We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week in New Orleans”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #89 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very good service and also price/service relation.
We stayed here for 1 week, had some very fine dinners (try the gumbo and the ribeye) and also good cocktails.
As the weather was not very good we took a warm bath in the Jacuzzi.
Our room was upgrated on arrival to a bigger suite. The concierge showed us all the facilities.
Short: we would book that hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,762 - 1,768 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a lot of old world charm. 10 of us had 5 rooms and everyone raved about how nice it was. Beds were very comfortable. Rooftop pool and hot tub were well enjoyed. Only thing I regret about staying here was missing out on the pb&j sandwiches as we were away from the hotel both nights at the time they give them out. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfing527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful, up-scale lobby and restaurant. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. Luxury amenities. Gracious, welcoming staff. Having stayed in many nice hotels, I rate Le Pavillon very highly mostly because of the staff. Of course, the calling card of the hotel is the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with hot chocolate offered nightly in the lobby. After the first night of this treat, our internal alarms sounded every night after to make our way to the lobby—along with dozens of others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel makes a great first impression. The lobby is beautiful and it seems to be in the heart of everything...but our room was the smallest I've stayed in outside of Manhattan/NYC. TINY. For the price (we paid just over $200/night) in the southeast, I expect larger rooms with nicer finishes. The room was just OK.

The real star here was the staff...they were FANTASTIC. From the doorman to the front desk, everyone made us feel very welcomed and valued. That alone made it an overall good experience. Also, if you are planning to go to the superdome this is a decent location as it is sort of in between the dome and Bourbon street partying. We did like the convenience of being able to walk places - but they sometimes were LONG walks...pack comfy shoes and lots of light weight, breathable clothes!

Pros:
- Amazing staff - can't stress this enough, we were so impressed by the people at this hotel...everyone remembered our names and our car and made us feel very welcome
- Lovely lobby and exterior
- Free PB&J at night if you go at the right times
- Comfy (though Full/Queen?) beds
- Walkable location between superdome and Bourbon Street

That said, we wouldn't stay at this hotel again for three main reasons:
1. too far from Bourbon street - I'm a big walker (hike a couple of miles each day for exercise) and found the walk from this hotel to the action of Bourbon street a bit too far. Perhaps I should have packed better shoes, but I was under the impression it was a couple of blocks - but really, you're walking almost a mile to get to the real action. Add New Orleans heat and humidity and a few drinks and it gets a bit brutal :(
2. price - do not pay over $200 to stay here, to me personally, the room sizes and quality just don't warrant the higher prices
3. room size/condition - so disappointed in the size of the room and bathroom...bathroom reminded me of staying at my grandparents' house back in the 80s

Also, the hot tub was gross...I loved the rooftop pool but was afraid to submerge in the hot tub b/c I could see dirt/sediment along the bottom. Felt good on my feet though after all of that walking!

Room Tip: Perhaps specifically request a larger, remodeled room? I'm wondering if we got stuck in a bad ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently went to New Orleans for a birthday weekend trip with my mom. We chose Le Pavillon for it's close proximity to the French Quarter and it's old history and style. It not only didn't disappoint, but it surpassed all expectations. The hotel was beautiful and historic, made me feel as if I were in a movie all the time. The room was spacious and clean and fully modernized. There was a rooftop pool and terrace that was fantastic, and the hotel is close enough to walk to the French Quarter and more, but quiet as it's off the main strip. The staff was outstanding - friendly, courteous, and attentive. I even found a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake waiting in my room after an evening out, compliments of the hotel management. The concierge "Lou" was knowledgeable, friendly, and gave us some fantastic suggestions. This hotel was truly a home away from home, and they made my stay in NOLA all the more wonderful. Can't say enough positive things.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieR641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in March 2013 - was upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite. The bathroom was amazing, and the whole suite was extravagant.

The concierge helped us out with good recommendations on where to spend our only night in the city, and the staff at breakfast the next day were just as helpful.

Overall, a lovely experience in a stunning hotel. Would definitely go back and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Our trip starts with a friendly valet named Dave, who promptly takes our vehicle off our hands and tucks it away. Antoine, our bellman, takes over and gives us an interesting and thorough tour of the hotel and helps us get checked in with the amazing night manager named Shane. After several wonderful recommendations for food, we opted for steak which was to die for. Upon retiring to our very comfortable bed, we slept in our cozy quiet delightful room. Ps the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are also heavenly. Please do yourself a favor and spend the few extra dollars on the accommodations that are sure to please!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#24 of 167 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,912 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 167 in New Orleans
2,729 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $154 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the Royal St., the Frenchmen St., and the Bourbon St. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing