We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
1 review
“My favorite hotel in New Orleans”
Reviewed November 29, 2009

International house is my favorite place to stay in New Orleans! I lived in NO for several years and know the city very well. This hotel is an excellent location. You will be walking distance to the French Quarter but enough off the Bourbon Street path to avoid the noise. The hotel itself is very clean, ultra trendy and has great customer service. The bar is a lot of fun if you stop by for a drink. The rooms are smaller as noted in other reviews but keep in mind that is common for New Orleans. It depends on what type of experience you want to have. If you want to stay at a standard American hotel, go for it. If you want a New Orleans experience, I recommend this Hotel. I have stayed at The W as well and the IH is much nicer. The lighting isn't really an issue. I think people miss the dimer on the lights. Turn up the dimmer in the bathroom and the lighting is fine. Ask the front desk for ANYTHING and they will help you out. They have menus for local places that will deliver. I really can't say enough about the International House.
Laurel Fedders

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurellianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    329
    116
    69
    41
See reviews for
103
504
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I stayed at the International House for 4 nights while attending a conference in NOLA. I found the hotel based on reviews and was not disappointed despite having to have the sheets and pillow cases changed upon our arrival due to what appeared to be hair! The staff was responsive when directly asked questions, but otherwise pretty much invisible. The shower is the size of an elevator and very luxurious! The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The lobby is a great place to meet friends in the evening, very nice ambiance. We ate at the Rambla one night, the tapas and bottle of wine were delicious if a bit expensive. Pros: within walking distance to the quarter, shopping, convention center and other hotels, hotel is very quiet. Cons: no WIFI, no coffee maker in room, lighting is dim in the room. I loved the hotel compared to the other places my friends stayed and will definitely stay again. **Self Park in the Whitney garage next to La Quinta to save serious cash, only $10 a day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felizjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed for business.
The Pros- the lobby is beautiful, location is good, lobby bar is fun, shower was good.
The Cons- no coffee before 6 AM. The beds are very very firm. The rooms were nothing to write home about. The hallways very quiet, but the room was so noisy. I felt like the hotel's a/c unit was next to my room, and the toilet was cycling on and off, and the street noise was very loud.
It's classified as a 4 star, but there are so many great places to stay in New Orleans, I would put it at a 3, 3 1/2 star.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

"Boutique" might not be the right way for International House Hotel in New Orleans to bill itself, as the word evokes trendy but aloof accomodations. The IHH, in contrast, is warm and inviting--both in lush atmosphere and welcoming service. Staffed by warm and hospitable employees, the IHH has rooms that are lovely and comfortable, and the cocktail lounge, Loa is a great place for drinks and beautiful-people watching. The meals I had at Rambla were excellent. The only glitch was that coffee wasn't available until 7 AM. Best thing yet about IHH is the location: just minutes to the French Quarter, but far enough away that I was able to sleep without disturbance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nburv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed 3 nights over a weekend. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the 'room' we had turned out to be a suite with a living room (with a huge flat screen TV), a large bedroom (with a slightly smaller flat screen) and a bathroom with a shower that was really a "wet room". The TV had a huge range of channels. There was also a DVD player and an MP3 player. Free internet access in the lobby. The staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly - nothing seemed too much trouble. The hotel is very close to the French Quarter, less than 10 minutes walk to Bourbon Street. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel which looked very good, although we didn't get a chance to try them - there are plenty of alternatives in the Quarter!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the hotel October 23-25 for a school reunion. We were immediately impressed with the friendly helpful person who checked us in and offered to give us advice on restauarants, etc. if needed. The hotel is ideally located 2 blocks off Canal, so it is easily accesible to the French Quarter, Warehouse Disrict, and the streetcar line. The Loa bar is a great place to have a drink before heading out for the night. We did not eat at Rambla but I have read many good things about it. The room was nicely appointed and offered Aveda products and an iPod dock/radio. Our only issue was no coffee maker in the room and no coffee in the lobby. You could of course buy coffee in the restaurant and and several coffee shops are close by. There was also no safe which would have been a nice feature. I definitely recommend International House and we would stay again on our visits to New Orleans.

DanBNash

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The lobby was great and gave me high hopes for the room but I was very disappointed when I saw what it had to offer. The room was dark and dirty. There was no desk or mini bar and the tv was small and had a lot of static. I ordered room service for breakfast and for $40 for breakfast for one person you'd expect it to be good. It was not. To top it all of the bed was uncomfortable and I was afraid to touch the comforter because it was so dirty. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#75 of 163 in New Orleans
1,287 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing