We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my Anniversary Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made my Anniversary Awesome!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed there from Saturday September 28 to Wednesday October 2 and it was amazing. Magen, whom I spoke to a few days prior to checking in was there when we did check in. Kudos to her! So efficient and friendly! She even had the hotel send up wine and a fruit bowl. While we didn't opt for the balcony our room was a courtyard view and very nice. It was also very quiet. Even with the construction that was constant in the city our room still remained very quiet. The hotel is right next to everything. Red fish Grill's bbq oysters are incredible. Also had their bloody mary and it was like a meal! (although I wouldn't recommend having them together too heavy together...stop by and have one then set out for exploring! The room was neat and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and I liked the seating area. Having a refrigerator was very convenient. I always like an in room safe and the closet was big. The shower while big and modern with the glass door leaked terribly and even with my best attempts at clues in the room housekeeping didn't understand to leave me tea bags (didn't speak English so had to pantomime what I wanted) The concierge was always very pleasant told us about a nice place for a quick bite to eat but the recommended tour for cemetery was OK. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet try for a courtyard view. Keep in mind that some rooms have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msnurse133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    665
    168
    60
    30
See reviews for
357
939
77
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the hyatt for the last three days, great location, walking distance to most things. Our room 266 was over looking the street, which was noisey until 4am, why do cars have sound systems so loud it rattles your hotel room window ? We changed rooms the next day to 220. Guess what, from midnight a construction team started next door until next morning! Nothing the hotel staff could do, but be warned for a noisey stay at this hotel. Bourbon st at night was sleazy, 7 pm and people vomiting in the street along with people begging for money, if you really wanted to see new orleans go to french mans st for decent food and great jazz and blues sounds. If you do a tour watch out for the visitor information centre , they will take a deposit of twenty dollars for your tour, when paying for your tour they will charge the full amount, what about the deposit I asked , I'll have to make a phone call and check that was the answer,even though I had a receipt ! He eventually gave me back 20 cash. Travellers beware! Now we have done New Orleans, I would not bother coming back again, we are seasoned world wide travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

It has been a while since our stay and I can't remember the exact layout of the room. I do remember that the hotel was in a great location and was decorated very nicely. We would definitely suggest a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netonline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a three night stay at this hotel. On day number three I had a run in with a cockroach in the bathroom of our room. I called the front desk to inform them. They offered to spray the room, which was perfect, anything to insure that none of them would hitch a ride home in our luggage...yuck! I let the front desk know we would be leaving for the day if they wanted to send the tech up and spray and clean the room since it hadn't been cleaned the previous day. Later that evening I returned to the hotel, went up to my room, but was unable to unlock the door. My card was deactivated, at this point I went down to the front desk to get a new card, but instead of getting a new card I was greeted by two security guards that escorted me back to my room. Once at the room I was informed that I needed to gather all my belonging and that I was being kicked out of the room for vandalism. "For vandalism, all I did was call about a cockroach", the security guard then told me the vandalism was that I had moved the alarm clock/ iPod player. Really! Yes I moved it so I could listen to my music on the balcony but it wasn't a permanent fixture in it original spot so how is that vandalism. I was escorted out of the hotel! Had to find another hotel to stay in that last night. Did I mention I booked the Hyatt with kayak and had paid the hotel in full and got no reimbursement for the last night. Horrible experience! I'm sure rooms get trashed there all the time, I mean it's New Orleans and in the French quarter no less, but moving an alarm clock is not vandalism!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
22 Thank Wildwilezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything up to standard - great staff, etc. My room was on the side of the hotel that was on what looked like a quiet street but unfortunately there was a hole-in-the-wall bar called The Alibi which attracted people till 3 or 4am. There was a man each night playing a drum outside too which had I got the chance would have had it inserted in him. Added to that both nights I stayed there were garbage trucks emptying what sounded like huge bins of bottles TWICE in the early morning hours. No sleep!!!

Room Tip: Not on the side street with the ALIBI Bar!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arbourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, we stayed here for 5 days. The staff was friendly especially Missy at the concierge and the location is an easy walk to anywhere especially Bourbon St. There is some left over party goers which you may here early in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here in June and it was perfect. The location is steps from must-dine restaurants, tourist attractions and Bourbon Street.
The rooms are spacious, modern and clean.
Our basic room even had a couch and chaise.
I was with a group of other young people, and hotel security did a good job of ensuring we remained quiet.
While here, make sure you go to a jazz bar on Frenchman St. and go on a gator tour with Airboat Adventures!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans

Property: Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Address: 800 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-3132 (Formerly Hyatt French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Centric French Quarter is a New Orleans luxury hotel located in the historic French Quarter adjacent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, Louisiana. This beautifully restored historic hotel offers 254 smoke-free guestrooms with expansive 12-foot ceilings, plush bedding, modern in-room amenities, and balconies that overlook the historic French Quarter, our gorgeously landscaped courtyards or New Orleans' famous Bourbon Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham
Sonesta New Orleans
New Orleans Chateau Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing