We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Summer Time in New Orleans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamothe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Austin TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summer Time in New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I chose the Lamothe House because of the value and the location. The Market to our left and Bourbon to our right, it was a win win situation. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful whenever we had any questions. And we had lots of questions, from where to eat dinner to fun and wonderful things to do off the beaten path. We stayed during the tomato and zydeco festivals. The rooms were clean and tidy and wonderful given the age of the hotel. The morning breakfast was exactly what we needed to start our day, because brunch of course had to be spent at Cafe DuMonde. We changed rooms during our stay because, well the House it be haunted. Our first night we were exhausted and were quite relaxes after hurricanes at Pat O'Brians... we went to bed in total darkness and about 3 AM I woke up to every single light in our room being on, even the porch light! After shaking my husband awake asking him why ALL the lights were on, he decided it was awesome and I decided that we were going to have a new room. I explained to the front desk why I wanted a new room and they didn't even bat an eye but were really excited that we had ourselves a ghostly experience.

We have made plans to return and I will in fact be staying at the Lamothe House again. When I asked my husband if he would ever stay here again he said Absolutely! And that he had a wonderful time here and loved the staff. Thank you LaMothe House for making our trip amazing and offering such a wonderful value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the summer and are excited that you are returning to stay with us again!

Your "ghostly encounter" is not the first that we have heard of and are thrilled that you want to come back for more! We hope that your next stay will be just as thrilling!

Our top notch staff is ready to update you on all the hot spots and to-do's during your stay, so please take advantage of their local knowledge again while you are staying with us this time around!

We are excited to inform you that since your stay with us, The Lamothe House Hotel has been added to the French Quarter Guest Houses group of hotels and has undergone renovations. The guestrooms have been restored to their original beauty and the furnishings have all been upgraded to ensure our guests have all the comforts they could want during their stay with us! From our Serta hotel grade mattresses to granite counter tops and showers, we are sure you will be as pleased as everyone else has been with all of our upgrades!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    254
    76
    26
    12
See reviews for
168
414
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The bad (followed by the good):
-Checked into Lamothe House on Esplanade Ave. December 27th 2012.
-Renovations are still ongoing. Please consider this hotel only if you're assured they've been completed.
-The entry way was covered in visqueen and a stack of raw flooring.
-The quaint antiques (shown in some photos) and which many B&B guests seek will only be
offered in a few rooms.
-There were more construction workers and painters visible during my stay than guests.
-Peaked into many rooms under renovation, and most were barely big enough to squeeze in the bed.
-Testing the smoke alarms blared throughout the hotel over a half dozen times before I left.
-The hotel's brochure describes free parking and complimentary continental breakfast.
-Parking is $20.00. (Two hour restricted street parking is free overnight).
--There is no breakfast offered, so consider this a hotel not a B&B.
- My 3 star ranking reflects my "pardon our dust" experience - under which the hotel should not have accepted
reservations or reviews.

The good:
-The hotel is ideally located just a block from the music clubs on Frenchmen Street.
-The room I booked hadn't been serviced and I was upgraded to a king.
-Almost all of the rooms have been remolded with quality contemporary furniture, fixtures and baths.
-The pool is cleaner than described in other reviews.
-Happily, they retained and refinished the hardwood floors.
- Once renovations are completed this will be a quality property (although with mostly smaller rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are tiny. Larger rooms are available across the street in another home behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elliott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House Hotel with us and others on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input regarding your stay.

As the Lamothe House Hotel Main House is currently under renovation, we have not been placing our guests near the construction, and instead have been placing them in our Carriage House or Marigny Guest House guest rooms. These two buildings have already completed renovations and our guests have been extremely pleased with the finished product! We have been very open and direct with all guests booking within the renovations window, and have in no way planned to have these renovations completed by the beginning of January. We have left our Antique Suites in the Main House last among the renovation schedule, as we wanted to make sure we placed special emphasis on restoring these rooms back to their original state.

As you mentioned that there were more construction workers than guests at the property, we have been giving our guests the option to stay at any of our other three French Quarter Guest Houses properties where the renovations have already been completed.

You also noted the small size of some of our rooms. As we are a historic property, all of the guestrooms differ in size and the furniture has been hand picked to accommodate each room size. We have every confidence that each room, when completed, will not feel tight on space due to the furniture. The picture you posted in your review was of an incomplete room that had not been staged yet furniture wise.

Lastly, thank you for noting our attention to the beautiful original hard wood floors that we have spent much time restoring. We are making every effort to restore the Lamothe House Hotel back to it's original beauty!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope you are able to return to the Lamothe House Hotel once our renovations are complete to see the great finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have to more than agree with some of the recent reviewers about the excellent quality of the stay. The property is undergoing some renovation so I had the opportunity to stay in one of the suites in the Guest House property behind the hotel. (I would gladly stay in one of the singles when the renovations are finished as these look like they will make fine accommodations). The suite was exquisite in terms of amenities: extremely comfortable bed, great shower (there was even a jacuzzi!), in-room temperature control, and access to wifi. Honestly, when you go to New Orleans you hope that the room will only be for crashing - there is just way too much to see and do. This property in particular is situated perfectly close to Frenchmen Street which is where a great deal of good music is to be had. Honestly, I feel in love with NOLA with my visit here and I have the good people at the Lamothe to thank in part for their hospitality and for their accommodations. I heartily recommend.

Room Tip: I only know what my experience in the suites in the Guest House were like. I would gladly stay on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House Hotel with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Marigny Guest House which is part of the Lamothe House Hotel property.

As you mentioned our fine amenities, we are so pleased that you appreciated all the upgrades we have made to the property! We have put in top of the line Serta mattresses, granite shower and counter tops, brand new AC units as well as quality linens and furnishings.

You also noted our great location as we are just steps away from the up and coming Frenchmen Street! Frenchmen Street is home to some of New Orleans most famous jazz clubs such as Snug Harbor and Blue Nile.

Lastly, our main house is on the tail end of renovations and will be just as phenomenal as our Marigny Guest House. Our pool has recently been refinished and our courtyard is filled with plush gorgeous flowers and plants. Our private parking lot has been paved, has 24 hour surveillance and has an electronic gate as well now.

Again, we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at The Lamothe House Hotel and look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest House properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a great time staying in one of the guest houses. The rooms are charming and have been upgraded with awesome, new furnishings. Things to remember: the buildings are over 100 years old, so don't expect 'new hotel'. What you should expect is old-style French Quarter surroundings with hardwood floors, beautiful new beds, original walls, doors and windows, and some of the best surroundings in the area. What I particularly liked was the proximity to Bourbon St., but located far enough away so you the night life didn't keep you up. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Try the guest houses until the main house is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, al
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place has been recently renovated and is amazing. From the spectacular guest rooms to the ideal location, this is where you want to stay. The staff feels like family (only they treat you better) They are warm, inviting and are quick to recommend some of the areas little known hot spots. Forget being in the big hotels or even the brand named ones. They all lack the charm and authenticity of this guest house and the cost is even less. Frenchman street is where the locals hang out for truly great live music on every corner and the food is awesome.

So when you get tired of Bourbon street and the shots, drunks and stench, check out this awesome off the path but not too far off the path experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grooverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a newly renovated king room in the guest house. The room was charming - high celings, hardwood floors and plenty of space. The location was wonderful - only a short walk away from the French Quarter. Each room had outside access, and there were benches along the path where you could sit down and enjoy some fresh air. Across the street was the Lamonthe house, and there is a lovely courtyard with a heated pool and places to sit and talk. The main hotel is going through renovations as well, and we were able to peek in at some of the newly renovated rooms. Can't wait to stay there again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our trip started off shaky with our reservation at The Frenchmen being booked incorrectly. The amazing Miss Deone (who works at The Lamothe and Frenchmen)went into action. She checked for rooms at the LaMothe then arranged a room for us there. After a quick tour of the house we chose to stay at the newly renovated back house. The room was very spacious with new tile and fixtures throughout. The buildings are a work in progress which is one of the two reasons I am not giving the LaMothe a 5, the other is that the walls are pretty thin and I was serenaded by our snoring neighbor nightly. The location is perfect, close enough to the quarter on beautiful Esplanade. There is great food at the Praline connection and great music along Frenchmen. Once again I have to emphasize the amazing service, especially by Deone! When the renovations are complete it will be great and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House with us as well as other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate your last minute reservation and ensure that your time in New Orleans was nothing short of exceptional! We pride ourselves on our phenomenal customer service and are happy to hear that your experience with DeAun was so great.

As we have just completed renovations on our Marigny Annex, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our upgraded amenities. We anticipate having the entire property completed by the beginning of 2013.

You also mentioned our great location, which is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Whether you wish to be in the middle of the French Quarter where all the action is, or off of the gorgeous tree lined Esplanade Avenue, one of our properties is sure to provide you with your ideal stay in New Orleans!

We hope you think of us next time you visit New Orleans, as we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#32 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Property: Lamothe House Hotel
Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing