We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of NOLA's French Quarter without the Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The Best of NOLA's French Quarter without the Noise”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for a 4 night get away. It was nice to stay in a boutique hotel with character that is different from the typical chain hotels. The front of the hotel has wicker seating to hang out and people watch. We lucked out and joined a Havana White Night event. Fortunately we had white outfits and fit right in with the crowd munching on tapas from a food truck, drinking mojitos and listening to a mambo band. The lobby was ready for summer with a huge, fragrant flower arrangement and all white furniture coverings...summer cool at its best. Even the staff had their summer uniforms created by a local designed. Every detail is considered. There is a pot of coffee on an Argentine balcony converted to a table every AM, and citrus flavored ice water off the lobby. The rooms are comfortable with a fridge, iron, lots of outlets for chargers, free wifi and a nice big bathroom stocked with Aveda products. I would have loved to have an in-room safe. The staff was "Big Easy" friendly and relaxed, yet got everything done that may have been needed. I will stay here again. PS- The picture does not do the hotel justice. They should hire a better photographer for that shot!

Room Tip: NOLA drivers tend to beep a lot! If that bothers you, get a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portena-by-Marriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    328
    116
    69
    41
See reviews for
101
503
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights while at a conference nearby, and it definitely exceeded expectations. Room was charming and comfortable with high ceilings and a huge bathroom with nice deep tub. Loved the decor especially the industrial-chic metal touches. Staff friendly but not overbearing, and wifi was the fastest I've even experienced in a hotel - a great thing when traveling on business. Lobby coffee could be stronger - that's my only critique, really!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dqframey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO USA
Level Contributor
349 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel turned out to be quite the gem. Located in the French Quarter just 2 blocks from Canal Street (and the trolley) it was in a great location for walking to the Warehouse District, Jackson Square and the French Quarter, and close to the Trolley line heading to the Garden District. The staff was warm and friendly, always helping us find a place to eat, hail a taxi, or recommending something. The bar was very hip with great drinks and great service. We hung out there our first night because of our Colorado connection with one of the bartenders and a friend of his drinking there. Our room had enough space for my friend and I to move around, the bathroom was large with nice towels and Aveda products. And while the hotel didn't have a ton of amenities that a chain hotel might have, they did have free Wi-Fi, snacks for purchase, a fitness center, and a great staff. Also, the bed was very comfortable with high quality sheets. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Be ware of the rockstar rooms. They don't have windows. And while they may be bigger the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very trendy and walking distance to French Quarter. Completely quiet at night. Love to sit outside in the chairs out front and people watch. There are not tons of people walking around this area but just enough.

The lobby bar was hipsteresque and bartenders were not too friendly so we did not hang at the bar even though it is gorgeous. The hotel restaurant, Rambla, was closed the three days we were there -- we never asked about it -- so many great places to eat!

I would stay there again but it didn't have a pool which I usually like.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a parking garage and some other machinery -- be sure and request a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at International House for a weekend in New Orleans with my boyfriend.

It is walking distance to Bourbon Street, the French Quarter, and the Convention Center, but it isn't directly on Bourbon or the surrounding party streets so the immediate area is clean and quiet (which is REALLY nice after walking around the craziness all day).

The lobby is beautiful and always smells amazing! The lobby bar offers delicious and unique cocktails, and the vibe is very cool. The staff were all very nice, and the room was clean and very comfortable.

We had a windowless room on the 11th floor - we got that room because it was cheap, and we missed having a window, but could live without it because we didn't spend much time in there. It was nice to be on a higher floor because we couldn't really hear people around us (however, one night we could hear some noisy neighbors, but they were being pretty loud...).

I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: The windowless rooms are a good value, but if you plan on spending more time in the room, it can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nacobb5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has real charm. Due to its location it is perfect for a New Orleans vacation.
I myself stayed due to a business trip and was a bit concerned about the travelling involved, but the atmosphere made up for it.
Two minus points: breakfast & nightly noise from garbage removal vans

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As some of the other reviews have stated, the hotel is perfect for anyone looking for a clean room to sleep. There is no room service or restaurant in hotel, but the front desk will give you a packet of local restaurants that deliver to the hotel. The bar is perfect for drinks before or after dinner. The bed is not the most comfortable, but for a few nights its not so bad. The staff is very cordial, except for a doorman that barked at me for smoking a cig outside the hotel, I didn't appreciate his attitude. It's perfectly located a couple blocks away from canal and then a couple blocks to the left you have bourbon st, and to the right you have the riverwalk marketplace. There's one thing you should know the hotel loves their air freshner, so when you go downstairs for some coffee in the am, the aroma of I don't know what they're trying to mask is overwhelming. It's not bad, but ease up on the potpourri or whatever you're using.

Room Tip: You don't have to go to far to eat a delicious brunch, The Red Gravy is to the left of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,317 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing