We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay--another pleasant experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #62 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another stay--another pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is my fifth stay at this hotel and I have stayed at many hotels in and around New Orleans over the last 16 years as I am there once a quarter on business. I love this hotel because it is clean, easy to access and some of the friendliest staff around. Since I have repeated stays, my staff was able to negotiate a good business rate that is lower than what I paid at much lower quality downtown hotels. My wife travels with me most of the time and thoroughly enjoys this hotel. I love the 10PM Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwich Gathering in the lobby. Hot cocoa, milk and sandwiches are available for guests.

It is an old hotel and some of the plumbing and room spacing can be challenging. I travel about 180 days a year with a visit in different cities each week (sometimes two in a week) so I am sensitive about hotel accommodations. The restaurant is sparsely occupied at night but the wait staff are attentive and friendly. The evening special can be hit or miss but I never had a significant issue with the food. I am staying there this week so this is fresh in my mind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prestoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    628
    217
    117
    88
See reviews for
392
1,041
106
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I had a horrible flying experience...so actully getting to New Orleans was a trying. As soon as we got to Le Pavillion our whole evening turned around. Everyone was so nice and getting some PBJ's and check-in was a welcome sight. To add to our evening, there was a fruit basket in our room for being a return customer....What a classy touch that made us feel special!!! Thank you Le Pavillion for everything. We will be back!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WendyWa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

the day that I left I got a bill under my door for over $120 for parking for 3 nights. I was not told parking would cost that much. I was told that I had to use that parking no other options. I did not know how much it cost until i received the bill. The last day our room was not made up, we were gone until 5 pm so they had plenty of time. The hotel was elegant small rooms usually good service.
This seemed like a good rate but was not due to parking costs. I would not stay there again.








i

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shandsnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We used United miles to stay here for two nights.

Arriving at an old style entrance is not great....people entering and exiting ONE set of tall french doors, up 2-3 steps....If you are handicapped, there must have been another entrance. (?). The entrance was ackward when you went to get your car...it's MUCH too tight for valet and people checking in. I'm surprised that they haven't changed this.

Hotel is old school glitz, very swanky. Check in was fast but the wait for the elevator took 7-8 minutes. Thank goodness we were on the 2nd floor and never used the elevator again! (used the steps just outside our door).

Room was good, we bring all our computer cords, extension cord was used for lap tops. Free wifi was great!! Loved the romantic old school feel of the room.

Bathroom: Good, except for NO shower curtain!, only 1/2 glass 'partition'! I hated getting water on everything! omg. this was weird. It was stressful taking a shower because you were trying to not splash too much!

TV was the Old kind. We watched American Idol and it was fine.

Had drinks in the bar, nice atmosphere.

Breakfast: Didn't do the buffet the first morning. There were only two-three wait staff and they were good but it took forever. Do NOT expect fast service, this is a different time zone. Food was good. Miss Patty Cakes makes the omelets, and was great.

Overall, we were happy. Moved onto the J.W. Marriot (due to meeting a friend) and it was nice to be in a modern hotel. We got to have both experiences.

I loved the antique feel of the hotel. Room service was good. I would stay here again if the price was right. Saw the roof pool, small but comparable to other hotels in similar settings. Gym was average size.

If you like antiques and authentic hotels, you will love Le Pavillion!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Beautiful facility with potential... Staff friendly... Under staffed... Gym is 85 degrees... Quality of food is sub par... Pool water murky... Pb&j is cool...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel oozes class from the moment you walk up the steps to classical music and are greeted by the friendly doorman. The decor inside is beautiful and the staff ultra friendly and helpful. The free late night PBJ sandwiches and hot chocolate was a nice touch and gives the hotel a very welcoming feel. This place is ideally situated a few minutes walk from all the sights and sounds of the French Quarter so there is lots to do nearby but is a quiet refuge to return to. We had a great stay here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

service was excellent, loved the peanut butter & jelly, David the doorman was one in a million he really my our stay even more pleasent...he knew directions,events,about parking etc. He's an assett to the hotel!!! I had great Bitrhday at Le Pavillion!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1shereeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing