We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place close to the action (but quiet and lovely!)”
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place close to the action (but quiet and lovely!)”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great place! Very charming and convenient. About 10 min walk from the French quarter, so it wasn't too loud or crazy, but also on a main street and close to many streetcar and bus lines that go all over the city. The staff are really great and the hotel has a lovely rooftop pool and hottub. The rooms have sort of a nice antique southern style to them, but were nicely updated with modern features (keyless entry, good water pressure, huge pillowtop mattresses, big TVs, fast internet connection). They have a PB&J nighttime snack tradition from 10-11pm each night that was fun, too! The staff are very helpful in terms of providing directions (they know how the buses work!) and storing bags and calling taxis, etc. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    670
    246
    140
    122
See reviews for
433
1,116
111
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel had been booked by an event coordinator for a group so all credit goes to her. The hotel is about 5 blocks off Canal Street, the center of New Orleans. Bordering the hotel on the south is Carondolet Ave. which turns into Bourbon. For five days we used that pathway to get to and fro the French Quarter.

But what did I like. I liked the service first and foremost. We were greeted upon arrival, arrived in our room where the concierge had flowers delivered for my wife ahead of our arrival. The bell man had luggage at our door within minutes. The concierge also took it upon himself to have a bottle of champagne and four chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room in recognition of our 20th wedding anniversary (which conveniently fell during this meeting).

I liked the vintage look of this hotel including the ornate chandeliers in the lobby, the old world adornment in the hallways, the custom touches in the room with the monogrammed LP for Le Pavillon. Good branding people!

I liked the pool on the 11th floor (although we never used it) I liked the convenience of the bar and the dining room, I liked the promptness of service from the desk people to the door man to the concierge (Gustave Von Budungen). I liked the fact that many of them became familiar to us over five days to the point we could greet them by name. Very comfortable.

And yes, I liked the quirky routine of putting out peanut butter and jelly ingredients each evening at 10:00 pm. I looked forward each night to returning to the warm ambiance of a glowing hotel entrance knowing that I could have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on raisin bread with a cold glass of milk before I went to bed.

Good service at reasonable prices with a convenient location make this a winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A lovely hotel! Within walking distance of the Superdome and Bourbon Street, this property is full of charming touches! The peanut butter and jelly was a welcomed treat after travel. We plan to return !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room---unfortunately, we were located next door to a bachelorette party suite. Bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
926 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want to embrace the beauty of French inspired charm, beauty and opulence, look no further. It's known as the Belle of the South! If you want a modern type hotel, this is not the hotel for you. The impeccable attention from the valets, doorman, front desk staff was definitely obvious. The location is perfect, close enough to the French Quarters, Canal Street, etc. yet out of the hustle and bustle. We upgraded to the deluxe room and it was worth it. We got the 2 queen beds in the room and the room was beautifully appointed, spacious with flat screen TV, bathroom with tub and wonderful bath products for you to use. They have a roof top pool and hot tub and pretty nice exercise room. Following tradition, they serve peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, milk and hot chocolate from 10 to 11 pm. Free of charge. Room service is available. The parking was free which is very unusual for this area. Aside from the hotel, have lunch or dinner at the Commander's Palace in the Garden District. You will be so happy you did.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Le Pavillon is lovely hotel whose experienced staff provides an uncommon level of service and hospitality. Located in the central business district, it is about a 3 block walk to the Quarter. My room was spacious and well-appointed. If you will be in New Orleans on business, this is a hotel worthy of your time and money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was wonderful. The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. Very close to the action of Bourbon St. But far enough away to have peace and quiet. Close to the trolley lines and restaurants. It was an enjoyable week. The oil on the roof was an added bonus. Beautiful night views while you take a dip. The Pb&J treat at night hit the spot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKilpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at Le Pavillon Hotel this summer for one night and had a great experience. The staff was delightful, the bar was classy and the decor is amazing! The rooms were very clean and quiet even though Le Pavillon is rumored to be one of the top 5 most haunted hotels in New Orleans. I did not partake in the peanut butter and jelly sandwich special but it was neat to know about the hotel's ongoing tradition. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emihole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,426 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
Le Pavilion
La Pavilion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing