We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth Time in New Orleans and the Third Hotel was a Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed in different hotels in New Orleans and this is my favorite. I will begin with the fact that this hotel is huge and spacious. I believe it may have been a department store at one time, I'm not 100% certain. There are exits onto Canal Street, Iberville, and a side street that is literally steps away from Bourbon Street. The staff was very nice and extremely friendly. Magen at the front desk was beyond kind and helpful. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean and well kept. The housekeeping staff is very much on the job, because we saw a questionable smear on a hallway wall on our way out and when we returned it had been cleaned. The rooms have huge closets because they don't have very many drawers but the closet has plenty of space to store your clothes including a long shelf. The bathrooms are large. The only reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars is because the hot water never really got hot enough. It wasn't cold but just not hot enough. Otherwise we had an amazing stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travelMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,462 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a great hotel in an excellent location! Right next to bourbon street and in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops. The decor was really nice and the restaurants had good food. Any problem I had was fixed in minutes. They were very attentive and provided southern hospitality. It was my mother's birthday and they gave her a few wonderful gifts and a room upgrade. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Request balcony room. It's pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August at the end of our American touring holiday. This was the best hotel of the entire holiday. The hotel is in a brilliant location. I asked for a quiet room and even though we were staying next to bourbon street on a Saturday night, I didn't hear a thing as the room had no external windows, looking out onto an indoor atrium, maybe not for everyone but it sure was quiet. The room was large and the bed was really comfortable. The staff whose names I have forgotten in reception were brilliant, helpful and mannerly even we managed to lock ourselves out off our room one night. We didn't have breakfast but the dinner in the restaurant was another highlight.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent staff. I was highly impressed with how helpful and friendly all the staff were and the hotel decor was beautiful. Would definitely stay there again.

Our room opened to a courtroom where the pool was. This was beautiful. I don't know if it would be noisy if there were a bunch of kids out there running around and swimming, but since it was in the 50s, that wasn't a problem. It was certainly beautiful to look at!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carylw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Impressive room. Forgettable breakfast. Helpful staff especially Tom the concierge who tried to help us navigate a city that had closed down due to anticipated bad weather. (Don't New Orleans residents know how to drive in cold rain!)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked our reservation through Kayak and it was ready in the system upon arrival with no issue. The room we were given was right on the corner of Canal and Bourbon St with a great small french doors & balcony in which opened up to canal street, a nice palm tree and the hustle & bustle of the traffic outside. The room itself was spacious and clean with a very updated & contemporary look. The only downsides was the loud noise from passing cars and people until wee hours of the morning along with the A/C which was constantly turning on & off.

The hotel was a great location for walking all over New Orleans and right by the streetcar pickup. There was a CVS right across Canal in which to pick up any essentials (beer, wine, snacks). I would definitely recommend this hotel for your New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tturaider07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We loved this hotel. Booked on-line through AAA Travel - we were extended a great rate and the value we received far exceeded what we paid. Greeted by friendly staff; early check-in; huge room with King bed, and best of all - a balcony overlooking Bourbon Street! The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was large - and stocked with quality toiletries. The bed was comfortable - although the pillows were a little too firm for me. We didnt fully appreciate how great this hotel was until we tried to book an extra night there. It was a Saturday night and The Hyatt was "over sold" so we had to find another place to stay if we were to spend one more day in new Orleans. We ended up at the New Orleans Marriott - paid over $100 more per night for a tiny smelly room with a view of an empty swimming pool. The Hyatt was Legit! Located right on Bourbon Street and above the Hard Rock Cafe. We were right in the mix and minutes from everything in the French Quarter. We walked every where. If you want a great location in the French Quarter - yet close to Canal Street and the big City amenities - casino - more shopping - and more eating - it would be hard to find a better place to stay - especially for the price as compared to other hotels. Because we paid $159 per night - we were a little skeptical because all the other nice - 3 or more star hotels - were $250 per night and up. We werent sure if the Hyatt was going to be very nice or not. The Marriott referenced above was $269 per night and it was terrible. I have traveled the world and was most impressed with this hotel for it's value - location - and service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redwings91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,999 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#24 of 166 in New Orleans
1,580 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,438 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $203 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing