We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A really nice stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We decided to visit New Orleans on a whim when I found a promotion for this hotel with a can't pass up rate...We arrived very early prior to check-in time, but they still provided us a room, which we thought was great. We were able to work out and shower and get on with our trip. If you are looking to work out in this hotel, don't expect much. The equipment is dated and sparse, but it did the job. We decided to skip the workout room for the rest of our trip since we did so much walking in the very hot weather. We loved the lobby decor and our room was great. The bed is very comfortable and our room was cleaned everyday. We requested that our ceiling fan be cleaned (it's amazing how many places neglect this and dust piles an inch thick!) and it was done right away. We inquired about the room temperature not being as cold as we would like it (after you swelter all day outside) and maintenance was prompt in addressing our concern...the AC output was doing its best considering the weather and there was no faulty AC issue. We turned on the now clean fan at his suggestion and that helped cool the room down to our liking. Lastly, I found the doormen/security guards to be the friendliest. I thought the registration staff could have been warmer and the hotel bar staff, too. Overall, great location to the French Quarter, quiet surroundings, comfortable rooms...I'm glad I got a great rate for the hotel because it's otherwise not in our budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    329
    116
    69
    41
See reviews for
103
506
67
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the International House last year when we took our son to school
at Loyola. That visit was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we've ever had.
The room was beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel location
was perfect for easy access to many different destinations and activities. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and the delicious cuisine in Rambla (restaurant).
We will definitely choose the International again and have recommended the hotel to
several friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogue Chitto,MS
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This hotel has a very beautiful Lobby an bar area even the restaurant was beautiful an that candle they burn made those areas smell so good, we booked the Rockstar room on d 11th floor, I think it's like six of them.It didn't have a window which was great no sun to awake us from our much needed sleep after all night party n!! Ok the bathroom was big a spacious an very clean!! The bed was ok nothing to go crazy about,it also has a flat screen tv which was nice an also u can charge ya iPhone if you forget ya charger on d radio,there was a nice desk with two bottles of water which I couldn't believe u had to pay for $2 for them an it also had a nice little how can I put this above d bed there was a hole in d ceiling which lead to a ladder which I don't know were it would take u lol kinda strange but it was dusty so I figured no one was climbing out of it on d regular lol!! An last but not least it had a big brick wall in d room which was different for me but kinda nice, my overall stay was good an I would stay here again o I forgot to mention I got d room for only $59 a night so that was a Bonus!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great hotel. Wonderful and helpful staff. Our room was great. Very large and quiet.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. I thought it was a great value. Our room was extremely small, but cozy, and it was perfectly fine for 2 of us since we weren't planning on spending much time in the room. We wanted a location that was easy walking distance to everything, yet not right in the middle of craziness, and with a nice bar. This place fit the bill. The drinks at the bar were expensive, but awesome. The cocktails changed each night and the bartenders were pros. It was quite the happening spot at night. The lobby was also super nice.

My husband wasn't thrilled with the size of the room, or the complete lack of any sort of view from our window, but otherwise everything was great. I will stay here again on my next trip to NOLA.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Silverpink25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our recent trip to New Orleans. It was a great locations to the street cars, the casino and the French quarter. We felt safe here at night and our car was in good hands. The negative, the restaurant was overpriced and the people there were rude, however everyone else at the hotel was awesome!

Room Tip: Request a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

No, this is no Hitchcok hotel, but is not too far.
Location is pretty nice, fairly close to downtown and famous Burbon street. That was the good. Now the bad.
By no means this is a cheap hotel. Ones would expect a bit better service when booking here. Upon arrival we were met with some construcion work going on there, and the elevator blocked for this purpose. Finally we catch the workers on a moment when they were not closer and up we go, to our room. Here was the 2nd surprise. There were no windows on any of the walls. Stay away from the room at 11th floor called "Rock &Roll". Unless you feel like going into a crypt, then this room is not for claustrofobics.
Eventually the room was changed. Next morning we're going for breakfast at the downstairs restaurant "Rumbala". One piece of advice: don't put it on your room. You'll be charged tip in advance and get the food when the waiter (part time bar tender) will consider it is the right time... for him. Do yourself a favor: go across the road where there is a nice little place, clean and friendly.
At departure the receptionist offered us a discount on the next booking if we leave them a favorable review on TripAdvisor...
That ain't going to happen until they improve.
Overall, the hotel is average, definitely not worth what they charge, and only saved by its location. We won't be visiting them any way...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyReimer, General Manager at International House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate them. We have just completed our renovation and are sorry that it was an inconvenience to you while you were here. We did our very best to make sure that we stayed out of the way of our customers. We do hope that you will visit us again. We value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#79 of 163 in New Orleans
1,290 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,391 reviews
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 163 in New Orleans
2,339 reviews
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#121 of 163 in New Orleans
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House Boutique Hotel

Property: International House Boutique Hotel
Address: 221 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — International House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your International House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing