We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here three times. We felt so comfortable here, that we have also stayed with our two children. The bed's are so comfortable. The rooms are spacious and modern. We loved that it was within walking distance to everything. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very accommodating. It is a bit pricey at times, but well worth it. Look forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricandBeverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebley456, Manager at Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Erica and Beverly,

Thank you very much for your great feedback! We're glad you and you family had a good stay with us. Hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you all in the near future!

Best regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    553
    123
    37
    20
See reviews for
262
750
57
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the end of our Great Southern Road Trip having started in Charleston SC, two weeks and thank goodness for Sat Navs !! This is a modern hotel well located within the French Quarter, close to the action without any of the noise which is remarkable. The rooms very spacious and modern, with large clean bathrooms. We didn't have a view and looked out onto an antrium area which was set out for a business meeting. To be fair we were offered a re location through the room boy who so expertly settled us in and talked us through the local attractions map - Cafe Du Monde, River attractions and restaurants. And lets be frank - it was quiet.
Strange arrangement for breakfast - coffee bar set up with limited menu choice. No pancakes unless you wanted a single one the size of the pan. Also the seating in the bar area was very uncomfortable, and noisy with business types - understand that NOLA is one of the conference centres of the US.
Great service though from all of the staff that we dealt with - car valets, reception, porter abd Concierge. All that could be asked of a city center hotel. I had read that some thought it over priced, but guess what - it's a luxury in the center of a large city. Like all things in life "You get what you pay for !!"

Room Tip: Go for an internal room to avoid the street level nightlife !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandman753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We chose Hyatt French Quarter for our 2 night stay before our cruise. We had a standard room, 2 queen beds, no upgrade. I would highly recommend room # 424! Not only was it clean, quiet and contemporary, it has the 2 queen size beds, full sectional sofa, 2 flat screen TVs, mini fridge. Close enough to elevators and ice machine without the noise. Request room 424, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doublej8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here from July 18 - 22. Our room 438 had a balcony, that was shared with three rooms, 436, and 440. Our room had king bed, comfortable bed, also there was a safe in the room that would fit my 10 inch tablet with plenty of room left. There was also a small fridge that we would stock with water we bought from Walgreens on Royal, 2 blocks away. The staff was very nice, always acknowledged us coming and going. Thanks to the concierge, very helpful and informative. HFQ partially sits above Hard Rock and Red Fish Grill, we were above RFG, and it was torture walking to and from our room during their business hours because the grill smell was in the hallway and sometimes in our room, yum! Our only complaint was, shower had no water pressure, and when we had leftovers from the night before, I would ask to get it microwaved, and they would not. We have been to other hotels and had no problems. Oh, and don't forget they have 2 20oz aquafina bottles for $4 ea. Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG7210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Had an outstanding stay the week of June 30th. The hotel has been very nicely remodeled with a modern style. The high ceilings in the rooms make them feel so large. The pool is small but refreshing and never crowded. Upon the advice of previous reviewers we took an interior room and really enjoyed the quiet and a nice area to sit and drink coffee in the morning. Each room has it's own refrigerator so we were sure to stock up with plenty of drinks and libations. Canal Street is one block away so there are plenty of stores to stock your room if you want. We ate breakfast at the lobby café. It was very good. Also ate at Redfish in the hotel and it was a very good meal. There is a Krystal's across the street and I really enjoyed getting a nice country breakfast there each morning. Also, the trolley picks up right out on Canal Street so you are very close for sightseeing. As a matter of fact this hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy Bourbon Street, The French Quarter, the trolley and easy access to New Orleans. Finally, the staff are very accommodating at this hotel. Great service so don't hesitate to ask for their help.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet pick a room that overlooks the courtyard. If you want to hang by the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dallasskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacliff, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I visited for a bachelorette party in March and I will not stay at this hotel again. Yes it was clean, yest it was quiet, it was a good location to Bourbon Street but it was also way overpriced. We split the cost between 5 girls and I just don't believe in spending that kind of money for a place to sleep and shower. NOLA is a place where limited time is spent in your hotel room and I'm a firm believer there are better values with the same service, cleanliness, etc. at a different hotel in the city. So if you are looking for a hotel with outrageous prices this is the place for you. I was not impressed and I will not be staying here for any future trips to NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
571 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice hotel. Clean. Modern looking. Good service. The bar downstairs can make non alcoholic drinks. The small store downstairs has good food & drink items. The location is convenient. We had a problem one night with a loud car blasting music while driving around the neighborhood over & over again so could not sleep that one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street & crazy drivers blasting music in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,822 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,238 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,167 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing