We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #62 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

Le Pavillon is a fabulous old world style hotel. The service was incredible!
We were in a jr. suite (8th floor) which was next to the elevator. Note that all jr. suites are next to the elevators. Not happy with the location but since we were there during the week, it was really quiet. The room was small for a jr. suite but very nice with period details and old world charm. Although the room could have used some "refreshing" and some newer furniture, it was still very nice. You can't beat the service. It was my birthday and the hotel sent up a bottle of champage one night and a cake the next night! We loved the location as it was outside of the French Quarter and a bit quieter (Central Business district). Great location because you could walk just about everywhere and the trolly lines are only 1 block away. Loved the peanut butter and jelly sandwhiches at night...nice touch! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to NOLA. Couldn't have asked for better service or a better way to spend my birthday! Thank you Le Pavilllon!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    628
    217
    117
    88
See reviews for
392
1,041
106
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

huge old fashioned luxurious hotel with fabulous decor and some great staff (Cedric!). good room service and yummy free hot choc every night in the foyer. bathrooms could do with some upgrading. great location for french quarter highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

I truly enjoyed my stay there. The room was very clean and comfortable. When I ate breakfast in the Crystal Room, Kevin was my waiter and he was great. I've stayed in a bunch of different places and I have to say that every single staff member was extremely pleasant. It was an easy 20 minute walk to the convention center. I felt safe my entire stay and had a wonderful time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smfinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. Everyone was extremely friendly (and not just at the hotel, but all of New Orleans). The hotel is within easy walking distance to the trolley lines and the French Quarter. Although all the cab drivers recommended cabbing pretty much everywhere to/from the hotel, we ended up walking a good bit and it was fine. But we also live in a city so we're comfortable in a city environment. Had some great meals and overall great trip in New Orleans!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

Had a lovely time at Le Pavillon. We booked through priceline and got this hotel for 55 bucks a night. One of the best deals I've ever gotten. The hotel is right on a line of the streetcar system and that was a fun ride that got us off our feet. Our room was kinda small but pretty neat considering we had a corner room and had two windows for two different views of the city. Very clean room and an absolutely wonderful and helpful staff. They have peanut butter and jelly snadwichs with hot chocolate every night for all their vistors and you can read the story why once you get there. Very easy access to Bourbon st., where we found ourselves every night. We ate at the hotel resturant...very expensive but very good...not sure if we would pay the $100 for the meal again but it was a good experience. The city still has a lot of improvements to go through, you can still see a lot of the damage from the hurricane...but the spirit is there and I would definitely go again.

  • Liked — price of room
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onlyonethetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

We booked the hotel through their website. The facility was great. The rooms were well furnished, even if they were a little on the small size. We had a king deluxe and the appointments added to the feeling of the room. The bathroom was decent size. The location was great. We were attending a concert at the New Orleans Arena and the hotel was well within walking distance. We also were a 5 minute walk to Mothers which is well worth it. Would stay here again next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RaginCajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

Imagine a French / British feel, in a building which is very grand and older than it actually is with good quality American service. That's basically what you get. When deciding to visit New Orleans everyone told us how dangerous it would be in certain areas and at certain times at night. The Le Pavillon is bordering the French Quarter and the Business District. It took around five minutes to walk to Bourbon Street at the corner with Canal Street. The hotel check in was simple and they gave us a free upgrade as we booked directly with the hotel. The room was a little dusty but had everything you needed other than a coffee maker in your room. The bathroom was lovely with a rain shower. The rooms were extremely good value and I would class the hotel as a UK 4* with some very grand features. The hotel pool on the roof was a nice touch. The dining room was very OTT but a great place to have breakfast or dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel as you are in the heart of the action without having to be over Bourbon Streeted! Dinner at NOLA in the French Quarter is a MUST! Fantastic Food and a real local feel. We went to New Orleans slightly apprehensive but left feeling pleased we visited, at no point did we feel unsafe or that we were in a dangerous area. PS. Give the trip on the Steam Boat from near Jackson Square a miss, imagine driving through an industrial estate, that’s what it’s like, except on a boat! Not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WillnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,390 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing