We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Pavillon - NOLA with kids - great!”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #84 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent 3 days at the Le Pavillon. Easy access to streetcars and quick walk to Canal St. and French Quarter. Staff was really attentive. Rooms were clean, quiet, and comfy. Kids *really* enjoyed pb&j and hot chocolate at night in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,841)
There are newer reviews for Le Pavillon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,841 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just got back from staying here during the week of the 4th of July. I will break this down in sections.
LOCATION: excellent, 1 block walking distance to trolley stop, and about 6 blocks to canal street, 7 blocks to Bourbon St. Far enough away that you don't have to deal with a bunch of dumb drunk kids.
HOTEL: I felt like I jumped in a time machine and went back to 1920. Most of the decor was imported from Europe; from the chandeliers, furniture, carpet, paintings, drapery, etc... The main dining room made me feel like I was eating at the White House. Truly lovely furnishings. Roof top deck was very nice, pool a bit small, but well designed and inviting. They had a Greek goddess thing going on up there with the intricate statues. No bar on roof but you could always order a drink from the roof deck phone. Views were also very nice.
ROOM: beds were really comfortable and room was beautiful. Bathroom was a little small but modern. Great TV with a nice selection of stations.
STAFF: everyone I came across from the bell boy, door man, waiters, front desk, and concierge were all extremely friendly and helpful. Service is important here and they deliver. On the day I checked out we asked if we could check out at 2p.m. due to our flight schedule, to my surprise they said no problem. This doesn't happen normally so easily.
BAR/RESTARUANT: breakfast buffet a little steep but the food was good. I had a few drinks at the bar and they were great.
OVERALL: this hotel far exceeded my expectations. I would take the whole ghost story rubbish with a grain of salt. No one that worked there that I spoke to ever saw anything. The nightly peanut butter and jelly atb10 p.m. was a neat little tradition which we both enjoyed. It was my birthday on our stay and to my surprise they provided a happy birthday cake, bottle of decent champagne, and a really nice letter even signed by the hotel manager. So mention it if its your birthday. For the price I would absolutely recommend staying at this hotel you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank baltscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Le Pavillon. The hotel was classy, staff and concierge were helpful. The room was very nice and comfortable. Its actually well situated between the French Quarter and CBD, but since we hung out at the quarter mostly, it was a bit of a walk. otherwise, its great for adults, couples. etc.. no kids. And thats okay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkymilk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

From the moment the car pulls up to the door flanked by classical white marble statues, where a helpful bellhop carries your luggage and shows you through the grand, high-ceilinged foyer, you feel as though you've stepped into a private palace where everyone has anticipated your arrival. I have such love and admiration for this exquisite hotel, which is such a historic treasure. When I travel, I appreciate places with history and character, and tend to avoid those that cater to the nouveau riche. Le Pavillon has fun, charming traditions like the nightly peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and piping hot cocoa. It's quite close to the French Quarter, but not so close you can't find a quiet night's rest after traversing Bourbon Street into the wee hours. Each time I have occasion to be in New Orleans - which is never nearly enough - I try to stay at Le Pavillon.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you unparalleled views of the New Orleans skyline. Also, parking is available for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherJPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The staff was really nice and very helpful, but the room was a little rundown as far as the paint, wallpaper and amenities went. The phones were old and dirty, and the one on the nightstand didn't even work. I specifically booked this hotel because it had a pool and a hot tub. The pool was so milky and dirty looking that i NEVER went in it, even after going out to it 3 times. Other people were in it, but a dirty pool indicates that something is off with the chlorine, and i didn't want to risk it. The dirty pool was a big disappointment. The beds were really comfy. the shower was weird bc it's designed to only have half of a door, and there was not any q-tips in the vanity. Otherwise the place was fine. I just thought it was okay. If you're looking for a modern luxury place, then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
3  Thank Ernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at Le Pavillion. It was very easy to find from the airport in our rental car. I was not impressed by the high cost of parking per night but every downtown area hotel had high parking rates, so we anticipated it. I was glad we chose not to stay in the French Quarter. This hotel was an easy walking distance and was so quiet at night. We slept so well, which is rare in any hotel for me. We heard no street noise from our room. Honestly, I have never slept in a more comfortable hotel bed. It was heavenly. The rooftop pool deck was also a highlight, loved being out there at night and the fact that it was open so late was great. The staff were all friendly, accommodating and helpful. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was a sort of musty smell that was in the lobby and room. I realize it is an old hotel and that in the humid weather with the AC on it could be a little musty so this wasn't enough to detract me from a high rating for this hotel. Also, I think the rooms need a deep cleaning. I spilled some water on the floor and used a washcloth to dry it up, the cloth came up quite dirty. Wear slippers or shoes on the carpet and you should be fine.

Room Tip: ask for a 9th floor room to be closer to the pool deck and have no street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I want to thank Nicholas Cage for a film that he dashed in and out of this hotel and cos of this we hunted for a good price and went for it.
The valet service is what you expect and the car (for a price) is whisked away to a safe place.
The reception is grand full of elegant french style furnishings and lavish trimmings to all windows etc. Our check in was good and managed to get an early room. The room was a little small but two lovely comfy beds and again all the elegant furniture. Bathroom as nice -
One small moan was that the plug to the bath was not working and if you wanted a bath you had to keep the water running. A supervisor had asked us if all was good withe cleaniless of the room and we mentioned about the bath but nothing had been done by the time we left.
We were there at a weekend and the best part of this stay was the Champagne brunch with music on a Sunday. Great value and we were treated SO well.. Effortless service. Food great. Nice to chill in lovely surroundings - good timing for us as it was half way through our trip. As others have said its walking distance to the French Quarter but its nice to be away the noisier part.
One nice little touch is th complimentary hot chocolate and peanut butter/jelly sandwiches at 10p.m... That is if youre in the hotel at 10p.m.!!
Yes this was our highlight of our trip.. Thank you Le Pavillon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMMCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 165 in New Orleans
2,548 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,457 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,415 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $127 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing