We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms in the heart of New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International House Hotel
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at the International house for the AAO. The rooms where clean although a little on the small side. The location was wonderful. You could walk to almost anything in the city. The staff where friendly and helpful. The lobby and bar where great. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artistnglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel and rooms were very clean. Complimentary coffee till 11:00am. Staff was extremely courteous(and I am definitely not some kind of VIP). Yes, the rooms are a little on the small side but comfortable. Besides, its NOLA, you shouldn't be spending all day in your room. The bathrooms were large and tubs had great water pressure and nice size.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinel698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good hotel, excellent location, friendly & efficient staff, clean, nice little fridge. On any little thing we asked about, the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I don't demand too much in the way of luxuries, so the smallish room was no problem. Quiet and seemingly out-of-the way, yet just a few blocks from the parade routes, Quarter, and Uptown. Also, a great little diner (The Commerce) kitty-corner to the IH.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EcoRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Love
An old office building rebuilt to house the hotel. It was formerly the original World Trade Center and the first building of its kind in the world. When you walk in you are impressed by the low illumination level and the candles spreading a sweet smell in the lobby area where you can glance at a bar next to the lobby. The rooms include and LCD TV, miniature refrigerator, a table with a chair that doubles as the night table and desk and a chair with a small round table and lamp. Coffee, tea, cereal bars, and bananas are offered in the morning. Located two blocks from Canal Street which is the main street for businesses and hotels in the city. Staff quite accommodating and gentle.

Hate
The furniture in the lobby looks as if taken from the set of a horror movie. The lights are so dimmed you are not sure if it is to create an ambiance or to hide the old condition and deterioration of the place. The wall where the elevators buttons are located is covered in glass which is broken. The room floor mirrors in the corridor remind you of a haunted house. The hardware in the bathroom is covered with an old age patina that makes you wonder how long ago it was cleaned. The breakfast is ridiculous and if because of the weather or some other reason (we had 37 degree fahrenheit and rain) you want to eat at the hotel you must call out for food with the corresponding take out quality. The desk in the room is a joke and makes it impossible for one of the occupants to type in a computer or tablet while someone is trying to sleep. The block right before Canal street is under construction on both sides of the street. One sidewalk is completely blocked and you must cross the street even if not going in that direction and the other side is covered with a long very dark and scary tunnel. When this was mentioned to the hotel staff no interest was shown on the matter. Finally, they raised the rate (not as a surprise) from $248 the first night to $440 the following nights because of a convention.

Room Tip: Better stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We love our Beaux Arts building conversion too and appreciate that you took the time to know a bit about our history. The great news is that the mirror has been repaired. Sadly it takes time for special order oversized mirrors to arrive so it took a bit longer than we had hoped. Many things that did not meet with your approval are a matter of design taste...and we are sorry that our recent renovation was not appealing to you. We do hope to see you back in NOLA very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location in the CBD, which provides quick access to Uptown and the French Quarter. The room was very nicely appointmed and had nice bath toiletries. The lobby was swanky and check in was a breeze. Everyone working there was very polite. Overall, we had a great time. My complaints are not really complaints, more so notes on how the hotel could improve to become a real gem.

We arrived the day before Thanksgiving and departed on Thanksgiving day. There did not seem to be many other guests there, which may account for some of these issues, but as a guest I would still expect the hotel to be fully functioning. Before we arrived, I called the hotel and asked about parking. The lady indicated that they had a valet out front and that they also had a parking garage. We drove up the front of the hotel expecting to see a valet or a sign of some sort indicating where to drop the car off, but there was nothing. So, we went around the block to find the parking garage. We made the block and saw parking garages but all were labeled for other hotels. Maybe we just missed it, but we didn't see a sign. We ended up parking the car in the fire line outside the hotel to run inside and ask about the valet. After a few minutes of trying to find someone to park the car, the valet/bellman (same person took our bags upstairs--John, he was so friendly and helpful) arrived downstairs and he got our bags and took them upstairs and we left the car key with the front desk. So the problem was solved quickly, but it would have been nice to see a sign for valet parking out front like most other hotels have. Especially since the hotel is on a busy street.

When we entered the lobby was beautiful but it was very dimly lit...not like ambient lighting but almost like they didn't have all the lights on. Maybe it was because the lobby bar was closed and no lights were on there. The bar itself if very romantic and beautiful (I have been before this trip) but I guess because of the holiday or maybe our afternoon arrival time it was closed and had lots of boxes and bar restocking on the bar. It just felt a little like we were walking into a hotel that was just half open for the holiday. We did not spend much time in the hotel so this didn't bother me and when we were in the hotel we enjoyed the lovely room.

None of these small things should stop you from choosing this hotel, and likely this occurred because of the holiday. I just thought I would make these few suggestions since the hotel is very nice and has definitely reinvented itself in the past few years as a destination hotel for travelers. I would not hesitate to stay there again as long as I wasn't traveling on a "dead day" like the day before Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleycwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went down to New Orleans on a random weekend before the Mardi Gras parades were due to start, and all we could think was "Thank goodness our hotel was a 7 minute walk from Bourbon Street". It was quiet and nice to escape the craziness but close enough we could dive back in. Our room had a small fridge which was nice to stash a few waters for the morning. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Especially the doorman who had a cab waiting to take us to the airport after our last tour ended and we had checked out. Cabs to and from airport were a flat rate ($33 for one or two people or $14 per person if more than two). The hotel hotel was chic and clean. I would most certainly stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fairylova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Rooms were decent (nothing special), no ice machine & no in room coffee maker. Supervising front desk manager was rude and condescending (no name tags were visible). Valet parking is inconvenient and almost non-existent. Great location, but very disappointing overall

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank DAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We value them. While we do not provide coffee makers in the rooms, we do offer complimentary Illy coffee in the lobby along with fresh fruit and granola bars. The Valet company that we have contracted with always gets rave reviews. Please contact me if you would so that I can better understand what the challenge was. We would love you have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#80 of 166 in New Orleans
1,349 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,525 reviews
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#124 of 166 in New Orleans
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,537 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Hotel

Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $117 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your International House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing