We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indulge yourself and your senses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indulge yourself and your senses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Le Pavillon is a uniquely grand and beautiful hotel. As a first-timer to New Orleans it was a luxurious and gorgeous introduction - situated close enough to, but far enough away, from the French Quarter.
The service here is attentive and intelligent and courteous. Thoughtful things like having a bowl of fresh fruit in the gym room, a phone to order room service from the rooftop pool area (how opulent), and the delightful ambience of swimming under the stars in the heated rooftop pool make me miss it already! Also wonderful is their late night tradition of peanut butter & jelly sandwiches and hot chocolate, which is very popular. Who can say no to a mug of hot chocolate enhanced with as much cream and marshmallows as your willpower will allow? Well, not me.
I stayed here in the heat of August, so my suggestion is that their air-con is made less arctic. Although it was 97 F outside, I had to wear a jumper and scarf indoors to eat at the restaurant or sit at the cocktail bar - it was freezing! Breakfasts and dinners are a delightful indulgence here, but I would have spent a bit more time indoors if not for the icy air-con. I recommend this hotel despite this, and I totally enjoyed the ambience, hospitality and luscious decor. You will feel really special if you stay here. Indulge yourself.

Room Tip: Book the most expensive room you can afford :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SoulFoodWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,584
    652
    233
    131
    110
See reviews for
415
1,083
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
danvers,mass
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel , this hotel is absolutely beautiful and the roof top pool and hot tub are a must see . The only issues I had was that there was mold on the flange between the shower door and tub and if you happen to use the hot tub do not turn the jets up to high as the chlorine will burn your eyes and make them tear and choke you other than that perfect .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Overall good experience - friendly staff - historical building with unique theme - good access to the French quarter (5 min walk) Negative aspect was the parking cost was $40+ in change per night.

Looking to eat in New Orleans - Stay away from the Red Fish - costly for below avg food. Plus they really pushed their $34 fish entree that had frozen potatoes and peas under the small filet of fish.

I suggest Crescent City Steaks (Awesome gem of a place) Most go if you like steaks!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GonatasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We booked a last minute stay in this fabulous hotel. Everything about this hotel screams opulence and luxury. The staff is impeccably mannered, dressed and observant of your every need. This hotel is seriously gorgeous, and their peanut butter sandwiches with hot chocolate tradition in the evening is very kitschy and notable. The pool on the roof is great, and the work out room is small but efficient. The room was spacious, comfortable and had nice, upscale amenities. It's probably 7+ blocks to the French Quarter - a bit of a walk, but still close enough to get there, not too close to the chaos. This hotel was a treat, and the buffet in the morning in the ballroom was delicious and fresh. We enjoyed every bit of it. The hallways for the guest rooms reminded us of the hallways in the movie "The Shining". Didn't see creepy kids or anything else from the movie, but in New Orleans, around so many ghosts, you never know...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_recruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is a "grand dame" hotel in New Orleans and its opulence and grandeur are everywhere all with reasonable prices. We go to New Orleans regularly and over the years have tried different hotels including high end luxury ones. Yet we consistently come back to Le Pavilion. I know of no other hotel that greets and treats you as if you are their only and favorite guest from check in to check out. In fact when I called to make reservations, the clerk looked me up in their database and asked if we will celebrating our anniversary with them again this year. To me, staying at this beautiful hotel is like going home. Very few hotels still turn down the room in the evening, offering their signature cookies, water and slippers! The rooms are spacious, quiet, spotless and elegant. Its location is convenient and within walking distance to the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I got a great deal on this hotel room and were extremely excited to stay here during our weekend trip. The staff was beyond kind and professional. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. Every inch of this hotel shines. It is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The location is fabulous, being walking distance from everywhere. The roof top pool and nightly pbj and hot chocolate made our trip so special. The only down side. No ghost sighting.

Stay at this hotel. It is top notch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Overall, four stars. The service was actually excellent, and everything in the room worked. The decor was dated, as the hotel is 100 years old. That kind of goes with the territory. That was a nice flatscreen television, the Wi-Fi worked flawlessly, and the whole process was perfect. The little touches stood out, they had a late night peanut butter and jelly snack table with chocolate milk and regular milk, and when we were in the pool a Butler brought lemonade and cookies for free. That was a really nice touch. The incidentals are expensive, we got a Hotwire rate, the parking is $39 a night, free in and out with the valet, but of course you have to tip the valet every time you pick up your car, and then you have to pay to park it on the other end. The bed was very comfortable in the flatscreen television was huge. The rooftop pool is delightful, although a little warm, and the whole area is not big enough to support the size of the hotel, so if you want to lay in the sun you better get there early. Overall, I'd stay here again, but at more than $200 a night, I think I would probably look elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing