We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Elegance at its Best!”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We had a wonderful stay! A friend of mine and I shared the Deluxe Double Queen room and it was wonderful!! Very well decorated and well worth the money. We had brunch in the Crystal Room which was TRULY FABULOUS! This is a must! I missed the famous PB&J sandwiches they serve for free from 10 to 11pm.. but I heard its a reall treat as well. Staff was friendly and attentive. Will definately return!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank instyleval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,506 - 2,512 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed for one night Saturday, Feb. 17. It was way more than we expected! The lobby is gorgeous and the room was great! We were really impressed with the extra attention to detail in our room. It had the prettiest ceiling of any room that I have slept in! You'd have to see a picture to understand. Also, it was such a short, safe walk from the French Quarter. We were there during Mardi Gras and the largest parade was a block or two away. It was the perfect location. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shannonh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Le Pavillon is a beautiful and elegant hotel. The room we had was not fancy, but clean and comfortable, but the rest of the hotel is gorgeous. The bed was a pillowtop and we slept well, plus it was very quiet in the hotel. We enjoyed the rooftop pool and poolside service very much. There are wonderful comfy chaise lounges so you can totally relax. The PBJ sandwiches and milk served in the evening are a nice touch. We only ate once in the restaurant and it was good, not excellent, but good. There are many good restaurants close by. Mother's is just down the street and if you like oysters you have got to try theirs. The staff was very helpful and efficient. There are supposedly ghosts in the hotel but I was a little disappointed we didnt see one. When we come back to NO, we will definitely be staying at Le Pavillon.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fifigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

My husband and I picked Le Pavillion b/c a couple of friends mentioned it was a nice hotel and it was centrally located for us (quick ride from airport, 10 minute walk to French Quarter from hotel, etc.). The front desk staff was very pleasant, they even upgraded our room when we checked in. Although the exterior of the hotel looks nice, and the lobby is definitely impressive, the rooms need updating DESPARATELY.

First off, the bed was extremely lumpy and old. The HVAC in our room was poor; the room was stuffy, so we turned on the AC, but it made a rattling noise the entire time we had it on (in addition to the bed, it was very difficult to sleep). When we left the room, housekeeping would turn up the heat (the weekend we were down there was unusually cold for NO) and the room would be stuffy again. The bedding was dated (blankets were cheap and our pillows were flat...literally, you could fold them in half and they weren't supportive at all) and carpeting was dingy. The bathrooms are very small and the shower fixtures are old and covered in soap scum.

Overall, I was not impressed by the hotel. The service was fine, the front desk staff was the most pleasant; the conceirge could take a lesson or two from them in the personality department.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lhusseini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

Snazzy new hotels are a dime a dozen. It is not often one gets to be transported back 100 years to a time of elegance and pampering.....but that's how one feels beginning the minute one pulls up in front of Le Pavillion Hotel in New Orleans. I cannot remember ever staying at a hotel where the staff truly made me feel it was THEIR pleasure that I was taken care of.

You WILL enjoy your stay.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank lgnutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at Le Pavillon many times over the last dozen years, or so. Although we have been by ourselves on several occasions, once we brought one other couple, and another time we brought three other couples. We have never been disappointed, nor have our friends. The restaurant is also very good. Of course, it has to be. It's in New Orleans. We always try to participate in the evening PB&J ritual, especially if we have brought friends who are new to the hotel. The staff is outstanding. They seem to have an unusual loyalty to their owners, and want to make them proud. It's our favorite place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TexasSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

This is NOT a 4 1/2 star hotel, I would give it 3 stars at best!

We went for a long weekend to NOLA, and based on the reviews I expected to spend 4 nights at a grand, classic hotel with all the services that one would expect at a place like this. Well, let me tell you what I found.

There is no spa. No coffee maker in the room. The 'updated' room I booked was run down and old. When I asked for another room, they suggested a room with two queens instead of a king - how romantic. The exercise room was in disrepair. The pool was closed for maintenance. The elevators were less than clean. On saturday night, the bar and restaurant were closed for a private party, only room service available. Three out of four nights, the turndown service either didn't happen, or wasn't done right. One evening we found cleaning supplies on the floor in the middle of the room.

What could have been a great weekend ended up as a great disappointment.

Oh, and by the way, with the current crime problem in NOLA, it is too far from the french quarter to walk. There are many hotel choices closer and probably better in service.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IADDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,520 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,611 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,869 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,286 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $135 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing