We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I'm in and out of the city on a regular basis, and really enjoyed IH - nice stylish feel with high ceilings and soft lights, great little bar, rooms of comfort and size (I did have a free upgrade which landed me a corner room with a panaoramic view). Very easy location for cbd, the quarter or the warehouse district. Staff was helpful, friendly, engaging. All good, and will definitlely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevec3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    328
    116
    69
    41
See reviews for
100
503
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at International House - checking in the day after the SuperBowl - the week before Mardi Gras. A pretty busy time in New Orleans. The International House is in a good location - easy walking to the French Quarter and the Warehouse district without the throngs of tourists. The room was large and decorated in a minimalist style (read bed, chair, table). Overall I think the rooms were pretty basic but had all that we needed. The rooms were a little damp and just-so-slightly musty but I suspect that is a product of an old building in New Orleans and not a problem with the hotel itself. I appreciated the large windows with all the natural lighting. The bed was very comfortable. Myself and my guest had to wrestle over the limited closet space however.

The public areas of the hotel are very hip and inviting. We had drinks in the small bar one night and enjoyed ourselves. We also used the gym which had adequate equipment, good AV and, happily, was buried in a musty basement. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NieSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is super,you can walk to any of the prime locations offered in NOLA. The front end employees are friendly the bar, You can get to anywhere in 15min walk. when to Emeril's on julia street. Nice food, great ambiance . The hotel is quiet,and reserved. I really enjoyed staying here, and would stay again. Thank-you

Room Tip: This Hotel is a gem, it does not matter what floor you stay on you are going to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliechan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

So why do I give it a poor rating? Key machine broken so no keys the first day there. I paid extra for a king size bed and an Apple TV system in the room. The TV never worked even after engineering fixed it. No coffee in the room. No restaurant. No snack or convenience store in the hotel. No exercise facility. All that said, I'm used to staying with the big boys. Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton, etc.. As a matter of fact, I was booked at a Sheraton in New Orleans to attend a business conference. They "walked" me to the International House. I empahsize walked because that was the term they used to descibe what was happening to me because they had oversold the hotel. Oh they picked up the tab for the first night, but I would have much rather been at the Sheraton. Call me a square but I was on a business trip and the business was to be transacted at the Sheraton, not at some boutique hotel with no amenities. For what the rooms were I guess they were ok. I mean it is attractive enough and they did have a nice bar/lounge but I like somewhere to have breakfast in the hotel and I'm always wanting a snack from a hotels little convenience counter. The staff was nice. For what it is, and if you don't care about the amenities, I think you would be happy with the property and its location.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter. Most are small and you don't come here for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My fiancé and I have stayed here once before and had a great experience so we decided to go back for valentines day weekend. It did not disappoint. Aside from a great location right off of canal the hotel is really nice and unique. Not to mention its far enough away from all the hustle and bustle of canal that it still has a cozy feel. If youre bringing a special someone this is definitely a good pick. The lobby area is very cool and unique as well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our favorite place to stay every time we visit New Orleans. This hotel has a super helpful staff, impeccably clean rooms, and a fabulous location. The rooms are priced moderately, but we always feel like high society when we walk in the doors. This hotel is our number one go-to each time we plan a vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris7893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

very cool boutique hotel with W feel. Funky rooms, white linen sheets and great bathrooms. Close to canal and a short walk to french quarter this hotel is a great alternative to the big chains. Doorman knew my name and i must say walking back thru that lobby everyday made me feel like a rockstar!

Room Tip: ask fro room on PH level..there are a few up there with balconys!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
1,268 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing