We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the NBA All Star weekend. The location is perfect for spending time in the French Quarter and a very easy walk to the casino, river front, and high end shopping.

The hotel staff was very friendly. We arrived at 12:30 and were allowed to check in early at no cost. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. And it seemed quiet inside despite the crazy noise out on the street.


The only draw back was that they do not have free Internet access in the rooms. Also the charge $4 for a bottle of warm water in the room, but if you walk down the hall to the vending machine you can get a cold bottle for $1.50.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Primeminus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    619
    153
    51
    28
See reviews for
317
870
69
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is situated at the corner of iberville and Bourbon streets with access on Canal St. We had a courtyard room which opened onto the pool area. Our room was spacious and comfortable. There is a cafe where breakfast could be purchased but this was expensive. Luckily there is an IHOP on Canal St. serving great breakfasts. We ate there one evening as well. There is no free wifi in the bedrooms but you can access it for free in the reception area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our friends stayed in a room opposite the gym and were disturbed by early gym users chatting and banging the gym door. Bottles of water in the room are charged for - $4!

Room Tip: A room round the pool area might be noisy in warm weather..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We checked into this hotel on February 4th, 2014. We arrived early.....around 1 and our room was ready. Check-in was quick and very pleasant. Room was very nice. Could of been a little bigger but it was still nice. Bed was comfortable, had lots of pillows! Lots of TV channels. Big bathroom with complimentary soaps,lotions and shampoo and conditioner. Room was cleaned perfectly everyday. We were there 4 days. It was too cold for the pool but the pool and area looked very nice. Bar was great..it opened at 5 and the bartender Patrick was super friendly and very personable. We went there a couple of nights. (only drawback was that the drinks were rather expensive). We had crabcakes also at the bar and they were excellent.There was a little cafe opened all day and evening and it was very good also.The concierge was very helpful in picking out things to do in New Orleans. Bourbon St. was only a block away and we could hear the music some nights. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after a long work trip and was very pleased. First: the location. Hyatt French Quarter is a block over from Bourbon St, and a block back from popular Canal St. It's central location made walking the French Quarter a breeze.

The staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful. Every single person we encountered from the curb outside to the taxi back to the airport asked if they could help with anything. And that is an incredible feeling after long days roaming New Orleans.

The rooms were well maintained. We stayed in a King Suite and it was enormous. Two televisions, an L-shaped couch, just a huge space. Very modern and new in spite of the outside of the building (and the buildings around it) looking a bit more worn.

Overall, great experience. Would highly recommend. Great value, great staff, great location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a good experience at this Hyatt French Quarter...The hotel is not anything fancy like the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, but it is definitely nice, clean and very livable.
Almost all the staff was nice and friendly to me except a lady who kept hounding me on day of checkout. Their checkout time is noon and at 12:05 and every 20 min. after a lady kept harassing me to leave when I had a valid reason to stay past checkout time because my flight got cancelled and I needed to know I had a place to stay until I was able to get flight home. That's the reason why I stayed over and I absolutely hated being hounded by that lady. Other than that...all the other staff was cool.
The location was great...literally one block from the famous Bourbon St. where the action is for recreation and was within reasonable walking distance or short bus or streetcar ride to everything French Quarter and Downtown from restaurants, clubs, shopping and sports events.
Very good hotel and if you're not looking for anything 5-star flashy, I do recommend.

Room Tip: I was in the Pure King Room city view I recommended that room if you're solo, couple or close fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We organized our annual customer event at the Hyatt French Quarter this week. Our customers were very impressed with the hotel and the quality of service. As the event organizer, I could not have asked for more. The staff was excellent - very attentive to detail and took care of every ad hoc request. We had many reservation changes - the staff was terrific except a few minor glitches. The turn down service really makes guests feel special and the chocolates were great. Rooms are spacious compared to other hotels in New Orleans - they are clean and comfortable. The location at the heart of Bourbon Street is very hard to beat. There are many dining options both inside the hotel and within a stone's throw. The staff from the bellman to the front desk to the meeting managers and chefs are all terrific. It was a truly memorable experience and we look forward to going there again.

Room Tip: Choose courtyard rooms for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Given how well located it is, especially if you are here to enjoy Mardi Gras and the French quarter, how friendly the staff are and the quality of the rooms this hotel should score higher. However I don't believe in scoring hotels highly where you pay a premium rate for the room and they then charge you for wifi. If they had free wifi (the lobby doesn't count) then I'd have scored it 4 or 5 asi have enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing