We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, great breakfast buffet”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #82 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed here several times for business. It is a really nice hotel, very well appointed. Rooms are perfect. Service is excellent. Location is not bad (not in the Quarter but is within walking distance, down the street from the Superdome). One complaint is the exercise room... not very good (broken treadmills, too small, too hot and i am not inclined to go jogging the streets of New Orleans) and there was a huge roach on the bowl of apples (although the staff came to take care of that as soon as i reported it). Breakfast buffet is excellent. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches at 10:00 pm in the lobby every night. And the tastiest peanut butter and jelly cookies in my room each day (i got extra when i mentioned how much i liked them to the very nice lady that checked me in). Turn down service with slippers on the floor and your robe laid out on the bed. The doorman is awesome too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pookiepoo216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,575 - 1,581 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was beautiful with that old class elegant charm. The service was great, loved the pool area on the rooftop, and the location wasn't so bad. Our hotel was about 5 blocks away from Harrahs Casino. So if you walk from the casino to bourbon street i do recommend taking a cab back to the hotel if it's after 2am... The cab fare was about $7-8 which was about 10 blocks from Pat O'briens. Parking your vehicle is $35 a day so be prepared for that extra fee. Make sure you meet Jeff, he is a hoot and very polite receptionist. Omg, I almost forgot... we ordered breakfast room service the last morning there. The omelet was delicious! Overall, I had a wonderful experience, I would return and I would recommend to all.

PS. They have a FREE PBJ and hot chocolate Happy Hour, i think about 10pm which we NEVER made it but i heard is a real treat!

~Leslie & Janet

Room Tip: Well, we were on the 5th floor and it was my cousin and I girls getaway. We had double beds and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4vrmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel, "the belle of New Orleans," is a classic, elegant place to stay. Unfortunately, the service at breakfast marred what otherwise was a fairly pleasant one-night stay. Our breakfast waiter was inattentive and seemed a bit put-out that we would order off of the menu versus opting for the breakfast buffet. Our food arrived sporadically, we had to remind him of our orange juice order, and he was genuinely disinterested in taking care of us. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel--there is a nice lobby bar with great service, a 10PM complimentary PB&J sandwich and milk offering, and the rooms are small but nicely appointed. The location on Poydras is convenient as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGKU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very old hotel with excellent renovation. Their best quality is their staff. From check in to restaurants, rooms etc. they are always trying to help out. It is located near the French quarter
and walking there is not so bad. If you are going to the Convention Center it is farther away
and not very practical to walk. For the Convention Center a Shuttle or Taxi is a better choice.
Even if you are not staying in the Hotel a trip to their restaurant is worthy. They have a daily
special, close to $20.00 that includes first, second dish and dessert. Their Chef is excellent and
quality of food is prime. Ambiance is first class in a very beautiful place.
Do not judge the Hotel by the outside look, go inside and you will change your mind.

Room Tip: It will make no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place was perfect! The service was wonderful, the room was beautiful, and the amenities were great! I wish it was a little closer to the French Quarter, as walking 5 blocks with children can be tough, but it was close enough that a cab or bike taxi ride didn't break the bank. One thing to be prepared for - parking is $35. Also have plenty of cash on hand to tip the eight zillion people who help you to and from your room. But it's all worth it to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived at Le Pavillon without reservation. Me and the new husband wanted to wing our honeymoon. We had a friend that said it was a good hotel. After arriving, they immediately got us a room and were able to check in at 11:00am. After a 13 hour drive, that was GREATLY appreciated. The gentleman at the desk was very nice, and the other gentleman off to his left with the information about local tours and things to see was very knowledgeable. The roof top pool was beautiful both day and night. The view was fabulous. We did not eat at the hotel, but we did have the free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches they offer late night patrons. Tip with those, make your own. The already made don't really have anything in them. Overall the bed was comfortable, staff was friendly and you cant beat the location. We walked to the French Quarter 3 times and each time felt safe. We would definitely stay again. Also, there is no free parking in New Orleans, unless you want to drive around a while. So be prepared to pay to park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenspen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Le Pavillon is one of the hotels I stay in when I'm in New Orleans on business, and it's a wonderful home base from which to explore the city. It's far enough away from the French Quarter so you can get some actual sleep at night, but close enough for easy access to the tourist attractions there.

Prices are reasonable, beds are comfortable, and the staff is knowledgeable about the city. Service is excellent, and the lobby area is gorgeous. They also have a nice on-site restaurant and bar. If you are a repeat guest, I've found that the hotel staff remembers you. I checked in during my most recent visit to find notes of appreciation in my room for being a return guest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,496 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $138 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing