We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamothe House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a newly renovated king room in the guest house. The room was charming - high celings, hardwood floors and plenty of space. The location was wonderful - only a short walk away from the French Quarter. Each room had outside access, and there were benches along the path where you could sit down and enjoy some fresh air. Across the street was the Lamonthe house, and there is a lovely courtyard with a heated pool and places to sit and talk. The main hotel is going through renovations as well, and we were able to peek in at some of the newly renovated rooms. Can't wait to stay there again!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our trip started off shaky with our reservation at The Frenchmen being booked incorrectly. The amazing Miss Deone (who works at The Lamothe and Frenchmen)went into action. She checked for rooms at the LaMothe then arranged a room for us there. After a quick tour of the house we chose to stay at the newly renovated back house. The room was very spacious with new tile and fixtures throughout. The buildings are a work in progress which is one of the two reasons I am not giving the LaMothe a 5, the other is that the walls are pretty thin and I was serenaded by our snoring neighbor nightly. The location is perfect, close enough to the quarter on beautiful Esplanade. There is great food at the Praline connection and great music along Frenchmen. Once again I have to emphasize the amazing service, especially by Deone! When the renovations are complete it will be great and I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Lamothe House with us as well as other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate your last minute reservation and ensure that your time in New Orleans was nothing short of exceptional! We pride ourselves on our phenomenal customer service and are happy to hear that your experience with DeAun was so great.

As we have just completed renovations on our Marigny Annex, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all of our upgraded amenities. We anticipate having the entire property completed by the beginning of 2013.

You also mentioned our great location, which is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Whether you wish to be in the middle of the French Quarter where all the action is, or off of the gorgeous tree lined Esplanade Avenue, one of our properties is sure to provide you with your ideal stay in New Orleans!

We hope you think of us next time you visit New Orleans, as we would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Lamothe House. The house itself is very interesting. The location couldn't be better, especially if you want to walk the area. It is around the corner from the Frenchmen Street District, about two blocks from the trolley that runs along the waterfront, and walking distance to Bourbon Street.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The downside was the room was very tiny. We had a double bed, which is very small to sleep in if you're used to a larger bed. It was similar to a small cabin on a cruise ship, in that only one of us could be standing in an area at a time. The continental breakfast was only a few pastries and coffee. Those of us who don't drink coffee, and would like juice, cereal, fruit or yogurt, there is none.

Room Tip: They are in the process of renovating the rooms. I would be sure to request one that had been renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bverdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Lamothe House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at The Lamothe House with us and other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the great location of our property, as it is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

As you also mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, we are thrilled to hear that they were able to live up to the standards of customer service you expected during your stay with us!

We are sorry to hear that the full size bed accommodation was smaller than you were comfortable with. As we offer an array of bedding options (Full, Queen and King) we try to cater to the bed type our customer is interested in and reserves. The Lamothe House is a historic property with many different room sizes, as no two rooms are exactly the same. We are in the process of renovating, but are still maintaining the integrity and historic charm that the property has offered for over a hundred years.

We hope you would consider the French Quarter Guest Houses for a future stay, should you return to New Orleans. We would love the opportunity to place you in a room with larger accommodations that would be more to your liking. We are extremely confident that your experience would be nothing short of your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked this hotel following a recommendation in a well-known travel guide. We also checked it out on the Internet and it looked a great find - good location and a period property. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. It is tired and seems past the best shown in its Internet pictures. The outside areas seemed to need a good tidy up and the pool was out of action. It appeared to have been unused for a while as the water was a vivid green colour resembling a swamp - there were even jokey signs about alligators. There was also an issue with our booking - we had booked a suite as we were three adults travelling together but had been downgraded to a double room. We ended up moving to the sister hotel The Frenchman because an alternative was not available for the duration of our booking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have stayed here at least a dozen times during the last 8 years. We chose this hotel for it's charming New Orleans look and feel and was pet friendly. We arrived on Saturday, July 21 to discover that the hotel was sold last April 2012 to new owners. The pool was bright pond green and you could not see the bottom. The staff said the pool was chemically balanced and safe to swim in. I don't think so. The room needed major maintenance. The toilet would not flush solids. The hot water knob on the sink spined in a circle so you had to figure out where off was. The hot water knob in the shower was so tight that it took 2 hands to turn on and off. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable. The TV in the room was a tiny 14 inch screen. Many of the light bulbs were burnt out. Scariest part of all was that the smoke detector was broken and half missing off the wall. We requested a different room the following morning and then discovered that the hotel was no longer pet friendly. We were literally forced to checked in 30 minutes! This used to be a great place but it's not any more. Please see the photo of the pool that I have attached. Would you swim in this?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MidwestTravlerSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

When I started planning a trip to New Orleans last month, I was surprised to find the Lamothe House as one of the most affordable choices around. I had stayed there a few times several years ago, and I thought it was wonderful. I booked four nights through bookit for mid-July. When we arrived, I was surprised to see the hotel had run down considerably since the last time I was there. Our room had been renovated with very inexpensive materials and mostly with furnishings that matched the renovations. The mattress left a lot to be desired, the ice machine didn't work, the pool pump was out, and I could go on.. The place just seemed to need a lot of love. The charm I remember from before had been lost.
On a positive note, the location was wonderful, the price was among some of the least expensive in or near the quarter, and the parking was very convenient. If you are lucky enough to be there while Rene' is working, you will meet one of the most kind and professional people you will ever meet. I hope the owners realize what an asset he is.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ponytears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I will preface this review by saying that we are very hardy travellers, having slept in fields in India, ice-caves in the mountains and on the beach. When we are paying 200.- per night we are not camping. On a positive note the location is great. On the edge of the French Quarter - close to great food and shopping but quiet at night. The pool was great, too.
That said, the room its-self was terrible, especially for the rate we paid. My husband made the reservation and was assured that there would be beds for all four of us. When we arrived there was a king bed, and day bed that was about 30" wide. When we got the cot for our son it was so saggy we had to take the mattress and put it on the floor.The mattress was thin and lumpy and didn't have a mattress pad, we ended up folding a dingy blanket and using it as padding. The furniture was "antique" and had parts broken off, the curtains were saggy. There were no bed-side tables and the lighting was inadequate.
The bathroom was awful! The vanity was coming off the wall, there was someone else's make-up on the wall and the caulking around the tub was black and the faucet was about 3" off the wall with a gaping hole behind it. These are all repairs that can be made, even if the building is 200 years old. We stayed in a 400 year old farm building in Italy that was in much better repair.
On top of all of this, the new management began phasing out the complimentary breakfast during our week long stay! I'm all for authentic character but don't use it as an excuse for shabby (not chique)!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Beatrix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#37 of 167 in New Orleans
448 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#43 of 167 in New Orleans
952 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#42 of 167 in New Orleans
801 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 167 in New Orleans
2,667 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#38 of 167 in New Orleans
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamothe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamothe House Hotel

Address: 621 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $131 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamothe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the ancient oaks of Esplanade Avenue, the ornate architectural detail of the past meets modern comfort and convenience in our restoration of the historic Lamothe House hotel. Featuring an elaborate courtyard accented by mature landscaping, a garden pond, and a refreshing pool, peace and relaxation are just steps away from the thrill the Crescent City has to offer.In addition to 30 guest rooms refinished in traditional style, five Grand Antique Suites have been preserved from the original 1839 construction of the home of Jean Lamothe, a wealthy sugar cane planter of French descent. Furnished with antique furniture & artwork, the detail and charm that exemplifies old New Orleans is accessible to today’s traveler.Not to be overlooked is the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood the Lamothe House calls home. Here visitors will find Frenchmen Street, often referred to as “the local’s Bourbon Street”, which features some of the best local music and cuisine found in the French Quarter.Whether it’s your first or your next visit to the Big Easy, find the authentic New Orleans experience you are searching for at the Lamothe House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Lamothe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamothe House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing