We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a strorm....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #74 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Port in a strorm....”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during the Essence Music Festival. Room was basic with a very large bathroom. Room was very clean and linens were very clean.

Room we booked with king size bed was given away. When we asked about it they said nothing could be done as they were fully booked. They also didn't attempt to credit us any difference in rates.

Staff were VERY VERY friendly - especially the dreadlock bell hop. He gave us great details about the city and overall great conversation..

Best highlight of our trip was a complimentary Hennessy brunch party. That was lovely!!! Food was great and so was the atmosphere. No restaurant is in this hotel which is also a little inconvenient.

Hotel is in great location though in terms of walking to Bourbon, Convention center, super dome, French Market etc...

Sour point was thy began renovating our floor the day before we left WITHOUT ANY NOTICE. All we knew we came back and met the walls being painted, plastic on the floor and ALL Door signage removed. The workers began drilling 8a the next morning!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in 412 which was nicely tucked away from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wadadli_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    329
    116
    69
    41
See reviews for
103
504
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the main reasons why we chose International House was because it was not listed on the bed bug registry of hotels. It has a very friendly staff and has an attractive, clean lobby. The shower stalls are huge and the beds are comfy. While there is a bar, there are no breakfast services, so we walked to the nearby CVS and picked up waters and breakfast foods. They also let us check out one hour later (1:00PM instead of 12:00PM) for no extra fee. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently and enjoyed it. The location is brilliant - not in the mania of French Quarter but only a 5 minute walk away which worked well. We had very hot weather and it was a shame that the hotel has no outdoor space - that would be my main criticism. the room was comfortable, nothing particularly exciting but fine and clean. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment whilst we were there but we would probably have chosen to eat breakfast out anyway - but i think it will be good to have that open again. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

During my stay, all of the people working at IH were nice. The hotel itself was recently redone, so it is trendy. The King Room was pretty small, but nice -- particularly for an older hotel that was remodeled. The bed was comfy. And, the location was convenient.

The problem is that the walls are really thin! I woke up the first night/morning thinking someone was actually in my room with me (since I was in my own room, this was alarming/confusing). But, it was the people next door talking. So this drawback ties into the weird crowd comment.... because, I don't know if it was just the weekend I was there, but there was a "convention" of some kind. It involved men in bikinis and women wearing leather-next-to-nothing something or others. I am not easily shocked/offended but all weekend long these people were dressed in the most bizarre way and their behavior matched the attire. It made for a loud stay. That isn't really the fault of the hotel, but it seemed that the trendy/affordable hotel maybe catered to the party crowd. I know, it's Nola, but this was beyond expectations even for a party city during non-marti gras times. Anyhow, nobody working there seemed to flinch at the "convention" people even when two guys almost came to blows in the lobby one night over one of the women. It was very odd.

I might stay again and just bring ear plugs since it was affordable. But, I really wouldn't stay there with kids. It is a little too "trendy" for that. (Also, parking is a real pain.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a gem in the New Orleans Crown. Only a block from the French Quarters and in the middle of the CBD this small hotel is a great respite. With only a hundred or so rooms the staff is always available and helpful. The candle lit bar is quiet and romantic with outstanding cocktails and a bar staff well up to the challenge. The only drawback is that they don't currently have a restaurant but serve complimentary European coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: "Apple" rooms are great for tec savvy travelers and business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in New Orleans for a conference which was taking place in the Hyatt. We booked the International Hotel and it turned out to be perfect - just on the edge of the French Quarter so fabulous location - quiet street so no noise at night.
The hotel is very stylish and although it doesn't have a restaurant that is absolutely no problem as there are heaps of great restaurants nearby. I did miss having a safe in the room but apart from that it seemed to have everything else.
When we saw the Hyatt we were delighted we weren't staying there as its out of the way and is so big it looks like an airport terminal building

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall I had a good experience at this hotel. The room was very clean and quiet, and the staff was helpful and accommodating. They let us check in earlier than the scheduled check-in time and check out later than the scheduled check-out time due to our flight times. The hotel is an easy walk to the French Quarter, and there are quite a few restaurants nearby. The area felt pretty safe overall. If I were to travel to New Orleans in the future I would stay at this hotel again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rubipool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#76 of 163 in New Orleans
1,288 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 163 in New Orleans
2,335 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing