We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1st Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #86 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great 1st Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Pavillon for a night to celebrate our 1 year Anniversary. The hotel and their staff went above and beyond in every possible way to make it a memorable experience for us! We were upgraded to a suite which was unbelievable. You felt like you were staying in someone's home.The pool was a nice little area to relax in the afternoon. When we arrived back in our room the staff had left a bottle of Champagne, strawberries and a gift basket with a lovely note wishing us a Happy 1st Anniversary. The PB&J cookies with the turn down service are such a cute touch and I loved how they give you the recipe. We will be staying at Le Pavillon from now on whenever we go to New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khaki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,590
    660
    242
    136
    118
See reviews for
422
1,099
110
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The service, décor and location make this our favorite hotel in New Orleans. The staff was very attentive and polite. We were traveling with our daughter and her family and they loved the evening tradition of PB&J sandwiches. Our Grandson felt like royalty when he saw the complimentary basket in our room because we were returning customers!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAllen800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel has European charm like no other. Actually, like European hotels, except better. Beautiful floors, crystal chandeliers, VERY polite and helpful staff. The rooftop terrace is a little smaller than expected with limited seating, but the view is spectacular, especially at night. Nice hot tub too.

The peanut butter and jelly tradition with hot chocolate at 10pm in the lobby is to die for. Kids loved it, and I think I liked it even better than they did. I'm a little bit of a food snob, and I have to say, I think the hot chocolate was one of the best cups I've ever had, save for a little cafe in Paris. Fresh real whipped cream, creamy rich hot chocolate, and even chocolate milk and regular milk for the people that would prefer something cold.

Rooms are beautifully decorated, spotless, ultra comfy beds, and nice high thread count linens.

Near by is the Aquarium , Insectarium, the trolley, which can take you up St. Charles, and to Commander's Palace, and the zoo. If you don't mind walking a little, this is the place for you. Rooms are sound proof, and you don't have to mess with the noise you get staying in a hotel in the French Quarter. Only wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor, away from the elevators. No noise whatsoever
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

After researching hotels in the French Quarter/Central Business District/Riverfront extensively prior to our trip, we were thrilled to secure a reservation at Le Pavillon through Hotwire. We wanted to be within walking distance to the French Quarter without staying in it. This hotel's location is perfect - we walked comfortably and safely back and forth to the FQ at day and at night, the St. Charles and Canal streetcar stops are each 2 blocks away, and there are several great restaurants within a few blocks. Le Pavillon is EXCEPTIONAL - from the beautiful European decor, to the excellent service (everyone from the front desk to the wait staff and doorman were attentive and asked about our stay), to the amenities (wonderful rooftop pool, hot tub and workout facilities). We indulged in the nightly 10 pm peanut butter and jelly snack; our teenage son especially enjoyed this delicious tradition. It was a treat to sit in the lobby among antiques, imported marble and chandeliers, listening to Classical music and enjoying a sandwich or hot chocolate. We returned home with many happy stories and memories - looking forward to another Le Pavillon stay on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were in the last room on the hall next to the suite - would highly recommend this location as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good location not far from great restaurants and other sights. Large, clean, and reasonably-priced rooms -- with a great sense of style. Had a more European feel than chain hotels, certainly. Pleasant roof top terrace to bring your own glass of wine and snacks. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuburnWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Very helpful bellman (Dave) with ok front desk staff. Wonderful tradition of the PB&J sandwiches in the evening! Room and hotel furnishings are first class. Decent location between French Quarter and art galleries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in New Orleans at a nearby conference hotel and extended our stay through the weekend by moving to the Le Pavillion. A colleague did so as well.

We pulled up in our car and were greeted by the bellhop who provided very polite and friendly assistance.

The lobby is a very grand and welcing space. Check in was a bit of a pain as staff were being trained, but they staff were polite.

After checking in and going to our room, we joined our colleague in the bar for cocktails. The bar area seemed a little worn and grungy. The bartender was pleasant and provided efficient service. Since I was in an old hotel in New Orleans, I ordered a Sazerac. It was just right.

There is a tradition at this hotel of making PB&J sandwiches for guests late in the evening. That seemed nice enough, although I never have cared for PB&J.

Apparently some of the hotel rooms had been recently remodeled and were pretty nice. Our colleague got one of those rooms. My wife and I did not.

The room was cramped, but that's not unusual for New Orleans. The condition and lack of cleanliness was huge disappointment though - especially for such a grand and pricey hotel. It reminded me of some independent "one notch above scuzzy" motor courts I've stayed in while motorcycling around the country.

The bathroom was especially disgusting. It was moldy, generally dirty with greasy hand prints on the door frame, the hair dryer appeared to be a shock hazard, the sink was separating from the back splash, hair and dust adorned the light switch, and water damage decorated the trim.

The grimey bathtub was a particular treat. It would be genrous to describe its size as cozy. When either of
us turned the little dial to start the water running and adjust the water temperature, it abruptly fell of the wall and into the bottom of the tub with a startling BANG!

I have some photos of the bathroom and intend to post them.

Puzzlingly, the bathroom included a menu for a variety of "drawn bath" services. The idea of actually paying scores of dollars for someone to prepare a bath for you in this thimble of a tub was absurd.

Then again, maybe you could negotiate with them to operate the sketchy blow dryer for you instead!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,912 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing