We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful....”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #87 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. The only exception to an otherwise very accommodating and attentive staff was the stuffy woman at the concierge desk. The rooms were large and clean, the bed very comfortable and the lobby and bar area were exceptional. The nightly peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were a treat. The location was perfect ..close enough to walk just about anywhere but far enough away from the action..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Topdwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    671
    249
    142
    123
See reviews for
437
1,118
111
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell, Alabama, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Easily best experience on a New Orleans hotel stay in a long time. Visit the city probably every 2-3 years and easy to suffer from poor service at hotels in this city. Not the case here, excellent service from every employee encountered, doorman, bellman, concierge, front desk, bar, housekeeping…not a single complaint. Very ornate, older hotel. The property being so old may have a few design inconveniences compared to modern properties, but management has done a good job of compensating for this as much as possible.
Three in our room this trip and we were all pleased. Also a great location, midway between super dome and french quarter. I also thought reasonably priced value. Would not hesitate to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is in a very good location in New Orleans, not far away from the business district and also close enough to the main tourist attractions. The hotel staff is very friendly, and they did their best so we will have a pleasant stay in the hotel. Overall, a very nice experience - recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you choose to market your facility as old world and elegant, then keep it that way. The lobby is unheated and the upholstered furniture is grimey. It is time for cleaning or reupholstering. Carpets in the hall and our room need steaming cleaning. The daily pass with a vacuum isn't sufficient. Our room is over furnished, cramped and a bit shabby. There are feathers and dust along the walls where no vacuum has been in months. Our bathmat had a wad of long brown hair attached. That couldn't have come from us! On the other hand, the staff is most accommodating. The 10PM peanut butter and jelly sandwich bar is a charming touch. Most of all, the bed is comfortable, with crisp linens and no bedspread.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OftOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Le Pavillon is not only a beautiful hotel, but something of a living museum, an opportunity to experience what the elegant life of the New Orleans financial district must have once been like. We found the staff to be delightful, the room to be spacious and the bed to be soft and comfortable. (although I do have a pet peeve, I can't stand "water balloon pillows" you put your head in the middle and all the stuffing goes to the sides, next time could I have a firm pillow, please?). We stayed for 3 nights over New Year 2014 and found the location of the hotel to be perfect, a wonderful place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for nearly a week and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is extremely attractive, the bed was comfy, the staff are pleasant and helpful, the internet service was fast, the fitness center was well used, there is a high standard of cleanliness everywhere, and the list goes on... It is the only hotel I've ever seen that has a 'drawn bath menu' - you can order various types of baths with associated treats to go with the type of bath! No, we didn't do this but it was a novel idea. In fact, the only problem we had the entire week was the temperamental remote control for the tv (who cares). The location is very good - the French Quarter is easy to walk to as is the casino area on the waterfront. I even walked to the Garden District but that is a bit far for most people. Highly recommended - we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9690304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my second stay at the hotel, the first time I was greatly impressed with the service. And once again they exceeded my expectations. This time it was a family trip, the staff went above and beyond to accomodate our family. the childre got ballons, crayons and activity books. Which kept this entertained. The rooms are beautiful old world style, with amazingly comfortable pillow top beds. Do the breakfast buffet, it is totally worth it!

The loaction is perfect as you are with in easy walking distance of the river, convention center, bourbon st and other various landmarks. Great place to experience a taste of the old world with expectional service!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribDiegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,464 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,546 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing