We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location of this hotel could not be better! Staff was very helpful, the bar was fun, their restaurant not that great, but edible! Housekeeping was friendly and I saw they vacuumed every day. It is true that the hotel was noisy, because where we stayed they had deliveries, and the Ritz across the street also had deliveries from that side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on third or fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine7924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    621
    154
    52
    29
See reviews for
321
872
69
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was in New Orleans for a meeting. I choose Hyatt because I love this chain. Good position just in the center of New Orleans. Due to my fidelity card, I got a very large room (two room connected). Hotel very noisy, delay in making the room. I had to ask every day to have complimentary coffee in my room. Finally, not a real Hyatt. Sorry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruggero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The 2 guys that helped us were rude,unhelpful,wasted our vacation time.First he made us reservations at ralph and kacoo's a hour 1/2 later we were seated to bad service and food.Then Cajun Encounter Tours which he said was great this time of year 300 dollars and 5 hours later we saw 3 racoons 2 house cats 2 birds 1 snake and a turtle.Last but not lest we ask for help with reservations to Emeril Lagasse's he told us the were closed between 2 and 6 and the we should go somewhere else but we went ahead and called and it was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I visited the French quarter with my wife and kids for our annual Christmas trip. Went searching for various hotels and ended up picking the Hyatt could not have picked better. The location is as perfect as it gets your steps from Bourbon St and also from Canal St it's just perfect. The room was clean and very nice the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The only reason I don't give it a perfect score is that the bath tub was really worn down and it's a shame because the room and bathroom was perfect. I will be revisiting the big easy this year and the Hyatt is where I'm staying no doubt about it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Acrespo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited NOLA for the New Year celebrations and were delighted by the historical French Quarter in which the hotel is situated.
The rooms we had on the second floor was very comfortable and quite suitable for three people sharing as the twin queen size beds were ample for a couple and one other.
The price included the use of the fitness facility and the open air pool.
In the lobby area, there is a cafe searing all-day food and refreshments and a bar.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over Christmas vacation, based on the reviews on this website. The location is absolutely perfect - literally a block from Bourbon Street with an entrance onto Canal Street for shopping. (We chose to park our vehicle on the side streets off of Canal - no meter charges after 6 pm until 8 am - and saved the valet parking fee). Even though this was close to Bourbon Street it was very quiet inside the hotel. We had a room on the courtyard (much shorter to walk through the courtyard to our sliding door entrance rather than around the long hallways from the elevator!) We were able to walk comfortably everywhere in the French Quarter, and drove to the Garden District, etc. easily. All employees greeted us with a smile whenever we walked through the lobby or the hallways, and we had no problems with plenty of hot water for showers. We had the Rendezvous package that included an "All-American breakfast" each morning - that consisted of eggs any style, choice of meat, and choice of toast with jam, etc. It was actually a lot of food and tasted great, but did not include drinks. Service was excellent, and we look forward to returning for a visit again in the future.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms were easier to access and were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights before Christmas. We arrived, tired after a long flight from the UK: checkin was friendly and efficient. We were very fortunate to be given a room upgrade, and allowed a late checkout. The hotel is perfectly located for the French Quarter and within a short stroll of the St Charles streetcar stop. Very comfortable beds, free WiFi in the lobby and good dining options made this a great stay ( the cafe au lait in Powdered Sugar was the best!). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking one of the courtyards- if you want to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,826 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing