We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Remnant of a Bygone Era”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Le Pavillon is an absolutely beautiful historic hotel with a truly hospitable staff. The location is family friendly and very close to the St. Charles street car line which runs out to the Audubon Park and Zoo. Make sure to try the bananas foster waffle at breakfast. Besides the classic bell hops, the kids will love the pool and hot tub on the roof. Having stayed at many of New Orleans hotels, I recommend Le Pavillon as the one truly unique and best valued luxury hotel in the Crescent City.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,688 - 1,694 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a "girls trip" over Memorial Day weekend and shared a Deluxe room for four nights. We found the room large enough to accommodate all four of us; two comfortable queen size beds and adequate closet and drawer space. More important, however, is the location of the hotel. It is situated an easy walk from the French Quarter and just a few blocks from the St. Charles Streetcar. The hotel lobby feels as though you are staying in the heart of France and the front desk clerk with the French accent certainly contributes to the ambiance!! The evening buffet of PB&J sandwiches and hot chocolate is an extra special treat and the PB&J cookies are not to be missed! I give Le Pavillon Hotel my highest, unequivocal recommendation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phylmokap424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at a variety of hotels in my life, in the US and abroad, and this was definitely one of the most unique I've been to in my visits. This hotel has a lot of old world charm with classic architecture and certain unique touches. They have the traditional bellhop and concierge, but the rooftop pool and hot tub was a special treat. I was there in March, and getting to sit high above the city soaking in a hot tub was a great experience. My mother had to take business call one morning and the helpful staff let her use a conference room in their spacious event space. The last personal touch that really impressed us was the evening hot chocolate and peanut butter and jelly bar. Every night, they serve delicious hot chocolate with PB&J sandwiches for everyone in the hotel to come down and socialize. My family loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlauraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really loved our stay at Le Pavillon... The staff are so friendly and courteous- was really impressed by their service and delightful southern hospitailty. Ask for a renovated room to enjoy the beauty and comfort of the rooms... Wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank nathalie-narayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was our first time to New Orleans and the Le Pavillon just added to a fantastic stay. You feel like you've stepped back in time. The staff were very helpful and the rooms nicely decorated and very clean. The restaurant was good and the Sunday brunch with a great pianist and singer was a perfect start to our stay. Would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele176210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This first class hotel is clean,very friendly, within walking distance to the WWII National Museum, River Walk, French Quarter, Superdome, Convention Center (10-20 minutes in any direction gets you to something of interest), fabulous restaurants and musical groups along the way. Friendly staff greeting you is in every nook and cranny. The roof offers a spectacular view of the city and has a pool, hot tub and patio. The traditional peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, milk and hot chocolate at 10pm nightly is a must do. The food in the beautiful dining room is extraordinary and they have daily specials. It is the perfect place for anyone but especially for those wanting to enjoy the festivities and action yet enjoy peace and quiet after. While this was not in our budget, it was a very welcomed recommendation so we cancelled our low budget reservation and took the advice of a friend an were thankful we did. We will return and would not think of going to any other hotel. I highly recommend the Le Pavillon Hotel!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room. The location is just outside the main festivities yet close enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hspettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The rooms at the historic Le Pavillon are a great value for the price. They offer pbj and milk nightly and great all inclusive dinner specials if you want to stay close for the evening. The rooms are spacious and the beds super comfy....I slept each night from the 1st, which for me is saying alot. Centrally located in the business center, you are quickly in the quarter or on the interstate to the suburbs. You are also walking distance to the dome, if you are looking for a place to stay for a game or event. I'll stay here again when visiting my hometown. Geaux Saints!

Room Tip: 2 queen rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,801 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,685 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $158 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing