We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, expensive hotel in the business district” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #80 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely, expensive hotel in the business district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

When we were in NOLA for the FQF this year we had to move from our excellent hotel in the FQ (The Mazarin) as we changed our departure and they didn't have room. We found space at Le Pavillon. It was a a beautiful hotel I we had absolutely no complaints but it was a bit more formal than we care for. Doormen, valets to carry your luggage, concierge and it was 10-15 minute walk back to the FQ where all the action was!

We had a very nice room, 612. There aren't any views from any of the rooms to speak I'd, I would imagine. It's in the Business District. We were there to see music, if you're there to do business it would be great.

The Sunday brunch buffet looked magnificent with live piano but we didn't want to take the time. My husband had a PB&J and said it was good, as was the hot chocolate. We didn't have a drink in the bar but did chat with the bartender when we were checking things out. The bar was beautiful. Lots of dark wood and it had a very nice atmosphere.

The room didn't come with breakfast and we paid about $125 more per night than our first hotel that did come with breakfast and the location wasn't good for US, but for others I'm sure it would be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,584
    652
    233
    131
    110
See reviews for
415
1,083
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

When you first walk in its very nice chandeliers Lobby has lots of character. It is a older hotel but nice the employes are very helpful anything you need it's done water and cookies left in your room every night. And GREAT! Pb&j the only thing that was a little disappointing was the restraunt wasn't to impressed . But would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eltorreta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

nice hotel,nice place,but very eerie experience hit me at night.worse experience i ever had is when i saw a young man with colorful garb, bell bottoms, and no shoes, who is frequently seen running around and disappearing into the walls at night.i also smell a mans ciggar smoke and a lady's perfume when i am a non smoker and i was the only men in the room.a wonderful place with a horrific experience!

Room Tip: i may be unlucky but who knows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time in New Orleans, this hotel is ideally situated in the business district which is about 5 min walk to Canal Street and another couple of mins to the world famous Bourbon Street.

On arrival at hotel met by friendly doorman and valet, both took great care of us and our vehicle, parking costs $35 each day, don't know if this can be found cheaper somewhere close by, but car delivered to you at a moments notice.

Entering the hotel lobby you are met with a stunningly grand hotel, quite old fashioned but full of character. Bellboy takes bags away as you are lead to reception, were you once again are met by friendly and efficient staff.

Rooms are on the small side for America, but definitely had everything you required for a short stay. Spa on 10th floor, a must even just for the view of New Orleans, pool slightly cold [however it is April], hot tub warm and inviting. Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches each evening around 10ish, are a great addition to this hotel and absolutely delicious! Had dinner in the hotel restaurant once, we were not overly impressed by the service and the food overall, there are much better places within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjip_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here with friends as part of birthday celebrations (belated and up-coming) The actual hotel was a surprise to me on a flight from EDI to ATL so once that had sunk in I had to get my head around the actual building itself. The Lobby is stunning as are the artworks, chandeliers and the Crystal Room through the back.

There is also the opportunity to partake in peanut butter with jam & breads and milk or hot chocolate in the Lobby between 10 & 11pm

The rooms are extremely comfortable with everything you would possibly need for a short stay. I was on the 8th floor and thankfully for one of my friends, not the 'haunted' 4th floor.

The roof top is great too. You can have your meal brought up to you there and can also make use of the pool, hot-tub and loungers. We were lucky enough to see a street band grind traffic to a halt from the roof on our first day here.

All I can say is this was a surprise trip and hotel that I will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved my stay! Location is perfect,close to everything but far enough away to have a laid-back evening if you need it. Love the PB&J spread in the evening,perfect after a long days' ramble. I particularly enjoyed the rooftop hot-tub and pool,a great way to unwind at night.Everyone was fantastic.i'll definitely be back.Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The lobby for Le Pavillon is fantastic. The art throughout the hotel lends to the historic feel. The doormen and bellmen made us feel very welcome, and remembered who we were throughout the stay. The beds are fantastic.

Room Tip: Street noise on Poydras makes the opposite side of the hotel preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wantingbetterservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing