We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #71 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The staff really make this place - super friendly and helpful.
If you can choose a room with windows (I heard the small ones without aren't so good). The hotel is five mins walk from the French Quarter so great from a tourist perspective. Other stuff I liked:
- cocktails and bar area - really intimate
- big tv and comfortable bed
- free wi-fi throughout
Would return here without a doubt!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank scenesteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    330
    117
    70
    42
See reviews for
105
509
67
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location is great. And the lobby is beautiful. But the good stuff pretty much ends there. The rooms are teeny tiny. There is no room service (what?!). And the gym is super sad. Having a dj (turntables, what else?) in the lobby is great, but I'd prefer having a few more square feet in the room and a hot cup of coffee in bed in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments and time. We are in the process of negotiating with an exciting new Chef and will have our restaurant open very soon. We do hope that you will visit us again. We promise not to let you down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was impressed from the moment I walked through the front doors. This boutique hotel offered unique design elements. I loved the chandeliers and the fabulous art work throughout the lobby area. The bar scene was awesome. Lots of locals just hanging out. Fun atmosphere. The rooms were spacious and very sophisticated. Beds were amazingly comfortable. I could have lounged in the bed all day if I didn't have work to do. Great location. Not in the the French Quarters but within walking distance. I can't wait to return to the International House Hotel. Thanks Jessica...........................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atraveltherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

There's nothing more to say about this hotel other than it is fantastic. The rooms are great, staff is great, location is fabulous. It has a charm about it that makes it perfect for a couple's getaway.
Once you stay at this charming boutique hotel, you will definitely want to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a conference in New Orleans this weekend and stayed at the International House just two blocks outside of the Quarter. It continues to be one of our favorite small hotels with reasonable rates, an excellent staff who are careful to keep things "understated" yet charming and attentive, Aveeda products to allow one to indulge at bathtime, a lobby bar that remains enticing, friendly and great for "people watching" after a busy day about town, and that same welcoming feel and attention to cleanliness that we have come to expect and much appreciate. If you are looking for a well-located small hotel with charm and unobtrustive service you will find the International House to be the right choice in New Orleans - a welcome refuge from the surrounding hussle and bussle...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great Hotel to stay at! Friendly and a very helpful staff. Nice rooms with comfortable beds. Location also a plus and walking distance to many attractions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBoudreaux300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just returned from my first trip to NOLA. My friend and I try to stay in two different locations/hotels when we travel to get a feel for different areas. The lobby is beautiful, and the front desk very helpful and friendly. When we settled in our room, i noticed that the hallway carpet was soaked. Called the front desk and they were very accommodating to move us to a new room. They said that maybe it was just steam cleaned? We decided to stay. Then we noticed that there was a leak in the wall in the bathroom that maybe was causing the water. They didn't send anyone to investigate until the next morning. Felt that I had to mention it a few times to the staff and not sure if it was ever investigated while we were there? Other than that, the room was clean but looked tired. Not a lot of furniture. Housekeeping did not clean or even enter the room in on the second day so we had to reuse all of the towels. The Aveda products are nice but extremely tiny. I have never seen such a small bar of soap. Not sure if I would stay again? Wasn't awful but a I have been in better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianeb773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed our service and Aveda products. We are sorry that we had to move you to another room during your stay. We did have an issue with the room above yours and their overflowing tub and just hate that it affected your visit. We do hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#77 of 164 in New Orleans
1,305 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,424 reviews
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#120 of 164 in New Orleans
264 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#62 of 164 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing