We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence Fest 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #102 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Essence Fest 2013”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My experience at the New Orleans Courtyard Hotel was awesome! to be greeted y Betty was such a joy! She was beyond helpful and welcoming. The light complimentary breakfast was great too. Walking out of my room into the courtyard was so refreshing! The room was clean with authentic New Orleans decor and feel. I will say that the hotel was a bit nosiey, but it was Essence Fest weekend so it was expected and tolerable. I would without a doubt stay here again. Close to everything, but yet away from all the hustle and bustle!

Room Tip: Go to Eat Restaurant just a few blocks from the hotel...great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channing P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, General Manager at New Orleans Courtyard Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks, I did share this review with Betty. We really appreciate your business and hope you will come back soon. Patrick Berthelot GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    101
    44
    22
    19
See reviews for
54
135
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is one of our favorite hotels. It is a sister hotel of New Orleans Suites and they share parking. We have now stayed at one or the other three times over 10 years and my son has stayed her three other times, Once in one of the houses they also rent. The rooms and bathrooms are clean/comfortable. Two out of three hotel desk persons were over the top, in making suggestions on bars, restaurants and parking. This time we were traveling with my daughter and 2 yr. old grandson. We had downstairs room by pool with two double beds. The beds are doubles, not queens. Room was quite and cool. It was non smoking and I could not smell cigarette smoke. You can smoke in patio. Pool is really nice in courtyard. It would be a great place to sun. Breakfast was cheese, fruit, waffles, baggle, toast, yogart. I noticed the stairs are a little steep and not all rooms appear accessable by the elevator. If that is an issue you might ask. The New Orleans Courtyard does not have covered parking but lot is locked at ten and you have to aks front desk to unlock. Parking $25. Cab to otherside of quarter about $12. Cab real late at night if you are alone as this is on quite side of quarter.

Room Tip: If you need queen beed or can not climb steep stairs you need to ask questions. If you need covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I ended up here because it was recommended to me by another property. Given that I was in New Orleans over Memorial Day weekend without reservations, I was very lucky to get a room here. The bed was comfortable and the room was decorated tastefully. The storm shutters were great blocking out the light. The only downside was that I was at the front of the building and there were many motorcyclists who revved their engines as they rode down Rampart. I didn't realize that the hotel had ear plugs until after I checked out.

As well, the staff were very friendly, especially Betty. The complimentary breakfast was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We actually booked our 4 night stay at their other hotel but were given rooms here.The location of the hotel is unbeatable for the price as its such an easy walk to all the places in the French Quarter.
The first room we were given was on the balcony overlooking the pool. It was only a small room but had all we needed though we didn't get to actually spend a night in there, as on our late return to the hotel we were unable to access our room, so went to reception to find out why only to be told that our room had been changed! With the help of another guest we took all our luggage to the new room, which was much larger but was at the front of the hotel. We had a tiny private balcony that we shared with only the next room. The room itself was so quaint and fitting for the age of the hotel, we loved it. The downside was that as it faced the street we did get a lot of noise and we did hear those barking dogs that have received several mention from other reviewers but it was just one night and not for too long. Also the very old shutters on French doors to the balcony no longer closed so we had light streaming thru the sheer curtains from early in the morning and they did nothing to lessen the noise. Heavier curtains would be a big help.
The continental breakfast had quite a good selection and my husband loved making his own waffles every morning.
For the price of this hotel compared with others of the French Quarter this place is unbeatable
and barking dogs aside we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room away from the street should be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teuge, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel, which is actually together with the New Orleans Suites Hotel, via tripadvisor, all positive things we read were true. We had a cossy little poolside room, with brick floors and a wonderfull bed, the room was small but all we needed. Complementary breakfast was nice and the staff wonderfull, if we go back to NOLA chances are really high we will book this hotel again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in New Orleans for Jazz Fest '13 and booked into this hotel on the north side of Ramparts. The hotel is primarily heritage - with very old style rooms but also with a newer addition. We found the hotel clean,quiet and the staff very friendly - especially the day clerk, Betty, who I believe is mentioned elsewhere in these reviews. Although the 'queen room' was a tad small for our liking we opted to return next year and perhaps take a double.An unexpected bonus for us was the 'Crawfish Boil' Saturday night that the quests were treated to compliments of the hotel during Jazz Fest. The hotel which is in the French Quarter is conveniently located, next to Louis Armstrong park and is in easy walking distance to the great music venues on Frenchman's Street and restaurants in the area. We also found it quite convenient to the Jazz Fest as you can catch the 91 bus practically right outside the hotel which takes you the the Fairgrounds.

Room Tip: Maybe check out the size of the room when you check in. You might also want an inner courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Splendora, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had the best experience at this hotel. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly, the rooms were spacious and well kept, the continental breakfast was better that I expected with a large selection of pastries and fruit, even a make your our waffle station.
We had a large group of women for a bachelorette party and we felt completely comfortable with the location and safe walking at night to and from the local clubs and other attractions.
Close to all the excitement and fun of New Orleans. Walking distance to everything we came to see. Cant wait to come back for another visit. Just wish it had been warm enough to take advantage of the pools.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room try to avoid the rooms near the street because it is a main road and busy 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniejoshdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#97 of 162 in New Orleans
371 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
1,509 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
925 reviews
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Property: New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Address: 1101 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2434
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Orleans Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners 2009. The New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is one of several historic New Orleans homes and cottages that have been lovingly restored and converted into beautifully appointed Rooms, spacious Multi-bedroom Suites, luxury Townhouses and charming Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your New Orleans Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard
Courtyard New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing