We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but pricey hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt French Quarter
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
561 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice hotel. Clean. Modern looking. Good service. The bar downstairs can make non alcoholic drinks. The small store downstairs has good food & drink items. The location is convenient. We had a problem one night with a loud car blasting music while driving around the neighborhood over & over again so could not sleep that one night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the main street & crazy drivers blasting music in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    523
    114
    34
    19
See reviews for
241
706
48
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for our girl's weekend in New Orleans. We had a great experience. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, especially our concierge Leah. She had great recommendations and spent lots of time with us trying to understand what we wanted and supply us with the best recommendations. She was very professional and also great at listening to our feedback after we'd visited some of the bars or tours that we didn't like so much.

The location of this hotel is great. You are only two blocks away from the action on Bourbon street and so can easily join in, but it is far enough from the main drag that it is quiet at night if you want to get some sleep. Also, we really enjoyed the pool. Our room opened right into the courtyard where the pool was, which was perfect. After our first night we were spent most of the next morning relaxing and lounging by the pool. It was a hot day, and we didn't feel like touring around until the evening. The bartender at the pool bar was also extremely friendly and helpful.
Our room was large and very clean as well.

It's very rare to receive such exceptional service, and we are so grateful that the staff here contributed to the overall fabulous experience we had in New Orleans. If I come back to New Orleans I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that open into the pool courtyard. They don't face the streets and so they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location and very friendly staff. Was our first time in New Orleans so I didn't know what to expect but the staff def helped us out. Would stay here again when we return. So close to everything And good value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

spent a few days here at the end of our honeymoon the hotel is wonderfull with good sized rooms ours looked out over the pool. the pool area is lovely and sheltered getting the sun most of the day and the hotel being right on Bourbon Street it is a great base for exploring the french quater

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mousey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is located in the perfect place if you are looking to party on Bourbon or attending an event at the Convention Center. The rooms were large and spacious. The front desk staff (Megan especially) were extremely friendly and helpful. There were some unforeseen issues that arose at check in that Megan was able to assist with. She was able to take care of us with out missing a beat and got our vacation off to a great start despite our issues. She was even able to handle a issue that arose in restaurant. Megan is a true asset to the Hyatt Brand. Besides the incident in the restaurant my only problem with the hotel was that I had to call each of the 5 nights i was there to request additional towels. That being said the towels were delivered in a matter of moments each time. I would definitely stay here again and as a travel agent I will be recommending this property to my clients.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool or that have a Bourbon Street view would be my suggestion for those l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was there with the buddies over the weekend. Location was perfect for access to Bourbon street ... and stumbling home.

The pool was nice, and definitely want to give a shout out to my girl Belinda! She was awesome.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVidaAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is best situated on the edge of the French Quarter, its main entrance 50m from Bourbon street. I had a spacious room and encountered excellent service. What I enjoy of the Hyatt group is the many complimentary items available, should you have forgotten yours. Room service can be a bit better eg you receive no sugar when asking for Latte.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,693 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,868 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,386 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt French Quarter

Property: Hyatt French Quarter
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Chateau Bourbon - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans’ famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing