We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Admittedly, this hotel was among the cheaper options in the French Quarter at $120 a night.

And admittedly, I did see one review on Tripadvisor saying "Bring your own Lysol!" among all the positive reviews. But I thought: It can't be that bad.

It is.

I'm about to pack my things and head to a $200 a night hotel because:
- the room is tiny and has no window
- it bears no resemblance to the picture shown on Priceline.com when I booked
- the internet does not work in the room
- the water takes forever to heat
- rain leaked from the ceiling onto my bed last night
- the breakfast is bland and cookie cutter
- the shower-head is in crusty and in dire need of a clean (Bring your own Lysol!)
- there was traffic noise all night from the main road the hotel is situated on

The one good thing I will say about the New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is that they were willing to cancel my second night on short notice, and for that I'm most grateful.

In all honesty, if you're in your 20s and/or super-budget conscious, this hotel may be for you - there's a nice pool and the place itself is easy on the eye - but personally I'd prefer to pay $80 more and enjoy clean, friendly surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheExcursionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    96
    41
    21
    19
See reviews for
51
130
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is truly a magnificent hotel to stay in. The staff is absolutely wonderful... helpful and friendly and the service is outstanding. The rooms are quaint, clean, and give you the true experience of staying in the French Quarter. I cannot say enough good things about our stay at this hotel and its staff. We especially want to acknowledge the lady at the front desk who was extremely knowledgable of the area and made all arrangements for various tours for us as and took care of any needs we had. It was too cold to swim but the pool looked inviting. The parking garage, which is highly recommended, was great and secure (however, expect to pay extra for this). The breakfast area and food were excellent with a waffle maker, various breads, juices, coffee, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms surrounding the pool area are very nice. I would recommend these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhart3321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Hotel is located just blocks from the French Quarter. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable, but the location is a bit run down. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The courtyard is beautiful! Overall we felt safe in the area and enjoyed a good nights rest. They are also a pet friendly hotel and our doggie is 72 lbs. Hope this review is helpful.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony overlooking the street. Though it was interesting, a room with a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We were not given the room we reserved. It did not match the booking description. There was too much noise at 6 am. The employees were rude. There was extremely over priced parking which was not even disclosed upon booking. The water took nearly 10 minutes to heat up in the bathroom. The bed was stiff as a board. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joshdemobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed this past summer 2011. We really enjoyed it! We were looking for a kind of take-you-back, new orleans ambiance but updated. Well we found it here! Great loacation! Great parking! The staff was super friendly and very insightful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We checked in on 12-1 thru 12-6. After our 3rd day we finally got our room serviced for cleaning, the shower was slow to drain if it drained at all, the toilet was not secure on the base. The bed linens and towels were old in our room you could not open the windows. Over all it is a cute place but very lacking in decor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for three nights over a long weekend. This hotel was so overpriced for what it offers (better yet, DOESN'T offer).

Don't be fooled by the "great location" of this hotel, as you must walk through some unsavory neighborhoods to get to a spot that feels safe. We dreaded gaving to come back after the sun came down.

The service and attitudes at the front desk left much to be desired. No one seemed to care much or was willing to give us tips on where to go and what to see. When there was a problem that needed attention, the staff acted like fixing it was a burden as opposed to their job.

The rooms lacked a closet or a dresser so you must literally live out if your suitcase. There was no ironing board in the room, the thermostat was broken, the television had to be changed manually as the remote would not connect, no counter space anywhere to keep toiletries, TERRIBLE WiFi connectivity, puny breakfast and very very limited breakfast choices, tiny bath towels (may not bother some, but I hate drying off with a handtowel), and the bathroom looked as if they had transferred the bathtub from the set of "Hostel".

If I had to do it over again I would absolutely have picked a different hotel in a different locale.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistermickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#96 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#118 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Courtyard Hotel

Property: New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
Address: 1101 North Rampart, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — New Orleans Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners 2009. The New Orleans Courtyard Hotel is one of several historic New Orleans homes and cottages that have been lovingly restored and converted into beautifully appointed Rooms, spacious Multi-bedroom Suites, luxury Townhouses and charming Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your New Orleans Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard
Courtyard New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing