next visit to New Orleans!

As you mentioned our great location, this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! The Lamothe House Hotel is located right on the cusp of the French Quarter off of Esplanade which puts our guest within walking distance of Bourbon Street or Frenchmen Street where all the locals go to play!

You also noted our newly renovated rooms, as the Lamothe House Hotel just completed renovations in January. All of our guestrooms have been restored back to their original beauty while being upgraded to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect. From our granite countertops and showers, to our Serta Sleeper mattresses and top notch furnishings, our guests are extremely pleased with the final product from the renovations!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    293
    86
    32
    12
See reviews for
202
488
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel hoping to be conveniently close to Frenchman, Decatur and Bourbon street while still being a little removed from the noise. First morning here we were woken up by a squealing housekeeper in the courtyard gossiping about something. Her friend kept trying to hush her but instead we proceeded to hear the whole conversation right outside our door for 15 minutes.

This is not the worst they did. Upon arriving at the hotel I found the bathroom was spotty with a dead mosquito and hair in the shower. Our second morning I go for a shower around 8am and realize the washclothes were not replaced. When I called the front desk they said housekeeping wasn't in yet. Conveniently the day I wake up at 8am on my own the housekeeping is no where in sight. Everytime we came back after housekeeping I was disappointed. We stayed 3 nights and not once did they wipe down the bathroom counter or sufficiently clean the shower. At least after day 1 I knew any hair left was from us.

Front desk was super nice, but overall my experience was disappointing. I feel like I paid too much for sub par service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Trvlr313
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not all that you had hoped it would be.

As our Housekeeping staff comes in at 9am each morning, we do our best to ensure they take our sleeping guests into consideration and watch the tone of their voice in the common areas. We appreciate your candid feedback and have taken the opportunity to address the situation. In regards to the cleanliness of your bathroom, as you can see from previous testimonials on TripAdvisor, the Lamothe House takes much pride in the cleaning practices of our guestrooms as well as the common areas. We are extremely disappointed to hear that everything was not up to par with your housekeeping services.

As you mentioned our nice front desk, our agents are there to do everything in their power to ensure your stay with us is everything you hoped it to be. They would have truly done their best to rectify the situation had they had the opportunity.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback and have alerted our staff about your concerns during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came to Mardi Gras last year and had such a great time that we decided to go to New Orleans again this year for Mardi Gras. We stayed at the Lamothe House last year and had a great stay. This year was even better. We brought 2 friends with us this year and they were pleased as well...Rm 107. It was great to see Shywanda, Rhondalyn, and Todd still working there from last year. They are all so nice. John the maintenance man helped us out when we needed help and is extremely nice as well. We met Roxie and Carstil this year and they were so nice too. They were very helpful when we needed them to be. And then there is DeAun...she is the best. It was great seeing her smiling face again this year. She was so helpful last year and ESPECIALLY this year. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered the hotel and saw electronic locks on the front door. Last year there were metal keys. Todd told us at check in that the whole hotel had been remodeled. The rooms are absolutely beautiful. They have all new furniture and new mattresses. We slept so good each night and were there for a week. The only thing that was a little different was that there was a breakfast last year and only coffee service this year. Not that we needed a great big breakfast. It was just nice to sit with other guest over coffee and a small breakfast and not having to find a restaurant for a breakfast each day. We are looking forward to staying there next year. Thank you all for such a great experience...Scott--Rm114.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajuntxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay last year for Mardi Gras and decided to return for this years festivities!

As you noted all of our friendly and helpful staff, by name no less, we are thrilled that you were able to return to familiar faces who ensured your stay was nothing short of spectacular!

You also mentioned all of our upgrades, as the Lamothe House Hotel was purchased last year by the French Quarter Guest Houses and completely renovated and refurbished back to it's original beauty! Our upgraded amenities, such as the electronic locks mentioned, provide you with everything you would expect from a larger chain hotel! From our flat-panel tvs and Serta Sleeper mattresses, to our granite coutnertops and showers, our guest rooms are sure to leave little to be desired.

We look forward to having you back again next year! Thank you again for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights jan 6-9. When we first checked in there was a problem with my debit I was double charged an extra 202.00.I have to say the staff worked hard to resolve the issue it took 24 hours bit the money was put back into my account.I guess they charge for parking but I showed the lady it said free parking online and she honored it. The main building is under repair so we stayed in 411 in the back. It was nice just no fridge but it was cold so we put our stuff outside and it kept it cool.overall it was a great location and great place. We look forward to comming back ESP staying in the main house.rich and Heidi from Florida .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fargas2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry that there was a mix up with your card being double authorized but are happy to hear that our devoted staff was able to resolve everything in a timely manner.

You also mentioned your room was located in our Marigny Annex located just behind the main property. The Marigny Annex is located directly of Kerlerec street which comes alive in the evenings and on the weekends with locals. It leads directly to Frenchmen Street where many of New Orleans most famous jazz clubs are located, such as Snug Harbor and Blue Nile!

Our Marigny Annex as well as our Carriage House have recently undergone renovations and the finished product is nothing short of exceptional! From the restored hardwood floors, to the top of the line hotel linens and Serta Sleeper mattresses, we did not skip a beat in ensuring that our guestrooms would be able to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel. However, we have made sure to maintain the original charm of the historic Lamothe House Hotel throughout this process.

We expect our main house to be completed this month and would love to have you back to stay with us again in one of our Antique Suites!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I chose the Lamothe House because of the value and the location. The Market to our left and Bourbon to our right, it was a win win situation. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful whenever we had any questions. And we had lots of questions, from where to eat dinner to fun and wonderful things to do off the beaten path. We stayed during the tomato and zydeco festivals. The rooms were clean and tidy and wonderful given the age of the hotel. The morning breakfast was exactly what we needed to start our day, because brunch of course had to be spent at Cafe DuMonde. We changed rooms during our stay because, well the House it be haunted. Our first night we were exhausted and were quite relaxes after hurricanes at Pat O'Brians... we went to bed in total darkness and about 3 AM I woke up to every single light in our room being on, even the porch light! After shaking my husband awake asking him why ALL the lights were on, he decided it was awesome and I decided that we were going to have a new room. I explained to the front desk why I wanted a new room and they didn't even bat an eye but were really excited that we had ourselves a ghostly experience.

We have made plans to return and I will in fact be staying at the Lamothe House again. When I asked my husband if he would ever stay here again he said Absolutely! And that he had a wonderful time here and loved the staff. Thank you LaMothe House for making our trip amazing and offering such a wonderful value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the summer and are excited that you are returning to stay with us again!

Your "ghostly encounter" is not the first that we have heard of and are thrilled that you want to come back for more! We hope that your next stay will be just as thrilling!

Our top notch staff is ready to update you on all the hot spots and to-do's during your stay, so please take advantage of their local knowledge again while you are staying with us this time around!

We are excited to inform you that since your stay with us, The Lamothe House Hotel has been added to the French Quarter Guest Houses group of hotels and has undergone renovations. The guestrooms have been restored to their original beauty and the furnishings have all been upgraded to ensure our guests have all the comforts they could want during their stay with us! From our Serta hotel grade mattresses to granite counter tops and showers, we are sure you will be as pleased as everyone else has been with all of our upgrades!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The bad (followed by the good):
-Checked into Lamothe House on Esplanade Ave. December 27th 2012.
-Renovations are still ongoing. Please consider this hotel only if you're assured they've been completed.
-The entry way was covered in visqueen and a stack of raw flooring.
-The quaint antiques (shown in some photos) and which many B&B guests seek will only be
offered in a few rooms.
-There were more construction workers and painters visible during my stay than guests.
-Peaked into many rooms under renovation, and most were barely big enough to squeeze in the bed.
-Testing the smoke alarms blared throughout the hotel over a half dozen times before I left.
-The hotel's brochure describes free parking and complimentary continental breakfast.
-Parking is $20.00. (Two hour restricted street parking is free overnight).
--There is no breakfast offered, so consider this a hotel not a B&B.
- My 3 star ranking reflects my "pardon our dust" experience - under which the hotel should not have accepted
reservations or reviews.

The good:
-The hotel is ideally located just a block from the music clubs on Frenchmen Street.
-The room I booked hadn't been serviced and I was upgraded to a king.
-Almost all of the rooms have been remolded with quality contemporary furniture, fixtures and baths.
-The pool is cleaner than described in other reviews.
-Happily, they retained and refinished the hardwood floors.
- Once renovations are completed this will be a quality property (although with mostly smaller rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are tiny. Larger rooms are available across the street in another home behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elliott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input regarding your stay.

As the Lamothe House Hotel Main House is currently under renovation, we have not been placing our guests near the construction, and instead have been placing them in our Carriage House or Marigny Guest House guest rooms. These two buildings have already completed renovations and our guests have been extremely pleased with the finished product! We have been very open and direct with all guests booking within the renovations window, and have in no way planned to have these renovations completed by the beginning of January. We have left our Antique Suites in the Main House last among the renovation schedule, as we wanted to make sure we placed special emphasis on restoring these rooms back to their original state.

As you mentioned that there were more construction workers than guests at the property, we have been giving our guests the option to stay at any of our other three French Quarter Guest Houses properties where the renovations have already been completed.

You also noted the small size of some of our rooms. As we are a historic property, all of the guestrooms differ in size and the furniture has been hand picked to accommodate each room size. We have every confidence that each room, when completed, will not feel tight on space due to the furniture. The picture you posted in your review was of an incomplete room that had not been staged yet furniture wise.

Lastly, thank you for noting our attention to the beautiful original hard wood floors that we have spent much time restoring. We are making every effort to restore the Lamothe House Hotel back to it's original beauty!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope you are able to return to the Lamothe House Hotel once our renovations are complete to see the great finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have to more than agree with some of the recent reviewers about the excellent quality of the stay. The property is undergoing some renovation so I had the opportunity to stay in one of the suites in the Guest House property behind the hotel. (I would gladly stay in one of the singles when the renovations are finished as these look like they will make fine accommodations). The suite was exquisite in terms of amenities: extremely comfortable bed, great shower (there was even a jacuzzi!), in-room temperature control, and access to wifi. Honestly, when you go to New Orleans you hope that the room will only be for crashing - there is just way too much to see and do. This property in particular is situated perfectly close to Frenchmen Street which is where a great deal of good music is to be had. Honestly, I feel in love with NOLA with my visit here and I have the good people at the Lamothe to thank in part for their hospitality and for their accommodations. I heartily recommend.

Room Tip: I only know what my experience in the suites in the Guest House were like. I would gladly stay on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Marigny Guest House which is part of the Lamothe House Hotel property.

As you mentioned our fine amenities, we are so pleased that you appreciated all the upgrades we have made to the property! We have put in top of the line Serta mattresses, granite shower and counter tops, brand new AC units as well as quality linens and furnishings.

You also noted our great location as we are just steps away from the up and coming Frenchmen Street! Frenchmen Street is home to some of New Orleans most famous jazz clubs such as Snug Harbor and Blue Nile.

Lastly, our main house is on the tail end of renovations and will be just as phenomenal as our Marigny Guest House. Our pool has recently been refinished and our courtyard is filled with plush gorgeous flowers and plants. Our private parking lot has been paved, has 24 hour surveillance and has an electronic gate as well now.

Again, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at The Lamothe House Hotel and look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest House properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#40 of 165 in New Orleans
434 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 165 in New Orleans
938 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 165 in New Orleans
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 165 in New Orleans
2,592 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#39 of 165 in New Orleans
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Property: Lamothe House Hotel
Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing